Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 261

3 stars
Based on 75 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


80 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Corpus Christi Elementary School 1

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
Corpus Christi fails to meet the minimum academic standards and has no curriculum oversight. Each teacher works as an island with no collaboration between teachers or between grade levels. The culture of the school is negative and the students have no regard for others. If you are looking for religion go to church and if you are looking for a decent education do not go to this school.
4 people found this helpful

Corpus Christi Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Love, love, love this school. I thank God twice a day that He lead us to Corpus Christi 7 Years ago.
1 person found this helpful


Corpus Christi Elementary School 3

Posted November 29, 2012
- a parent
Honestly looking over the reviews, you can tell they have been scripted. I can tell you honestly the good, bad and ugly about Corpus. There are many redeeming aspects of Corpus, strong community, safe environment, enforced good behavior (even though punishment is somewhat inconsistent and not always handled well). But the bad is the over involvement of parents. Volunteering at Corpus can be like having a full time job, they throw way too many things to the parents. Teaching has greatly improved, technology has improved, and kids are getting into good high schools, but Corpus sometimes misses the mark on the simplest things.
1 person found this helpful

Corpus Christi Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
Our children love going to school at Corpus. The principal is an incredible leader. She's also nurturing, fun and filled with a loving heart...

Corpus Christi Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2011
- a parent
Corpus Christi is a top academic school, placing in the top 1% of the Archdiocese year after year & in the top 5% of the country. The small class size and parent participation encouraged by the administration is the key to the level of confidence, leadership, manners and moral behavior displayed by the children. You know a Corpus student! The matriculation success is 99% of students getting into their first choice high school. Just this year 7 students were the top students (several #1) at entrance to Loyola, Marymount, Louisville, St. Monica, Chaminade and Harvard-Westlake. We are so blessed to have our children at Corpus Christi and know that their outstanding education and moral leadership is who they are for a lifetime.


Corpus Christi Elementary School 1

Posted November 04, 2011
- a parent
a good education consists of the following a) the classroom teacher and b) the feedback that child is given. my son has never been given any feedback on any report card from corpus christi. not one comment in four years....i find that frightening!!! the school was established in the 1950's and i fear not much has changed in the last 60 years....the education is totally sub-standard!!
2 people found this helpful

Corpus Christi Elementary School 1

Posted October 06, 2011
- a parent
The principle of Corpus Christi is very professional and genuinely interested in the welfare of the students. I get the feeling though that she cannot run the school as she wants to, as she is controlled for the most part by the parish. They need some fresh leadership in the parish otherwise they will never have the quality school that the students deserve. There is too much micro management from a small group of parents who are doing jobs that should be performed by the school. A successful school does have parents interact with the school, though never on the level of Corpus Christi. A catholic education does not mean a second rate education, there are so many catholic schools that do provide a quality education unfortunately Corpus Christi is not one of them!
2 people found this helpful

Corpus Christi Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2011
- a parent
We have been a part of the Corpus Christi community for 20 years. All of our children, current students and graduates, have received a wonderful education. Not only does Corpus do an excellent job academically, they also teach to the whole person: mind, body and spirit. We have had the privilege of being guided by 2 exceptional principals during our time at Corpus. Another wonderful component is that we have made lifelong friends in this school/parish community.


Corpus Christi Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
We could not be happier with Corpus Christi. Our first grader has received a warm, high quality education including rich arts and physical education programs. The families and staff are knowledgeable, warm and supportive. The resulting community is truly something special. we feel lucky to be a part of it.

Corpus Christi Elementary School 1

Posted June 15, 2011
- a parent
Both my children went to Corpus Christi and overall I did not have a good experience. I feel the teachers for the most part were not helpful and the students were mean. There are a few exceptions with the teachers, just a couple are good but for the most part they are not helpful and I feel as though its just a job for them. I did pull both my girls out of this school early on. If you are looking for kind students and caring teachers this is definatley not the experience I had at Corpus Christi.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Corpus Christi Elementary School
890 Toyopa Drive, Los Angeles, CA  90272
(310) 454-9411
Last modified Corpus Christi Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Corpus Christi Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. Top