Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
223 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Jerome Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Students are given a lot of homework to reinforce the consolidation of the material learned in class.

St. Jerome Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely! All students learn the importance of respect and each month a reward is given to a student in each grade who have demonstrated a strong sense of respect, Chtistian Leadership, integrity, good citizenship/behavior toward others and self.


St. Jerome Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
The Principal, faculty and staff are highly dedicated to delivering a safe, respectful and caring educational environment. Simultaneously, they are devoted to teaching/reinforcing the important virtues of respect, Christian leadership, integrity, and positive social behavior to the students.

St. Jerome Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
We love St. Jerome School! We've been part of the St. Jerome Family for 8 years, and our daughter continues to strengthen her academic and leadership skills. She's developed a strong spiritual foundation, and friendships to last a lifetime. We are very pleased with the SJS Principal's leadership, and the highly dedicated and caring faculty and staff. We are so blessed to know that our daughter is in a safe learning environment, where she continues to strengthen her academic, leadership, spiritual, social and community skills that will lead her to a successful future.

St. Jerome Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
St. Jerome has been a staple in the community for many years and I am happy to say that this new principal, Mrs. Doorbar, seems to be taking the school in the right direction -- up! Until the placement of this principal, the school had been headed by ineffective leadership for the prior five years, disinterested teachers, with a few exceptions, and a lack of unity. I have noticed a positive vibe with a new group of teachers and the children seem to be happy and excited about the after-school programs. The parents, too, are more positive now that a few "bad seeds" have taken root elsewhere. In addition to attending back to school night, I have had the pleasure of one-on-one conversations with the principal and I am confident that she brings the experience, knowledge, and dedication that will be necessary to restore St. Jerome to its previous glory, both academically and socially.


St. Jerome Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Thanks, Principal Doorbar, for taking the initiative to make the necessary changes to get the school back on track. A positive, supportive, and qualified staff are all characteristics of a quality educational environment.

St. Jerome Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Most of the teachers are new, so how effective they will be overall is still not evident. However, the children seem happy and excited to attend school. That in itself is effective.

St. Jerome Elementary School 4

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
I'm really happy with new Principal and the direction she's taking the school in. The work is a bit more challenging this year and she seems committed to turning the school around. The staff is caring and the kids are happy to learn. We've been at St Jerome school for 3 years and I'm happy with where the school is headed.


St. Jerome Elementary School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Completely disappointed parents complain about the children but the truth is the middle school literature teacher was unqualified and unprepared. My kid do not read a quality book or complete a writing assignment since February. The Math/History teacher should base his test on his interpretation of Catholicism and his family because again my child was not challenged. The principal in September kept preaching that the children would be challenged and engaged however the teachers she challenged won and she left and we were left with mediocracy. It's a shame because most of the parents are paying for what they could get at a public school for free! I think the parents who ran the principal away bit off what they didn't understand. St Jerome is a waste of money!!!

St. Jerome Elementary School 1

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
This school due to budgetary constraints has resorted to allowing unscrupulous parents access to other parents personal information and other sensitive information. A parent sits in the office from time to time peeking at sensitive information that should not be disclosed and then she discusses this information with other parents. This is outrageous. Her child is also a bully, a known "mean girl" and is allowed to get away with it because there is no one to monitor and everyone is afraid of them. We took our kids out after 4 years of the school going downhill and we will not return. Each year this school gets worse and worse. This is just disgraceful! And the former principal was let go due to unknown reasons, she also allowed, if not encouraged this type of behavior. Get it together or this school will surely crumble.

Nearby schools

St. Jerome Elementary School
5580 Thornburn Street, Los Angeles, CA  90045
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (310) 670-1678
Last modified St. Jerome Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top