Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Paul Elementary School

Private | K-8

Our School is best known for the high-level of teacher/administrative education.

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $245,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

The school has nice students but barely any academics.The students barely know how to talk right and barely no respect.They say how there sports teams are good but the really not. The teachers are not good sports teachers either they need real coaches.Their just passing the students on to next grade without being grade level. All they really want is the money.If you want a good catholic school for your kids this is not one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

I was so shocked by the earlier reviews I had to write this. I have a daughter at St. Paul's in the 4th grade. She loves it. We love it. The other parents we know like it now, too. We are also happy with all the remodeling completed recently -- and the new technology, too. I guess complainers will always find something to complain about, but it's a shame as the administration, teachers and families have worked so hard in the last couple of years to make it into a great, little school for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

This is a great place for my child..........if i were planing on leaving her here for the rest of her life, because it is clear that she is nowhere near prepared for anything above t he education she receives here. my child has had the best grades ever, and when given a simple placement test at another school she scored LESS than average....is this only my child? did she have a BAD day? was the test TOO difficult? NO..NO..and NO.. i am not the only parent this happened to.....but i guess having a new bathroom is great....yes having 1 computer per room that doesn't get used will prepare the children for the rest of their academic career..and as some parents believe yes its our jobs to provide our children with those kinds of instruments so as soon as i pay my mortgage, my car note,insurance, bills,health insurance and 2 school tuition's i shall buy my child a laptop which im sure my child will automatically know how to use on her own.......


Posted July 27, 2012

Who ever wrote the last review must have been paid! It is sad to see the present state of this school. My children used to only attend summer school about 5 years ago, but because I saw how great the teachers were, I took them out of St. Thomas and enrolled them there. I don't know what's been going on with the new principal, she is NEVER there. I have already pulled out my last child from there. The children are not disciplined and the morals are gone! This used to be a great little school and its sad to see it going down the drain!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

We love St Pauls school & recommend it! I have two kids here now, but my 2 older kids graduated from St Pauls around 7 yrs ago. We put our kids in Holy Name for a while but came back to St Pauls because it was better. The teachers have always been good, caring. The only thing I didnt like this year was a few complained a lot in front of my kids. I know it is hard to make no money but that is not for my kids to hear. My son also came home in April and repeated some trash talk between two teachers at lunch about the archdiosese. Thankfully both teachers just left the school. We love the principal, think most parents agree. A few hate her and spread gossip, but theyre not at St Pauls much so dont know all she does. I have personally seen her do A LOT for the kids, but then give the credit to them or the teachers. The last two principals were Look at what I VE done people. She is a look at what YOUR KIDS are doing! person. The Vice Principal is also very good and kind. We definitely need more $ at St Pauls. What we DONT need are parents yelling & blaming because St. Pauls isn t Notre Dame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

i must say that this school has changed in every apesct since we recieved the new principal. I am not happy at all with what goes on in the school.getting straight to the point the homework club is more of a daycare now kids are not being taken care of properly, the supervision is horrible during school hours, there is no involvment on the principals behave she does nothing for the school. The only good thing going for the school was the teachers and now five of them r leaving. this is just crazy. we need a new principal and we need one now becuase if she returns next school year them i am not and i know for a fact that many other parents will follow me. i love saint paul school and church but not the principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

MY KIDS CURRENTLY GO TO ST. PAUL BUT THEY WONT BE COMING BACK NEXT YEAR FOR 2012-2013 SCHOOL YEAR. THE SCHOOL HAS GONE THROUGH MANY PRINCIPALS AND TEACHERS THAT ITS HARD TO KEEP UP WITH WHO IS REALLY TEACHING YOUR CHILD. I JUST FOUND OUT WE ARE LOSING 5 TEACHERS AGAIN. SOMETHING MUST BE WRONG. MY DAUGHTER HAS GOTTEN BULLIED FROM A STUDENT THAT ALWAYS HITS AND BOTHERS EVERYONE BUT HE CONTINUES TO GO TO ST. PAUL. WHY HAVENT THEY DONE ANYTHING OVER THIS. AND BELIEVE ME..IM NOT THE ONLY P[ARENT THAT FEELS THIS WAY. ITS BEEN MORE THAN 4YRS THAT WE WERE SUPPOSE TO GET A COMPUTER CLASS FROM A FUNDRAISER THE PARENTS HAD..AND TILL THIS DAY..NO COMPUTER CLASS!!! I USE TO LOVE FOR MY GIRLS TO SATY FOR H/W CLUB WHEN MRS. B WAS THERE..BUT NOW THEY HAVE A PARENT THAT BARELY SPEAKS ENGLISH THERE. I DONT WANT TO OFFEND ANYONE BUT HOW CAN THIS PARENT HELP MY CHILD WITH MATH, ENGLISH OR SPELLING IF SHE CANT UNDERSTAND IT HERSELF!!! THEY MAKE US PAY FOR IT BUT THEY DONT PUT A QUALYING PERSON IN CHARGE. I EVEN FOUND A H/W CLUB TEACHER ASLEEP WITH HER HEAD DOWN AND HAD HER SON IN CHARGE...WHEN HE IS NOT EVEN SUPPOSE TO BE IN CHARGE. WE R DEFINITELY OUT OF THIS SCHOOL ASAP!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

THIS SCHOOL IS HORRIBLE. SO MANY OF OUR GREAT TEACHERS ARE LEAVING AND IT IS NOT FAIR. THE PARENTS OF THIS SCHOOL NEED TO COME TOGETHER AS ONE AND GO TO FATHER AND THE ARCHDIOCESE TO GET THE PRINCIPAL FIRED AND GET A NEW LOVING ONE OR EVEN OUR OLD PRINCIPAL MR.PANDI BACK
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2011

I have seen an unfortunate decline in the educational progress this school was making. There have been too many changes in the administration aspect, which include constant changes in principals and the inability to retain their good teachers. They lack innovative studies, such as, computer courses; students are not challenged and pushed to be engaged in their courses; and they are now trying to impose a huge amount of work on the lower grades and have yet to prepare them with the basics! This can only set them up for failure. Most likely my children will be pulled out from this school, there is too much uncertainty about the curriculum goals they have available. Programs that are brought up in the beginning of the school year are never implemented, and the teachings of being an individual of love, religion, and acceptance seems to be getting lost with the imposing beliefs of those that administer this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

St. Paul school did so much to me. I am a former student class of '08. This school has a great principle, Mr. Pandy , which used to be my 8th grade teacher and he has so many plans for the school. Mr. Pandy has a great future school plan all of his students that attend St. Paul. This school will help anyones child accomplish their goals!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2009

i highly recommend this school the new prncial is an amazing person he is involved in all school activities the safety of the school is excellent the staff is great and most of all they teach the students moral values and get them preparde for high school. im blessed my children are attending this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

The new principal is the best thing that happen to this school. She has made so many new improvements and I love it she is concern about the kids and parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 91%
Black 7%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Math specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • California Junior Scholarship Chapter Member (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Clubs
  • It's Academic
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Common Core Standards
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • It's Academic
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
43
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
47
Students typically come from these schools
St. Jeanne Delestonac
24th Elementary
LA First Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Loyola High School
Immaculate Heart High School
St. Monica High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1908 South Bronson Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90018
Phone: (323) 734-4022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

King Learning Academy
Los Angeles, CA




Pico School
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT