Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
67 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
My children are thriving at Wish! They are excelling academically, all while learning important social skills and developing into kind human beings.

Westside Innovative School House
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
In honesty, I'd check School leader, Teacher, Staff member, Parent, and Student. WISH gives so much to be thankful for, from every single member of our community. From the strong, dedicated, passionate and compassionate leadership, the strength of WISH bleeds into every single branch of this community, a community I am blessed and thankful to be a part of.


Westside Innovative School House
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
With a principal like Dr. Shawna Draxton and a team of administrators and teachers like we have at WISH, complemented by the passionate and committed parent community, the level of respect at WISH begins and lives strong in all these areas and feeds effortlessly into our students.

Westside Innovative School House
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
WISH doesn't only develop it in their style, they actually take the time to teach it.

Westside Innovative School House
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Integrity is a word, and character trait, my kids have known about since the beginning of their learning. We teach it, we live it, and our kids know that it's a pinnacle characteristic in the kind of people we want to be and want to surround ourselves with. WISH exemplifies this characteristic daily.


Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
In our third year at WISH: WISH cares. I don't just mean the principal, though she does incessantly. I mean the entire community. The staff, the parents, AND the kids. We all feel the gift that is WISH. We don't just do what's expected. We don't settle for okay. WISH is constantly striving and learning and growing. We build off each other. Our teachers and students practice mindfulness and the results show. Ask any staff member how they feel about landing a job at WISH and they'll tell you, in some form, that they feel like they've won the lottery to work in an environment that nurtures and respects the learning process, truly for each child. My original review: (a father's perspective) After only four days of being a WISH parent, I can easily tell you why we're so thrilled to be here. Our daughter is very tentative socially. Seeing this on day 1, her kindergarten teacher held her hand as they walked to the yard and had her sit at her side when they sat in a group. Day 3, drop off was tearful, so the principal came out, took her hand, spoke sweetly with her, then texted my wife a photo of her happy in her classroom 10 minutes later. How she found time to do this during her busy first week of school on a new campus, I'm just so impressed. Today I expressed (via email) a concern to her teacher and got a very warm, thoughtful and honestly caring response remarkable fast (after class). Between the Office Manager, the Finance Manager, the Principal and our Kindergarten Teacher, I'm so deeply impress and so happy to be here. In fact, we're so happy here that I passed on our late acceptance to the school that had been my higher choice prior to meeting the WISH crew in the days before school began. Hands down, it's a great place to be and we're lucky to be here. Oh, and she came home today, her 4th day of kindergarten, talking about consonants.

Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
WISH is a place where every child is valued and respected, a school filled with competent compassionate staff, and connected by the most amazing parent community. Every day we are grateful our kids can thrive in an environment that can serve their various needs right in our own neighborhood. I wish every child had the opportunity to attend this gem of a school.

Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
This is a wonderful, nurturing community of educators, working collaboratively to provide the best learning and life foundation for all the children. They make a tremendous effort to support the interests of every individual student, from creative pursuits to athletic. Their innovative philosophy is astounding!


Westside Innovative School House
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thank you for working so hard for and caring so much about all or kids. I am so grateful for too many reasons to say!

Westside Innovative School House 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I am so grateful for this school in my life. WISH works hard to find the best solutions for every child in a caring and engaging environment. They have great leadership, teachers and staff that all work together to do what's best for the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westside Innovative School House
6550 West 80th Street, Los Angeles, CA  90045-1127
(310) 642-9474
Last modified Westside Innovative School House is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westside Innovative School House Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. Top