Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Sebastian School

Private | PK-8 | 220 students

We are best known for our iPad and music programs.

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $584,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2013

School Administration shouldn't be allowed to post positive comments just to out way the other comments. Oh yeah, you are a new family but you seem to know what the new Principal has to enforce. Why not talk to the real families of the school. As middle school parents who have been with this school for years and through all the ups and downs, my family knows the real truth. A diamond, maybe a gemstone yes, but it's quickly fading and being melted by a bunch of BS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

This school is a diamond in the rough!!! My family is new to the school this year and have been very impressed with the warm and welcoming administration who seem to truly care about the students and families. Right away my husband and I could sense that there seems to be a bit of a "riff" with existing middle school families who are apparantly upset that the new Principal has and enforces rules to run the school, like a school uniform policy, requirements that tuition be paid on time and requiring families to complete volunteer hours that they have committed to perform. I've also heard in the halls that scholarship families are now outraged that their kids have to make a C+ or better to keep their scholarships. Where I'm from, that's a requirement!! He's hoping those families will move on and make way for new families who cherish and respect school policies and a learning environment where everyone carries their own weight. We love it here and most importantly, so do our children!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

The school has a lot of potentials, community, family oriented, location, providing high tech and seems to provide up-to-date curriculum. Yet, the problem is certain teachers aren't up-to-par to provide more challenging curriculum, fear of new technologies, some kids aren't disciplined appropriately and became so disruptive in class time & aren't fit in the school structure but rather to fill the number. Unfortunately, we decided to pull our children out of these schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

Both of my kids attend this school. The school is very family oriented. Yes they require volunteer hours and fund raising to keep the cost down. Compare to other schools, this school is very affordable. I love all the staff members and the teachers. My son started Mandarin from Kindergarten and is now in 2nd grade and proud to say that he speaks the language well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

SAINT SEBASTIAN SCHOOL PRINCIPAL HAS RESIGNED. Word is he was forced to resign for political reasons and not by choice. My family is going through so much stress. My children are receiving the best education at this school. Their future is changed because of the opportunity. They are able to attend Saint Sebastian School because they were given a scholarship. I know the only reason they got the scholarship is because of the principal and administrator. I am sure the new principal will be selected by the same group who made the principal resign and he/she will give no consideration to the families' needs. Who are they getting rid of next? Which teachers will be forced to resign? Public school is my only option and I don't live in the best neighborhood. I am so devastated and worried about my children's education. THIS IS SO WRONG!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

I have never been more disappointed in a preschool. My son has only been going here for 3 months and I am already searching for an alternative once my contract runs out. My first warning sign should have been the fact that my son never wants to go to school -- and he has never been like that at any other preschool. Things that you should know that they don't emphasize when you are signing up for preschool besides the extraordinary amount of service hours a parent needs to provide and ENOURMOUS amount of school days off outside of normal work/school holidays i.e. instead of a week off for spring break -- nearly 2 weeks off, random Saint Holidays and other days that they prepare for accreditation reviews (all of which you need to pay for extra care) -- their national accreditation is their primary concern. If your child's needs or your needs as a parent don't fit in with their strict accreditation guidelines, then you might as well just look somewhere else. In other words, you need to meet the needs of the preschool because they will not bend to meet your needs. It you have a ton of time to give and don't have a demanding job, this is the school for you -single parents be warned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

We have been a St. Sebastian family for 7 years and my youngest is in Kinder this year. There are a few new teachers this year and each has added their own special talents to our school. We miss the teachers that left and still see them at many of our events. Our new kinder teacher is amazing just as last years kinder teacher was amazing and I am impressed with all of the new things my student is learning this year. My middle school student is way ahead in classes like Math when compared to our friends children that attend other schools. I cannot imagine sending my children to a school where I am not involved. There is always something going on and something to do. My older student has made friendships that will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

Our two children have been attending St. Sebastian School for the past three years. This school is extremely family oriented. The parents are highly involved and are encouraged to be involved with their children's education and activities. This school is very welcoming and warm. You feel like you are part of an extended family. Yes, there are volunteer hours and opportunities for collecting or making donations but these are simple to fulfill. This actually helps parents get together and participate in their child's school activities. In fact, the most recent fundraisers are geered towards getting IPads for each student. (They are very close to this goal!) This school is very technology based and has won recognition within the archdiocese for this advancement. Art, Mandarin, and Musical instruments are all part of the curriculum. Come see for yourself! You won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

We recommend only Pre school and enrichment teacher. They are very nice! But recently many great teacher and smart child left this school. Then this school was a lot of changes. Also this elementary school is not high academic and not great support too. If you looking for great and high academic school, There are many great school in Westside area. (Private and public) We know that many public schools were budget cut, but many magnet and charter school still more academic than this school. I want to tell you this school.This school compulsion the donation and a volunteer.(Almost every week donation event and must 34 hours volunteer.If we miss the 34hours,The penalty is $10/hour. Anyother great school do not have this kind of rule.(Private and public school) Also St Sebastian school is NOT Save. If you want to send your child to save school ,Do not send your child to this school. Principal accepted horrifying student to kindergarten this year. The student who falls behind who can't keep up with] the others . Also this student stones the money from classmate and he was bullying some girls. But Kindergarten teacher and Principal swept the problem under the carpet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

