Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 881
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Young Oak Kim Academy 1

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Do not send your kids to this school. There is a lot of bullying that goes on at this school. When bullying is reported the students get a slap in the wrist e.i. after school detention. The school will never suspend a student for bullying or being disruptive in the class. They are only concerned about money coming into the school via the state.The teachers are clearly burnt out because they cannot kick disruptive students out of their class. . I blame this on the principal who only seems interested in collecting a pay check, and doesn't want to know whats going on with the classes or the students because when there is an issues he informs parents to speak with the counselors who looked burnt out themselves.

Young Oak Kim Academy 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
Excellent learning for gifted students! My brothers are learning College math! This school is recommended for those who are gifted students.


Young Oak Kim Academy 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
This school is very amazing! STEAM Labs and the school is well organized. Students should go to this school. This school is meant to improve student average in her knowledge and skills, and fluent reading through proficiency. Successful making students smart and smarter. Homework is important, but the art of listening, focusing, and doing what the person is suppose to do is the best thing.

Young Oak Kim Academy 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
This school is very fun, and improves students to technology and calculating math with advance skills!

Young Oak Kim Academy 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
this school encourages students to learn with discipline. Which is a wonderful moon turning experience. Highly recommended for influence for high levels.


Young Oak Kim Academy 1

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
not happy at all..they don't give much homework, and i request few times for parent meeting personally with teacher, but they never schedules an meeting.....my child is gifted but since going to this school he is not improving.

Young Oak Kim Academy 5

Posted July 17, 2012
- a community member
I am going to Young Oak Kim and I think it's going to be cool. The teachers are nice.

Young Oak Kim Academy 5

Posted July 02, 2012
- a teacher
Excellent school with so much support for student achievement and personal development. Lots of technology here, and the STEM Lab, Library, Dance Studio, and Rock Climbing Wall are very cool places on campus. It is a safe campus with a very dedicated staff. Students are fortunate to learn in single-gender classrooms and to receive so much STEM-oriented education. Highly recommended middle school!


Young Oak Kim Academy 1

Posted May 25, 2012
- a parent
Do not send your children to this school. The teachers are all wonderful, but unfortunately the staff does not know how to control the kids here. When a child makes a mistake they are only given a slap on the wrist. This school is known for it's fights in our community and how the staff just turn a blind eye. Avoid at all costs!!!

Young Oak Kim Academy 5

Posted April 03, 2011
- a community member
I started this school in 7th grade and it was a very new enviornment and experience. The staff welcomed the students and that was the start of a great school. The teachers are very friendly. YOKA is a very unique and diverse. Especially because the single gendered school and the rock climbing wall is a unique program.I have always loved helping and studying in the library with our excellent librarian Ms.Duff! Other fun programs including the STEM lab, library service workers (student volunteer in the school library) , and working/volunteering in the student store. I really like the teachers because they all helped me prepare for high school. The teachers are great! Like my algebra teacher Ms.Kim, science teacher Mrs.Gamez, and even my history teacher Mr.Tejeda,Ms.Kestin our awesome P.E. teacher and lastly my english teacher Ms.Turner! . They are all very welcoming and passionate teachers! Thank you for making it a wonderful experience at YOKA!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Young Oak Kim Academy
615 South Shatto Place, Los Angeles, CA  90005
(213) 739-6500
Last modified Young Oak Kim Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Young Oak Kim Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top