Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral Chapel Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 302 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $907,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

140 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2009

Cathedral Chapel School is a wonderful school that offers its students not only a strong academic foundation, but provides its students with a variety of after-school activities and other things that the students can take advantage of. The school provides a sense of homeliness and family that makes the students and faculty feel more comfortable there for provides a better learning enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Cathedral Chapel is a very welcoming school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Cathedral Chapel has the most wonderful teacher, vp, acadeca mentor, in the whole world


Posted October 4, 2009

my granddaughter attended and I thought she received the highest level of education at the scholl. The teachers, principal, staff, students and parents welcomed her and it was an enjoyable year for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Ilove ccs because the have the best teachers I love the fact that we have so much fun and also learn a lot because teachers at ccs do there best to give a greaT education.Its like a second family there and you make incredible friends.Its a really saft and fun enviornment to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Cathedral Chapel School is the BEST school that I have ever experienced in my long career as a teacher and an administrator. We have the BEST teachers, staff, students and families who strive for excellence and sincerely care for each other. The people who make up the school community at CCS pride themselves on their deep faith in God, their academic excellence and their service to the local community. The rich diversity of cultures at CCS provides all members with the opportunity to respect and value our differences as well as our unity as God's children. We are witnesses to the power of prayer and God acting in our lives on a daily basis. Cathedral Chapel is a unique family oriented Christian community that fosters the best in each person. We are proud to be carrying on the tradition of Catholic education at CCS and celebrating 80 years in the MIracle Mile of Los Angeles. We truly believe that the Catholic education we provide to our students is an advantage for life.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

Cathedral Chapel is the best school because the teachers are wonderful, the technology we use is up-to-date,and the students are very respectful and kind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Cathedral Chapel is amazing! We've got the best teachers. They give us the best education! :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Cathedral Chapel has a great working staff!! They care about their students education!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

CCS is the best... Everyone is respectful and helpful to each other. Rather than the technology we have, I think the respect we share is what I can brag about the most.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Cathedral Chapel is a wonderful place to learn! All the teachers are nice, and they care for you all the time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

all about the education. i have been at this school for 7 years and so far the the teachers have been very caring and helpful to my family. thanks to all the staff at cathedral chapel school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

The teachers are the best in the country their dedication brings the best in the students for the present and future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

We have great teachers. The students love coming to school everyday to learn and have fun learning. The staff is very dedicated and they really help our children shine
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Great faculty/student interaction, faculty that really cares about the students well being and future, staff dedicated to providing the best facilities, resources, and education to the students.


Posted October 2, 2009

My children love their school & their teachers. They talk endlessly every evening about their day... CCS sets high standards for both academics and character development. This is as good as it gets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Outstanding teachers that are committed to their students. CCS is a gem in the heart of Los Angeles.


Posted October 2, 2009

The teachers are dedicated and committed to providing the best education for all their students.


Posted October 2, 2009

I like small school since everyone know each other,besides,All school faculty members are so nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

is the best school you can be in . ccs have the best teacher you can have .


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 32% 1%
Hispanic 24% 52%
Two or more races 14% 3%
Black 12% 6%
White 9% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 8% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Tina Kipp
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

755 South Cochran Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90036
Phone: (323) 938-9976

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ohr Eliyahu Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Wilshire Private School
Los Angeles, CA




Taylor Tot Playhouse
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT