Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
310 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Francis De Sales 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
We love this school! There is so much to offer for our child. The classroom sizes are large however there is an aide in every class and if there is a problem I always feel heard. The parent community is awesome... It's like a second home

St. Francis De Sales 1

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is at capacity in several of it's classrooms, which has resulted in high student-teacher ratio. It honestly feels like our voices are not heard or warranted, because if you're unsatisfied, they'll dismiss your family and take any another candidate.


St. Francis De Sales 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
My family has been a part of the St. Francis de Sales community for many years. My children started in kindergarten when Sr. Ellen Marie McGovern was principal and continued on through 8th Grade with Mr. Kenny and then, Dr. Galla at the helm. From our experience, we can honestly say that the high quality of education and genuine regard for the students' well being and spiritual growth has remained consistent over the years. There has been very little turn-over in the faculty and staff since we've been there, many teachers have been teaching at SFDS for 10+ years. I was disappointed to read the two reviews below. Obviously, the writer of those posts had a bad experience with the school and the administration. I suppose that is inevitable in even the best schools. Not every school is going to be a good fit for every student and I am glad they found a school that works for their family. St. Francis has a very supportive parent and alumni community. Many parents at the school are also alumni who are sending their students to their "home" school. We have had a great experience at SFDS. Good luck with your school search!

St. Francis De Sales 1

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
This school was a horrible experience for my children. The teachers are burnt out and academically behind. Lots of bullying and favoritism.Full of phony parents and mean kids. Pulled my kids out and watched them blossom at their new school. They enjoy school now.

St. Francis De Sales 1

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
St.Francis de Sales school does not follow their own mission statement with regards to bullying, cheating, and misbehavior at the school. The principal has been dismissive and done nothing to address these issues. Many teachers and administrators are used up, unhappy, mean, and are unapproachable, arrogant, and condescending. They are lazy, inattentive, and just go through the motions of their jobs. They do not celebrate accomplishment. For the money this school should be top notch, but instead is behind in technology and quality faculty compared to other Catholic schools in Los Angeles. More important to them is new paint on the church. Parents suffer in the non air-conditioned auditorium where all children's performances are. There is way too much emphasis on the annual fair and fund-raisers for the school. Church services have an emphasis on social justice instead of self-reliance, music, and joy. The school only cares about the money, not the children, and even less about the parents who pay for it all.


St. Francis De Sales 5

Posted February 06, 2010
- a parent
This is a really great school.... Although the class size is a bit large, there is a teachers aid in each class. In addition to a great athletic program with many team sports open to grades 5 to 8, the school offers many fab extracurricular activities for the younger grades including a swim team (for grades K-8), chess club (grades K-8), guitar class (K-8), Drama, and even a School of Rock program (grades 6-8). SFDS has great parent involvement and the teachers are excellent. They also have computer, Spanish, Art and Music as part of the curriculum. The new principal is awesome and has brought a ton of improvements. Can't recommend it enough!

St. Francis De Sales
no rating

Posted December 06, 2008
- a parent
Large class size after Kinder: 33-35 in each class, one class per grade. Enrichment courses and general learning can be impeded by these numbers, especially in the early grades. Good parental involvement and support, but school is not for everyone.

St. Francis De Sales 5

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
I can not say enough about this school. The teachers are wonderful, committed professionals. Every class has a teacher's aide. The classes are enriched with music, art, computer, drama and PE. High level of family involvement with very organized PTA. My children are thriving in this environment.


St. Francis De Sales 4

Posted December 07, 2006
- a student
Great school with very supportive friends and affiliates of the school and parents which provide an overall solid education and some remarkable extracurricular activities for such a small school. This is evident in fund raising and exposure in media. Few private schools in this class have an outdoor grass field for sports, pe, activities.

St. Francis De Sales 3

Posted May 05, 2005
- a parent
Good catholic education available with extras including computer lab, art class, PE, athletic opportunities. Parental involvement required at 40 hours. Small school with only one class per grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Francis De Sales
13368 Valleyheart Drive, Los Angeles, CA  91423
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (818) 784-9573
Last modified St. Francis De Sales is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top