Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

5 stars
Based on 64 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


64 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
We are about to finish our first year at WISH and couldn't be happier with the school. The small class sizes and individual attention for each student have both been instrumental in helping our son develop throughout the school year. Field trips and extracurricular activities are arranged to build community and encourage kids to explore music, art, science, robotics and more. Teachers are friendly, communicative and respond quickly to any questions you may have about curriculum or your child's needs. We are so grateful to be a part of the WISH community!

Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
Although I "WISH" my son had been able to attend this amazing school for his entire education, I'm glad to have the experience of 3 others for comparison. WISH is what every school should be. The proof is evident as soon as you walk onto campus in the smiling faces of everyone from the students to the faculty, to the incredible parent community. When the school added middle school grades, the transition could have been a challenge. Instead, the staff made sure that just as in the elementary, every student's needs were met and every student's strengths were enhanced. If issues arise, you don't get a call saying "there's a problem". Instead, you are informed that there was an issue, there were 3 different approaches to solving it and they're excited to share with you the one that worked! Executive Director Shawna Draxton should be cloned, or at the very least held up as a stellar example of the best not only in the district, but in the nation. Her leadership inspires everyone and she is in a class of her own. I only hope LAUSD recognizes what they have in this school and grants them the extension of a WISH high school!


Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I am so greatfull to this school. This school came right on time when I was Running out of. Options. My son started school in the Culver City school district. When he was ready for fist grade we were told he needed a school permit. The Permit was denied. But finally was giving to us for that year. When 2nd grade came It was dinied again, but thank god WISH was here. I Love this school, the teachers, and the staff is great. But most of all my son loves it. Thank you WISH.

Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
This is our fourth year at WISH, and it is more than a school to us- it's a second family. The teachers are so hard-working, innovative and supportive, and Principal Draxton is the heart of the school. I can't imagine our daughter being anywhere else.

Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
Great school, great teachers, great students, great parents, great community. Blessed to be part of wish!


Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
We love WISH Charter. We really appreciate the whole child learning philosophy. The staff, teachers, and Principal are amazing human beings. They love what they do and it shows. Our Kids feel it and the parents do too. My daughter, now in 2nd grade, loves school, is an avid reader, and has developed friendships with other students. Every year, the teachers work together as a team. They like each other and support each other. The community of families is warm, inviting, and generous. THe class sizes are smaller than regular public schools. The curriculum is engaging and varied. They have PE (twice weekly), Music (twice weekly), and Art every week. If I ever have a concern (and I did), the Principal is available as well as the teachers. I just don't really have any negative things to say. We feel very blessed to be at WISH. It feels like a private school!

Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
This is a amazing school. The involvement of the parents is out of this world. Children are reading in TK! There is a broad curriculum available to ALL students (art, music, P.E.) There is a strong, professional and involved principal (Draxton) It's believed that all children can learn. A fantastic environment -- safe & clean

Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
We started at WISH in kindergarten when the school first opened and we couldn't be happier with our decision to send our daughter here. We love the inclusive classes and diversity. The teachers are caring and go out of their way to reach every child and accommodate needs. While we are not thrilled with the new campus, we believe that Principal Draxton will do everything in her power to make it it's best.


Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
WISH is the best school, hands down. This is our first year, and our daughter loves it. She actually looks forward to going to school each day filled with excitement. Everyday is like an adventure for her as to what new thing will she learn. Physical education, art, and music is very rare to have at school these days. Excellent teachers and staff.

Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at WISH Charter and it just keeps getting better each year. The teachers are amazing and treat every child and family as an individual. The teachers are always available and go way beyond the call of duty to serve the children. Principal Draxton is a phenomenal leader and leads by example. Every day she visits the classroom and spends most of the lunch and recess periods with the children. It is clear her and the teachers main focus is on serving the children. The parent involvement is great and parents are always welcome. In addition to the core curriculum, WISH provides art, music, technology and PE. It is a great school with a sense of community. At WISH all children are loved and educated, regardless of ability. We are so thankful that our children are a part of WISH and we love our WISH Community.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westside Innovative School House
6550 W. 80th Street, Los Angeles, CA  90045
(310) 642-9474
Last modified Westside Innovative School House is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westside Innovative School House Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. Top