Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We are now accepting applications for kindergarten for the 2015/2016 school year. Please come and visit us and fill out a Pre-Enrollment Form. Our main office is located on Marguerite when you arrive please call to be let in. The application due date is February 13, 2015 at 5:00pm. Ahora estamos aceptando aplicaciones para el kindergarten para el a o escolar 2015/2016. Por favor, venga a visitarnos y llene una forma de pre-inscripci n. Nuestra oficina principal se encuentra en la calle Marguerite. Cuando llegue a la entrada por favor llame al n mero que aparece en la puerta para que lo dejen entrar. Entregue la aplicaci n antes del 13 de febrero 2015 a las 5:00 pm.
January 26, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Celerity Octavia Charter School 1

Posted May 02, 2015
- a parent
Water Fountains are too dirty. School water is ununsafe. Restroom is unsafe and unclean. I don t want to have to use the school restroom.

Celerity Octavia Charter School 1

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
This school is not what it was and if you complain they single you out and go after you. The school is also very unsafe, the children aren't watched and are allowed to climb on gates and rails where they could fall as much as 6 feet. The school has next to no activities that other schools offer and has no real playground or yard. We moved our child here but nor regretted it. There are also some racist staff members who won't work with you simply because your are of a different race and make very rude comments, no point reporting it to the principal she just makes excuses for the behavior even when it is said towards children.


Celerity Octavia Charter School 2

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
My child is attending this school from the very beginning. The school opened up back in 2010 and my child was in kindergarten. Now she is in the 4th grade since the school has been opened principles have switched the quality has gone down.My child teacher was notify 3 days before the new school started. Yes finally we have assistant principal because the principal does not know how to do her job correctly

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
We are now accepting applications for kindergarten for the 2015/2016 school year. Please come and visit us and fill out a Pre-Enrollment Form. Our main office is located on Marguerite when you arrive please call to be let in. The application due date is February 13, 2015 at 5:00pm. Ahora estamos aceptando aplicaciones para el kindergarten para el a o escolar 2015/2016. Por favor, venga a visitarnos y llene una forma de pre-inscripci n. Nuestra oficina principal se encuentra en la calle Marguerite. Cuando llegue a la entrada por favor llame al n mero que aparece en la puerta para que lo dejen entrar. Entregue la aplicaci n antes del 13 de febrero 2015 a las 5:00 pm.
Posted January 26, 2015

Celerity Octavia Charter School 2

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
First, couple of reviews are clearly written by the school administration. Second, the school quality is plunging. All the principle is concerned about is rules, rules, and rules once again. There's no point to come to her to work something out because it's either her way or high way. She even went that far telling my kid, "I don't care what your parents think" straight to his face! She is always busy and don't have time to talk to us although I could see her nicely chirping with other goody-goody parents. Once you had guts to stand up for your kid, she would take every opportunity to pick on your kid. I have to mention that teachers are ok. They do their job and teach well.


Celerity Octavia Charter School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
The PTO President for School Year 2013-2014 (not the PTO Treasurer) took the funds raised for the field trips. But the rest of the PTO Officers, some parents, as well as the school administration cooperated and are still working with the Police Department and the District Attorney's Office to get through the legal proceedings. The case is now in court and everything is being done in order to recuperate the funds that were taken. This is a great school with wonderful kids and parents who are very friendly and are willing to help as much as they could! Let us not allow the incident with the former PTO President stop us from volunteering and helping out but instead let us be encouraged to be more involved for the benefit of our children. Our teachers are very dedicated in motivating and educating our children to perform to the best of their abilities, Hand-in-hand we can keep the rating of our school as one of the best in our area!

Celerity Octavia Charter School 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
PTO Treasurer Accused Of Stealing $$$$$ From School. " We are very disappointed!!!!!!!!!" "She took money from little kids,and parents donations"

Celerity Octavia Charter School 4

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
Previous principal was effective and everything about this school was great right from the start. Now is good but the children seem very stressed and unhappy. The new principal began making numerous, unnecessary changes to school (and I don't mean common core changes) that make no sense and are absolutely not improving how the school functions or benefiting the children. At least 8 teachers have left, no one knows exactly the truth, or why. No one is notified or given reasons for these changes. It seems (per principal instructions?) the excessive school work is being drilled into these students in "a week". She isn't available for parents, or students. Incidents and problems that have occurred, she undermines students, parents, and teachers. Staff or teachers handle the situation because she is not around or not very concerned to give it enough attention. It seems she is trying to instill her own personal believes and personal is not how to run a school. She seems discriminating at times against people's point of view. Many parents believe she is inappropriate for this position whether she acquires assistance and needs experience and training, especially in people skills.


Celerity Octavia Charter School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
THe diverse population of students and teachers make this school the best. it offers quality education for a neighborhood that is need. Giving the opportunity for the children of the future to grow and develop into someone amazing and influential.

Celerity Octavia Charter School 5

Posted September 07, 2012
- a parent
I WAS GOING CRAZY TRYING TO FIND A GOOD SCHOOL AND ONE DAY A SAW A SIGN AND I WENT TO HAVE AN INTERVIEW WITH THE STAFF. THEY SHOWED ALL THEIR GOALS FOR THE YEAR AND HOW THEY WERE READY FOR. SO FAR I HAVEN'T SEE ANY OTHER SCHOOL WITH AN OUTSTANDING DISCIPLINE AND CARING STAFF. I WISH THEY COULD HAVE A ''HIGH SCHOOL'' ONE DAY! MISS. SHAIQ IS A VERY PROFESSIONAL PRINCIPAL.

Nearby schools

Celerity Octavia Charter School
3010 Estara Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90065
(323) 344-3622
Last modified Celerity Octavia Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top