With what's going on with funding cut at LAUSD/ state budget, so glad we found this school for my child, best decision we made!!! School offers a lot of activities, my child excels and loving this school. In the Westside, all public school parents scrambling yearly to find the right middle school as not to many good choices around, and how lucky you're going to win lottery entrance, so glad we don't have to do that. What's wonderful, Principal and staffs are approachable , down-to-earth and caring. Best of all, you instantly get notify via emails/textings of your child homeworks, testing grades so we can follow-up immediately if the child falls behind. Resources here are tremendous in helping your child to succeed. Hands down the best school for West LA. my child loves learning Chinese as well, very important language to learn while they are young, and also able to use Ipad to learn useful programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

I can not speak highly enough of St. Sebastian Preschool! The program is run by an amazing director and staff. The learning environment truly nurtures each child to have the confidence to explore, grow and have a true excitement about learning each day! My daughter is actually sad when it s Friday as she knows she has 2 days without school! Not only do I know she is well cared for there but is provided with the latest and greatest in educational activities and play. The hours are perfect for working parents, the well balanced snacks given are a blessing, quality of room conditions amazing and the playground is heaven! What truly got me over all the above, is the education and sense of community the preschool offers to the parents. I feel like I truly have a team of trusted individuals that care just as much as I do about the quality of life and experiences I want for my child! As each week passes I see my child growing and learning beyond her age. I truly feel this is due to the structure, offered electives, social development and nurturing this preschool provides! You MUST come see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

My review is for the PreSchool at St. Sebastian. My son has been attending this school for just over a year. It would not be possible for me to put into words how great I think the director, the teachers and the program are here. We have learned so much as parents through our participation in the school's offered workshops, through daily observation of their methods in the classroom and through personalized conversations/meetings with the staff. Our son has grown so much socially and emotionally over the past year and we believe it is in large part due to the care and learning he has received at St Sebastian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

St. Sebastian is our second big family outside our home. The principal, teachers and staffs are very friendly and accommodating. It's amazing how all of them knows every student s name if not, take the initiative to get to know everyone which is a very good motivation to the students and parents. I also love the students and parents participation in many school events and activities; its exciting to see students bring out their hidden talents and be proud of it. I strongly believe that this is a better and safer school for every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

I researched possibly every school on the Westside, and can say that Saint Sebastian School has been the perfect choice for my child. In addition to the academic program, kids learn to develop good character and participate in various enrichment programs. The after-school program is wonderful. It allows my daughter opportunity to do homework and participate in different activities. Saint Sebastian School is a tight-knit community of students, teachers and parents who pull together to provide a nurturing and safe learning environment. Class sizes are small and allow highly qualified teachers and staff to get to know the students and their families. The school is constantly evolving. The principal takes initiative to keep up with the latest technology and educational methods. The kids learn to become tech-savvy. My daughter s Kindergarten class each gave a PowerPoint presentation in front of 30+ people-amazing! My daughter has been enrolled at Saint Sebastian School since Pre-K. I am pleased with the education and care that she receives. She loves Saint Sebastian School and thinks that school is awesome . She has made friendships that will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

St. Sebastian School continues to get better with each year. I consider our family very lucky to have been a part of it for 4 years now. Since Kindergarden, my son has learned honesty, integrity and kindness along with amazing, high-standard academics, including Mandarin Chinese 3 days a week and violin classes all a part of the regular school day. The parents, teachers and administrators truly work as a team and the place feels like your own family, every time you walk through the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

Love this school, always have :), my 2nd child will be graduating this year, and it's bittersweet because it will be hard to not be so involved with this school, a school I've been part of all my life. The teachers & staff are great, all the children know eachother and everyone looks out for eachother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

This school is the best in the area. The teachers have excellent academic credentials and keep the students interested with the newest technology and innovative projects.


Posted May 24, 2011

Wonderful, small, intimate school that feels like a family. Top-notch academics along with strong values are taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

A little school with a big heart ~ A school principal (Ed Hermeno) who really cares ~ excellent academic standards ~ cutting edge technology ~ "pillars of character" like respect, responsibility, kindness, etc. are taught and reinforced daily ~ what a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

St. Sebastian is a great school. Coming from a near by public school, I got to say has nothing on this school. Saint Sebastian is small but very family orientated school the kids, parents and teachers are very respectable friendly and approachable. The principal and teachers know your name and your kids, which I was very impressed with. I have recommended this school to everyone I know. Some of them that have come to check out the school are currently enrolling for fall. If you re looking for a school with high educational standards but friendly environment at the same time, I promise you Saint Sebastian is the school for you. This School goes above and beyond. I can go on and on about Saint Sebastian. They are awesome! A great hidden treasure if you ask me!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 11%
White 6% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Edward Hermeno
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (310) 473-3178

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • 1) 95% of our students are accepted at their first choice of high school. 100% of our students go to high school. 2) Our graduates matriculate to Loyola High School, Marymount High School, Notre Dame Academy, Harvard-Westlake, Louisville, Bishop-Conaty, and Saint Monica High School. 3) Our dedicated Faculty/Staff have degrees from MIT, Wake Forest, NYU, UCLA, UC Berkeley, UC San Diego, Bryn Mawr, Juliard, LMU and Harvard
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Loyola High School
Marymount High School
St. Monica High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1430 Federal Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90025
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 473-3337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Fusion Academy
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT