Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Gregory Nazianzen School

Private | 1-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $433,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,300.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

I am writing this review because I feel like parents should know what they are getting their children into. The staff at this school is constantly changing, last year the first grade and the kindergarten teacher both left mid school year and the year before last 7 out of 8 total teachers had to be replaced after they resigned from their positions. This can only mean that there are internal and administration problems.The resources they use are extremely out dated and there is no use of technology in the classroom. Most classrooms do not even have an overhead projector! The enrollment over the last few years has dropped significantly since the new principal (her last name is Guzman) took over. I would strongly advise you to send your children else where. Do not waste your money at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

This school should be on the westside, but I'm lucky it's in my neighborhood. The new principal is energetic and enthusiastic. My little one has iPads in the classroom and they are focus on curriculum. What I love is the staff and how much they care. I can't wait for the new kindergarten next year. It will be nice to have my three kids together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

This year was my first year at St. Gregory Nazianzen School and what a great year. My children had attended public school for the last 4years and we tried a private school for the first time. WHY DID WE WAIT!!!!! Private school is definitely the way to go. Every sacrifice is worth it and I will continue for their entire education. Saint Gregory has a quality education with high academic expectations, it s definitely a Westside school found in the mid-Wilshire area and not as costly. The area is beautiful and different from other local schools. The new principal is changing from a traditional set of learning to a collaborate way of learning. I can t wait for next year where many new things will be implemented. Starting with 5-8 being departmentalized and focused on high school preparation. More to come
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

In the Mid-Wilshire area this private school is a hidden gem. It's in a great location, three blocks from the Larchmont area. My son has attended St. Gregory since first grade and has two years to graduate. I can truly say he is receiving a quality education. The new administrator is doing a great job and I can't wait to see what is done in the next two years. I would recommend the school in a heart beat. Just ask the numerous students who have pursued a higher (college) education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

Great school!!!! challenging academic programs and dedicated teachers .My two children love the school. It has a new young principal that is dedicated 100% to making the school better. Tuition is the lowest in the area and currently it is $305 a month. They can definitely charge more. I am giving the school credit that it deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Provides an outstanding education and addresses students special needs to be successful.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

911 South Norton Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90019
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 936-2542

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sound of Music Preschool
Los Angeles, CA


Pio Pico Middle School
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT