Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Francis De Sales 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
We love this school! There is so much to offer for our child. The classroom sizes are large however there is an aide in every class and if there is a problem I always feel heard. The parent community is awesome... It's like a second home

St. Francis De Sales 1

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is at capacity in several of it's classrooms, which has resulted in high student-teacher ratio. It honestly feels like our voices are not heard or warranted, because if you're unsatisfied, they'll dismiss your family and take any another candidate.


St. Francis De Sales 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
My family has been a part of the St. Francis de Sales community for many years. My children started in kindergarten when Sr. Ellen Marie McGovern was principal and continued on through 8th Grade with Mr. Kenny and then, Dr. Galla at the helm. From our experience, we can honestly say that the high quality of education and genuine regard for the students' well being and spiritual growth has remained consistent over the years. There has been very little turn-over in the faculty and staff since we've been there, many teachers have been teaching at SFDS for 10+ years. I was disappointed to read the two reviews below. Obviously, the writer of those posts had a bad experience with the school and the administration. I suppose that is inevitable in even the best schools. Not every school is going to be a good fit for every student and I am glad they found a school that works for their family. St. Francis has a very supportive parent and alumni community. Many parents at the school are also alumni who are sending their students to their "home" school. We have had a great experience at SFDS. Good luck with your school search!

St. Francis De Sales 1

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
This school was a horrible experience for my children. The teachers are burnt out and academically behind. Lots of bullying and favoritism.Full of phony parents and mean kids. Pulled my kids out and watched them blossom at their new school. They enjoy school now.

St. Francis De Sales 1

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
St.Francis de Sales school does not follow their own mission statement with regards to bullying, cheating, and misbehavior at the school. The principal has been dismissive and done nothing to address these issues. Many teachers and administrators are used up, unhappy, mean, and are unapproachable, arrogant, and condescending. They are lazy, inattentive, and just go through the motions of their jobs. They do not celebrate accomplishment. For the money this school should be top notch, but instead is behind in technology and quality faculty compared to other Catholic schools in Los Angeles. More important to them is new paint on the church. Parents suffer in the non air-conditioned auditorium where all children's performances are. There is way too much emphasis on the annual fair and fund-raisers for the school. Church services have an emphasis on social justice instead of self-reliance, music, and joy. The school only cares about the money, not the children, and even less about the parents who pay for it all.


St. Francis De Sales 5

Posted February 06, 2010
- a parent
This is a really great school.... Although the class size is a bit large, there is a teachers aid in each class. In addition to a great athletic program with many team sports open to grades 5 to 8, the school offers many fab extracurricular activities for the younger grades including a swim team (for grades K-8), chess club (grades K-8), guitar class (K-8), Drama, and even a School of Rock program (grades 6-8). SFDS has great parent involvement and the teachers are excellent. They also have computer, Spanish, Art and Music as part of the curriculum. The new principal is awesome and has brought a ton of improvements. Can't recommend it enough!

St. Francis De Sales 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St. Francis De Sales 0
no rating

Posted December 06, 2008
- a parent
Large class size after Kinder: 33-35 in each class, one class per grade. Enrichment courses and general learning can be impeded by these numbers, especially in the early grades. Good parental involvement and support, but school is not for everyone.


St. Francis De Sales 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St. Francis De Sales 1

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Francis De Sales
13368 Valleyheart Drive, Los Angeles, CA  91423
(818) 784-9573
Last modified St. Francis De Sales is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Francis De Sales Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top