Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Timothy School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
We are so happy since we shifted schools from a top LAUSD charter school to St. Timothy's. Our daughter is doing a second year of kindergarten, and the key here is COMMUNITY. Unlike our experience last year, this year she is getting top academics mixed with actual VALUES, warmth, and a sense of CARING. Kids are not just put into chairs or on a rug or disciplined in a vacuum - they are treasured. They are not anonymous. They are given a larger context for their actions, to help them care a bit more about who they ARE. They are taught their value to each OTHER, not just to their own achievement. Parents are warmer, the community is much more friendly, back to school night was not just about "my kid" - it was about the pride in the community and how we all need be a part of that. If you are looking for a school that is value based, that is top academically (kids matriculate to Harvard Westlake, etc etc) but is also warm, with a loving, caring environment, then this is your school. A BIG bonus: our teacher in Kindergarten has her PH.D in early childhood development! Masters degrees and higher are present here. And small class size - a huge bonus. We love it.

St. Timothy School 5

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
We are continually reminded of how lucky we are to have found St. Timothy School for our children several years ago. They go to school every day energized and excited to learn. St. Timothy's academics rate right up there with the Mirman School. In fact, St. Tim's has placed in the top 10 at the Academic Decathlon every year since we have been there. The advanced curriculum definitely isn't for everyone, but it has completely changed how our kids feel about school. Now school is a place where our kids are challenged to reach their potential, not a place where they are forced to "dumb it down" in order to fit in. The student body impresses us with their KINDNESS and pure TALENT. The teachers and staff are caring and positive in their interactions with both parents and students. On different occasions over the years we have contacted the teachers, the principal, the PE coach, the guidance counselor, and even the librarian regarding concerns or asking advice about our kids. We always feel heard, and everyone is RESPONSIVE. The classroom size is small, as is the entire school, so the teachers really get to know and care about each child, as do the support staff. Can't beat St. Tim's!


St. Timothy School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
St. Timothy School is the best combination of what every parent loves about a private, public or religious school. It is hands down the best decision we ever made as parents. Three children have graduated from STS and one is currently in 6th grade. I could go on about the academics, curriculum, small class size, unbelievable amount of attention every student receives from their teacher, superb families with similar values, extensive sports and extracurriculars, very qualified teachers and Principal - but what makes me smile when I think about St. Timothy's - my kids are happy, bright kids with strong friendships, a moral compass and they always want to go to school and learn. It all started at St. Timothy's. Thank you St. Timothy's!

St. Timothy School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
This school runs like a well-oiled machine! I love it! The faculty and staff are completely amazing! Traditions abound from cross-curricular projects, to sports/after school programs, to the Halloween carnival, to an amazing technology component, just to name a few. The teachers make sure the children are happy, engaged learners even as they reach more a little more from each; they are top notch! Parents are updated weekly, completely engaged in the process. The school scores are amazing, curriculum is very challenging. I like the fact that I can email teachers when my daughter had a rough night/morning or when she struggled with a concept at home and get an update on her progress at the end of the day via email. I like the amazing diversity, we are hard working families that send their children here because we like a small learning community and want our kids to get individual attention. We care about strong Christian values, and we are a welcoming and inclusive bunch. Wish we had a better play yard, and/or a garden, but at least there is a great park and golf course across the street and many a picnic happen over there, not to mention my kids' golf lessons. :)

St. Timothy School 4

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
St. Tim's is a fantastic school! The environment is challenging, employing Saxon Math programs and a huge focus on reading and community service learning projects. Each teacher cares deeply about their students and we couldn't be happier! The pace at which they are learning is amazing! The cirriculum is accelerated so in 3rd grade they are reading 4th grade material. They are constantly growing, too, and adding enrichment programs to round out our kids' experiences. The only complaint I have is the amount of money we seem to fork over in addition to tuition, but they put the money to good use.


St. Timothy School 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
This School is a hidden treasure. Our child is growing academically and her values and manners are impressive. The teachers are excellent. the school feels like a family, and the campus is a nurturing environment. Small class sizes, beautiful families and a top notch education is what you will get! The principal is so involved and always has a positive look on everything.

St. Timothy School 5

Posted February 10, 2013
- a parent
This school has been a God-send for our children and for us as parents. Not only are the students excited to learn, they are also kind, smart, and culturally diverse. The teachers are excellent - very creative and (perhaps even more importantly) happy! The principal is a visionary. She is highly accessible and innovative. The families are welcoming and involved. The curriculum is challenging. Technology is a part of every day student life. We are so happy to be a part of St. Timothy School.

St. Timothy School 5

Posted September 07, 2012
- a parent
Our children are entering their second year at St. Timothy School. We feel so fortunate to have found such an amazing school. They have creative, dynamic teachers and all of the students are smart, friendly, and truly kind to each other. Most importantly, our children are happy to go to school each day and are excited about learning. The school offers Spanish, music (violin), art, service learning projects, choir, drama, golf, and other enrichment activities. The class size is small, which allows the teachers to focus on each child's strengths and needs. The principal is highly involved.


St. Timothy School 5

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
St. Timothy School is such a unique find in West Los Angeles. It has everything a parent could wish for - small classes, excellent teachers, a nurturing environment, great students and parents and a curriculum that keeps the children engaged. The school really focuses on each individual child to help them flourish and excel - they matriculate to the top area high schools. The community at the school is extremely diverse, both culturally and religiously.

St. Timothy School 5

Posted August 04, 2011
- a parent
St. Timothy is a precious school. The students are unique individuals. Many have gifts in diverse areas (intellectual, social, sports, art, leadership, oral presentation, etc.). The teachers are talented, accomplished and all seem to have a wonderful sense of humor. Despite their diverse accomplishments, the parents do as well. The result is a culture of joy, excellence, self reflection, humor growth and wonder. I encourage you to visit and explore this gem for yourself!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Timothy School
10479 West Pico Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90064
(310) 474-1811
Last modified St. Timothy School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Timothy School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top