Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
223 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Jerome Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
St. Jerome has been a staple in the community for many years and I am happy to say that this new principal, Mrs. Doorbar, seems to be taking the school in the right direction -- up! Until the placement of this principal, the school had been headed by ineffective leadership for the prior five years, disinterested teachers, with a few exceptions, and a lack of unity. I have noticed a positive vibe with a new group of teachers and the children seem to be happy and excited about the after-school programs. The parents, too, are more positive now that a few "bad seeds" have taken root elsewhere. In addition to attending back to school night, I have had the pleasure of one-on-one conversations with the principal and I am confident that she brings the experience, knowledge, and dedication that will be necessary to restore St. Jerome to its previous glory, both academically and socially.

St. Jerome Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Thanks, Principal Doorbar, for taking the initiative to make the necessary changes to get the school back on track. A positive, supportive, and qualified staff are all characteristics of a quality educational environment.


St. Jerome Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Most of the teachers are new, so how effective they will be overall is still not evident. However, the children seem happy and excited to attend school. That in itself is effective.

St. Jerome Elementary School 4

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
I'm really happy with new Principal and the direction she's taking the school in. The work is a bit more challenging this year and she seems committed to turning the school around. The staff is caring and the kids are happy to learn. We've been at St Jerome school for 3 years and I'm happy with where the school is headed.

St. Jerome Elementary School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Completely disappointed parents complain about the children but the truth is the middle school literature teacher was unqualified and unprepared. My kid do not read a quality book or complete a writing assignment since February. The Math/History teacher should base his test on his interpretation of Catholicism and his family because again my child was not challenged. The principal in September kept preaching that the children would be challenged and engaged however the teachers she challenged won and she left and we were left with mediocracy. It's a shame because most of the parents are paying for what they could get at a public school for free! I think the parents who ran the principal away bit off what they didn't understand. St Jerome is a waste of money!!!


St. Jerome Elementary School 1

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
This school due to budgetary constraints has resorted to allowing unscrupulous parents access to other parents personal information and other sensitive information. A parent sits in the office from time to time peeking at sensitive information that should not be disclosed and then she discusses this information with other parents. This is outrageous. Her child is also a bully, a known "mean girl" and is allowed to get away with it because there is no one to monitor and everyone is afraid of them. We took our kids out after 4 years of the school going downhill and we will not return. Each year this school gets worse and worse. This is just disgraceful! And the former principal was let go due to unknown reasons, she also allowed, if not encouraged this type of behavior. Get it together or this school will surely crumble.

St. Jerome Elementary School 3

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
This school is pretty good. I think that the middle school will get better over time and that the elementary school is great. The sixth grade however is out of control. But, the new principals are putting things in place and manny of this years sixth grade (class of 2016) will not be able to return to the school because if behavioral issues. Something that greatly disappoints me is that an elder teacher who used to teach is being taken advantaged of by the sixth graders. I think that all together in maybe a year or two saint jerome will be restored to its greatness and there will be no more if them making teachers cry. This year and next year will be the last if it's fooling around.

St. Jerome Elementary School 4

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
My child is in the Pre-K class and absolutely loves the teachers, classmates and even the after school care. So far I've been very pleased with the teaching style and curriculum to prepare the students in moving on to the next grade. I do love the active parent community. I am concerned about the recent leadership changes but hope that things stabilize to move SJS forward.


St. Jerome Elementary School 4

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
I am new to the school, so this post may be a bit premature. However, I am compelled to share my views thus far.... Pros: My child loves the school. She feels learning is "fun" and enjoys socializing with the other students. The curriculum appears up to standard. I especially appreciate how the principal has taken steps to implement the common core standards into the curriculum. The school appears safe and the kids are well taken care of. The small community fosters respect and an ethical character. Cons: The principal has the best interest of the school, however she can tighten up certain aspects of administration. For instance, the website is not updated, she did not give details concerning the ipad program until three days before school the start of school, and also changed key details of the Parent Handbook. The newly revised Parent Handbook was not given out until the Monday before classes began. I come from an environment that is structured and student centered. I think the principal is making positive improvements in the school, but could be a bit more Type A, so things will not seem somewhat "raggedy' at the school.

St. Jerome Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2013
- a community member
Change needs to occur and the principal needs to eliminate some of the negative parents.... I would love to have a one on one conversation with the parents that are so negative. A Catholic School expert- really I didint know there was such a thing???? I wonder how you dress, is your child reading and writing on grade level, probalbly not because of your post. Believe me I am not Ms. Jones just a person who dontates money to the school for all the parents that cant pay their bills. Have a wonderful day Catholic School Expert! You are such a winner!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Jerome Elementary School
5580 Thornburn Street, Los Angeles, CA  90045
(310) 670-1678
Last modified St. Jerome Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Jerome Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top