Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Playa Vista Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Ozurovich, Thank you for your passion and commitment to all of your students. Seeing you lead the kids on 2 field trips this year, it is clear why our child likes you approach and talks about you in a positive way.

Playa Vista Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
The expectations are very high at the school, so I think they are asking a little more [ 10minutes ] than what would be considered a standard for Los Angeles


Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
The Principal, Mrs. Johnson is an incredible leader. She is devoted to her team of professionals, the students , and parents. Her attendance at all of the fundraisers and parent education meetings [ about common core] ; in addition to her wrangling the with the community and LAUSD prove her exemplary status.

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
The support from parents, LMU, the community, local businesses and mother nature make this idyllic STEM based school a delight. To get to school each day, most families walk or ride bikes and soak up the wetlands scrubbed fresh air and Platinum LEED certified "school of the future". With an emphasis on ecology, any given day may include a visit from NASA, Google, an Olympic athlete, a local professional sports team, chess, yoga, phenomenal teachers and a stellar principle.

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted June 17, 2015
- a community member
Fabulous teachers, fabulous parents and super fabulous kids. It is a beautiful building, great location with great resources and a wonderful collaborative relationship with Loyola Marymount University.


Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy with the administration and teacher. This has been a huge transition for a first time kindergarten family. Feedback from teacher has been outstanding on every level. Feels like a partnership.

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Playa Vista Elementary is truly wonderful school. We are now in our 3rd year (14-15) and have had some growing pains over the first 2 years. However, with a new and energetic, engaged Principal, we have seen the STEM Curriculum come into sharper focus and our partnership with LMU has shown incredible benefits. Most importantly our 2 children both attend PVES and love it there. They are offered challenging schoolwork in a supportive environment. Moreover, the teachers are truly exceptional in their credentials, dedication and commitment to our children and the school itself. We look forward to our future years at PVES.

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
The support from parents, LMU, the community, local businesses and mother nature make this idyllic STEM based school a delight. To get to school each day, most families walk or ride bikes and soak up the wetlands scrubbed fresh air and Platinum LEED certified "school of the future". With an emphasis on ecology, any given day may include a visit from NASA, Google, an Olympic athlete, a local professional sports team, chess, yoga, phenomenal teachers and a stellar principle. Dreamy and free, with the exception of the suggested donation per year of $1250 that funds TAs, the computer and science labs, music programs, arts and the library.


Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
PVES is thriving. Under new leadership, great teachers, amazing parental involvement and a strong partnership with LMU, it is more like a private school, but in a genuine community setting. What a difference a new principal makes. Boosters and parent volunteers make a huge difference too. We feel lucky to able to send our child to PVES.

Playa Vista Elementary 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
I have a 2d grader and a Kinder at PVES. I couldn't be happier at this school. It is one of the few LAUSD schools with such a large amount of parent involvement. The community is so involved, its wonderful. The school's new Principal (Ms. Johnson) is fabulous, hands on and works her tail off. The implementation of the STEM program is realized daily. These kids have it great here. My only issue, is what LAUSD middle school will live up to this school?

Nearby schools

Playa Vista Elementary
13150 Bluff Creek Drive, Los Angeles, CA  90094
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (424) 228-1800
Last modified Playa Vista Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top