Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Timothy School

Private | PK-8 | 192 students

Our school is best known for accelerated learning.

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $699,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

St. Timothy School is the best combination of what every parent loves about a private, public or religious school. It is hands down the best decision we ever made as parents. Three children have graduated from STS and one is currently in 6th grade. I could go on about the academics, curriculum, small class size, unbelievable amount of attention every student receives from their teacher, superb families with similar values, extensive sports and extracurriculars, very qualified teachers and Principal - but what makes me smile when I think about St. Timothy's - my kids are happy, bright kids with strong friendships, a moral compass and they always want to go to school and learn. It all started at St. Timothy's. Thank you St. Timothy's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

This school runs like a well-oiled machine! I love it! The faculty and staff are completely amazing! Traditions abound from cross-curricular projects, to sports/after school programs, to the Halloween carnival, to an amazing technology component, just to name a few. The teachers make sure the children are happy, engaged learners even as they reach more a little more from each; they are top notch! Parents are updated weekly, completely engaged in the process. The school scores are amazing, curriculum is very challenging. I like the fact that I can email teachers when my daughter had a rough night/morning or when she struggled with a concept at home and get an update on her progress at the end of the day via email. I like the amazing diversity, we are hard working families that send their children here because we like a small learning community and want our kids to get individual attention. We care about strong Christian values, and we are a welcoming and inclusive bunch. Wish we had a better play yard, and/or a garden, but at least there is a great park and golf course across the street and many a picnic happen over there, not to mention my kids' golf lessons. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

St. Tim's is a fantastic school! The environment is challenging, employing Saxon Math programs and a huge focus on reading and community service learning projects. Each teacher cares deeply about their students and we couldn't be happier! The pace at which they are learning is amazing! The cirriculum is accelerated so in 3rd grade they are reading 4th grade material. They are constantly growing, too, and adding enrichment programs to round out our kids' experiences. The only complaint I have is the amount of money we seem to fork over in addition to tuition, but they put the money to good use.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2013

This School is a hidden treasure. Our child is growing academically and her values and manners are impressive. The teachers are excellent. the school feels like a family, and the campus is a nurturing environment. Small class sizes, beautiful families and a top notch education is what you will get! The principal is so involved and always has a positive look on everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

This school has been a God-send for our children and for us as parents. Not only are the students excited to learn, they are also kind, smart, and culturally diverse. The teachers are excellent - very creative and (perhaps even more importantly) happy! The principal is a visionary. She is highly accessible and innovative. The families are welcoming and involved. The curriculum is challenging. Technology is a part of every day student life. We are so happy to be a part of St. Timothy School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

Our children are entering their second year at St. Timothy School. We feel so fortunate to have found such an amazing school. They have creative, dynamic teachers and all of the students are smart, friendly, and truly kind to each other. Most importantly, our children are happy to go to school each day and are excited about learning. The school offers Spanish, music (violin), art, service learning projects, choir, drama, golf, and other enrichment activities. The class size is small, which allows the teachers to focus on each child's strengths and needs. The principal is highly involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

St. Timothy School is such a unique find in West Los Angeles. It has everything a parent could wish for - small classes, excellent teachers, a nurturing environment, great students and parents and a curriculum that keeps the children engaged. The school really focuses on each individual child to help them flourish and excel - they matriculate to the top area high schools. The community at the school is extremely diverse, both culturally and religiously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

St. Timothy is a precious school. The students are unique individuals. Many have gifts in diverse areas (intellectual, social, sports, art, leadership, oral presentation, etc.). The teachers are talented, accomplished and all seem to have a wonderful sense of humor. Despite their diverse accomplishments, the parents do as well. The result is a culture of joy, excellence, self reflection, humor growth and wonder. I encourage you to visit and explore this gem for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

As a parent I feel we are on a great school, we moved from another counrty and my son has adapted very well because of the techers and all staff at school I am surprised how much confidence he shows and all that is because he feels part of the school everybody knows him by his first name and that is a good thing about small size classes. I recomend this school if you are looking for a contained and happy place for you child to be. I feel lucky I have foud this school kids are nice and they care for each other, even older kids are very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

