Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Timothy School

Private | K-8 | 169 students

Our school is best known for accelerated learning.

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $699,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2009

We are new to St. Timothy school and have had a great experience so far. Our daugther was at a high priced private school and we thought we'd have to sacrifice academics since we had to move her to a new school. What a misconception on our part! St. Timothy's has her on a path for academic success, the curriculum is advanced and challenging, but not overwhelming. She is thriving and can't wait to go to school each day. We are thrilled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Best curriculum and class size I have seen in years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

While we've only been at St. Timothy's for a few weeks, we are very impressed with the teachers, adminisration and team orientation. We are very happy that we choose St. Tim's over many other local private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

St Timothy is really a great school, with a high level of exigence and a great spirit of community the only regret I have, they don't study a foreign language
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

St. Timothy School is a great place to learn;not just academically. Children learn to love and respect others and God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Small class sizes, great academics... I like the STS community, family involvement in the school, and the people that make up that group!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

St. Timothy School has an amazing faculty. The curriculum is challenging, but taught in a fun and creative atmosphere. The teachers are caring, supportive, passionate and full of energy...simply amazing! STS also has a wonderfully active parent community, full of spirit and enthusiasm. We love St. Tim's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

St. Timothy is a school with an incredible curriculum which raises the bar at every level. Its highly qualified, kind and nurturing educators make St. Tim's a home away from home for my two children. As commuting parents, the biggest 'plus' is having the peace of mind in knowing that our children's school not only provides an excellent academic program but also offers them a safe and nurturing environment in which they can learn and socialize.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

We have enrolled both our sons at St. Timothy's and we are so happy that we did. The academic program is advanced and parents need to commit to helping their child/children complete the homework that is expected. The class sizes are small and there is a lot of individual attention given to each student and there is communication with the teachers. Don't be put off by the playground. The school is warm and nurturing and we feel that we found a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

As an alumni of St. Timothy School, I am thrilled that my daughter has had the same opportunity as I. The education that she has received thus far (she is entering 3rd grade in September) has exceeded the one I received 35 years ago (and I received an amazing education!). The teachers are some of the finest and caring educators I have ever met and are committed to the school and the children. The only downside is that it doesn't continue through high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

After a lot of searching, we enrolled our two boys at St. Tim's and could not have been happier. We had concerns about sending them to a Catholic school, since we were not Catholic, but those concerns were groundless. The entire school community is very friendly and welcoming. In fact, some of our best friends now are the parents of children in our kids' classes. The program is great. Although it is very advanced and academic, the teachers make all the difference in how the kids respond to it. They teach in an incredibly caring and loving way, and make the kids feel like they can do anything. We have seen our kids grow and mature in that environment, and are constantly astonished at how much they know and can do. What is more important, our kids love to go to school. I would definitely recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Our son has been at St. Timothy's for two years now and he loves the school. We love the small class sizes, high academic standards, fantastic teachers, and great community. Our family has made many new friends at the school and we plan to send our daughter there when she is old enough for preschool. Contact the school to attend one of their school tours or open house events to learn more about the schoo, you won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Our daughter is in the Pre-K class. She loves it. The teachers are very warm and really create a fun atmosphere while still teaching a very academic curriculem. We are excited to see her moving up to K next year at St. Tims.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

St. Timothy School is THE BEST! Our daughter started in kindergarten and is now ready to graduate 8th grade. St. Tims has taught her how to enjoy learning and how to be a good, well prepared student. Her grades are excellent and she is already receiving acceptance letters from top area schools. The small class size and highly qualified teaching staff has made a HUGE difference for our daughter's education. The attention our daughter receives from all of her teachers is amazing. The families are great and the school seems to doing so well...they are building a new Pre K, library ...lot's of extracurricular activities and so many fun events. It's a perfect school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

St. Tim's Pre-K teachers are relatively inexperienced, there is little warmth or nurturing in the make-shift classroom. The curriculum is academically advanced but there is little effort to instill a 'joy of learning' in the kids. The principal is dedicated to the program so hopefully the program will improve in years to come. This is not the pick for your pre-schooler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

We have two children who have attended St. Tim's since Kindergarten and are now in the fourth and seventh grade. We have been very happy with the high level of education and overall focus on our children't well being. They actively participate in the extracurricular activities offered such as sports, student council and drama. The small class size and excellent credentials of the teachers allow for any student to recieve the necessary attention to excel academically in our very competitive city. Due to this, I am certain my children will be capable of entering the best secondary schools in Los Angeles. If you are looking for a great neighborhood school that is nurturing yet challenging, we highly recommend St. Timothy School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

St. Timothy is a wonderful school. The classes are small and the students are given lots of individual attention. They focus on both accelerated academics and developing moral character. The faculty is highly qualified and always responsive. The students are bright, well mannered and enthusiastic about their school. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

St Timothy's truly IS the Westside s Hidden Treasure ! My daughter LOVES St. Tim's! We feel pretty lucky to have found this amazing school! She's challenged, excited, interested, motivated & involved in her school both academically & socially. Having gone to several esteemed and expensive non-religious schools on the Westside from Preschool to 6th grade, I can honestly say St. Timothy s has surpassed our expectations of private school education and we now feel confident and excited about moving on to high school. I know my daughter, who is doing better academically than she ever has, is being primed for acceptance into one of the top high schools on the Westside. This is a pure and true reflection of the school's & our Principal's philosophy, the incredibly talented teaching staff, the student body and of course, the close & fun(!)family community at St. Timothy s. We are beyond lucky, we are blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

We are extremely pleased with the school, teachers, leadership and parent involvement! Our son has grown intellectually and spiritually throughout his academic year. Other parents with children similarly situated in other schools have commented that the curriculum is much more advanced than that of their children s schools. We attribute his intellectual growth to the skills well taught at St. Timothy School. We were equally excited that the school has opened a pre-kindergarten program to enhance its academic offerings to parents with younger children and plan to send our other son to the pre-kindergarten program in the Fall 2007. The faculty and staff focus on nurturing the whole child. In short, the secret to St. Timothy School is the endless pursuit of academic excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

After an intense search for the right school for our son, we chose St. Timothy's School. The school provides a challenging academic program that sustains our son's interest and curiosity for learning. It is also socially nurturing and caring. My son is very happy in his new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 33% 26%
Two or more races 26% 3%
Black 16% 6%
Hispanic 14% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lena Rowland
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (310) 470-1391

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
  • accelerated learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Decathlon
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 10, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
46
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
78
Students typically come from these schools
Chalk Preschool
St. John's Presbyterian Nursery
Beverly Hills Presbyterian Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Loyola High School
Notre Dame Academy
Private Independent High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10479 West Pico Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90064
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 474-1811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT