Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


KIPP Empower Academy 3

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Administrators have little control over the students. They seem intimidated by the parents and unable to make critical decisions involving the surrounding community and residents as they infringe upon the environment and safety of the students who are exposed to daily. Very undesirable neighborhood for the student population. Having to explain the presence of prostitutes who openly walk/work the neighborhood, police cars and other emergency vehicles daily witnessing arrests of illegal activity on the way to school, after school during the school day. Very distracting to the young scholars and way too much for 5-10 year olds to be exposed to. The 3 stars are for the caliber of some teachers who really make a difference under very adverse conditions and environment.

KIPP Empower Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Yilpet...great at encouraging students to be and do their best. Great at building self esteem and self worth. She does this consistently with empathy, love and compassion.


KIPP Empower Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Some are stellar.. Ms. Yilpet, Mr. Magana, others are very marginal.. it seems the good ones move on to more challenging endeavors or are putting more into being effective than the others to get through to the students.

KIPP Empower Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The day is long already. There is little time left after class for equally important extra curricular activities

KIPP Empower Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
This only happens with those teachers who have these strong character traits. They can't develop something in students they don't exhibit personally.


KIPP Empower Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
It tries in theory, but fails in practice. Too much emphasis on achieving the right number in behavior rather than rewarding the student who achieves or exhibits this behavior.

KIPP Empower Academy 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school 3 years now the entire staff knows her nsme and they all watch out for her and i could tell they have her best interest at heart. The neighborhood is awful but the school is one of the best around. My only complaint is that the teachers trnd not to take seriously the concerns of the children. My daughter seems to be picked on and shes told not to tattle tale which concerns me alot. Otherwise i love this school and after empower she will continue to be a kipp kid.

KIPP Empower Academy 1

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
I am extremely disappointed in this school. The administrative staffers are rude and condescending to parents. They ask for parent input but have done NOTHING in the past two years to improve the conditions of their school. They are focused solely on high test schools to keep up their reputation but don't inspire the children to think for themselves. Anyone looking for a place to educate their is better off at their local public school. At least then their children will get out of school early enough to still gain exposure to enrichment and extracurricular studies. KIPP LA SCHOOLS ARE HORRIBLE. They fit the school to prison pipeline mold perfectly. This is our LAST year at this institution.


KIPP Empower Academy 2

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are GREAT! They are truly invested in what they do. Unfortunately the same can't be said about the administration, they actively deceive parents making them promises they don't intend on keeping. The administration and the KIPP L.A. organization ACT as if they are interested in parent involvement but the reality is far from that. KIPP L.A. basicly washes their hands when it comes to school issues and just refers you back to the school, which is what is broken in the first place! Our kids eat in overcrowded lunch tables, where they aren't even able to stretch. They are told to keep their voices down, sit up straight, knees forward, bottoms on the bench. I know of correctional institutions that have less strict lunch time rules! At the beginning of our Journey at KEA I was ecstatic that this established CMO had opened a school in South L.A. If I knew then what I know now this would not have been MY CHOICE in school.

KIPP Empower Academy 1

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
KIPP Empower Academy has great potential but I question the underlying agenda. What I mean by that is, the teachers (at least those I've encountered) are caring and genuinely have a vested interest in the academic success of their students. But the administrative staff have to answer to the KIPP Board of Directors who seem to be the true decision makers. The agenda of the Board seems to be focussed on money. Ways in which they can open more schools and collect more public school funding but only spending the minimum required to operate a school. That being said, the children & the school doesn't have adequate funding or resources available to them. Their academic day consists of rigorous drilling of math, reading/comprehension skills. There is no project based, hand-on-learning AT ALL. The homework is too easy for my children and when I asked them to challenge them more the teachers said they couldn't and I'd have to talk to the principle if I wanted my children to be challenged academically. Why are they holding them back from greatness? Is their goal to produce mediocre children who will be good low wage workers? Not my children! They will be CEOs so this is our LAST YEAR HERE!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

KIPP Empower Academy
8466 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA  90003
(323) 750-2279
Last modified KIPP Empower Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
KIPP Empower Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top