If it sounds to good to be true then it is. The academics and new principal are wonderful. However, the previous principal left such a mess only God will be able to clean it up!!! Some of the students are unique and this is a secret that should not exist. This secret helped us make a decision to leave and that has been the best for our family. Last but certainly not least the teachers should be more diverse in 2011.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

My family and I moved to the Los Angeles area last year. My son attended a private school that was not at all challenging both academically nor socially. I happened to pass St. Timothy and was impressed by the outer appearance. I went for a tour and was blown away at what they had to offer. My son began there this fall and not only are they doing what they say they would promise on, my son is EXCITED to go there everyday (by the way, it is difficult to impress him). He told me that transferring him to St. Timothy was one of the best things I could do as a mom. I was so happy. The staff is wonderful and caring and the kids are awesome. There is a new principal and she is awesome. The only wish I had is that they had a foreign language and next year they will be adding Spanish classes. I am a very happy parent!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

St. Timothy is a great community that will give your child a wonderful acedemic playground background with strong family ties and morals. This is truly the little treasure of the Westside of Los Angeles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

I have two sons attending St. Tims and they are both doing exceptionally well. At St. Tims, the grading scale is tough but both my boys are getting A's and B's there. The parent involvement is phenomenal and the family style atmosphere is unmatched. Plus, the Christian values instilled are for a lifetime!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2010

Our children have been at St. Timothy for several years now and we have found it to be a wonderful environment. The teachers are incredibly well-prepared and enthusiastic. The academics are very challenging and the classroom and playground environments are loving and inclusive. The teachers are dedicated to what they do and truly love teaching. Our principal is retiring after establishing a library, a full instrumental music program and an excellent faculty, and one of our most beloved teachers is taking over, which has the school thrilled. Come join our community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Best kept secret in Los Angeles. An academic haven for children. The principal and teachers are professional and work seemlessly as a team to make the classroom experience top notch. Extra curriculars - great, they even have golf. Extras - small class size and high matriculation rate to Loyola, NDA, Crespi, Immaculate Heart. Very impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Best decision we ever made for our children. This school is outstanding. St. Timothy's principal and teachers are the best. The children are learning and thriving in a creative, stimulating and warm classroom environment. Our friends told us about St. Tim's - but not until we toured did we realize it was the perfect place for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

What an amazing school! We just started here last year and can't believe what a great school we found in St. Timothy's. The principal, Mrs. Iselda Richmond, really knows what she is doing. What a refreshing idea - a principal who has high standards and knows how to run a school. The teachers are highly qualified - many with advanced degrees and all are credentialed. We feel that our son is so fortunate to be at STS. It is such a unique Catholic school - high academics and yet a super nurturing environment that has our son LOVING school. He is getting so much attention with the small class size and very talented teachers. The families are supportive and involved with the school. We looked for a long time before finding the perfect school - we know we have found it at St. Timothy's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

There are so many things to love about this school -- the amazing teaching staff, the incredible families and the exceptional students. It truly feels like a family. My daughter absolutely loves this school and i can't imagine her anywhere else. The level of academics is staggering and my daughter soaks all of the information in like a sponge. The teachers are dedicated, supportive, committed and passionate about what they do and it is seen the moment a person enters the front door of St. Timothy School. I highly recommend checking out the website, seeing when the next open house will be held and then attending. You won't be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

We are new to St. Timothy school and have had a great experience so far. Our daugther was at a high priced private school and we thought we'd have to sacrifice academics since we had to move her to a new school. What a misconception on our part! St. Timothy's has her on a path for academic success, the curriculum is advanced and challenging, but not overwhelming. She is thriving and can't wait to go to school each day. We are thrilled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Best curriculum and class size I have seen in years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Two or more races 29%
White 27%
Black 18%
Hispanic 14%
Asian 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lena Rowland
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (310) 470-1391

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
  • accelerated learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Decathlon
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 10, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
46
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
78
Students typically come from these schools
Chalk Preschool
St. John's Presbyterian Nursery
Beverly Hills Presbyterian Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Loyola High School
Notre Dame Academy
Private Independent High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10479 West Pico Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90064
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 474-1811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT