Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Sebastian School

Private | PK-8 | 220 students

We are best known for our iPad and music programs.

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $584,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2009

St. Sebastian is a wonderful, loving environment with very high academic standards... The best of both worlds, and a wonderful principal and teachers, tool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I go to Saint Sebastian School. I am currently in 7th grade. This school is really great. I have several memories good and bad at this school. All the teachers are very nice and respectful to the students. It's a small school but we're all just like a big happy family. I really love this school because the teachers are very nice and the way they teach makes it very easy to understand. Saint Sebastian is a very cool school. I only recomend one thing... get lockers for the middle school!! Other than that St. Sebastian School Rocks! =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2008

Alright. Im not a parent. Im a student. I attended St. Sebastian K-8 and am now a junior in high school. Looking back, this school has been threw so many changes some being bad, some being good. Every single teacher is on top of their game, and know whats going on with the students. I'll admit there were many times when I got into major trouble, but the principle/teachers were always understanding, and were able to work with you. Basically I miss this school, and I would recomend it to any young individual who is in need of a good school. Im not going to give my name, but just a little hint, I graduated 8th grade in 2005!!! yay!!! This school is one of the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

I am so happy to have my daughter here at St. Sebastian. The mix of technology, well educated teachers and a caring administration sets the school apart. You always see so many parents involved and on campus. It really feels like a tight family working to provide the best academic, spiritual and fun environment for our kids. My daughter has been doing so well and any areas she needs to work on the teachers have always made us aware right away so there are no surprises when report cards come out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I have mixed feelings about this school. The administration and teachers do try to make it into a good school but there is still a lot of work need to be done. Policies need to be consistent and there is a need for organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

We migrated here last year from the Philippines. We were looking for a school wherein our kids can adapt easily and will not experience culture change.We went to this school and we were very happy the way they accomdated us.The principal himself toured us in school, talked to my kids as friendly as he can be.After our tour, our kids told us, ' We want to come and study here.'My kids enjoyed their school a lot. All the teachers are nice and acccomodating. The principle is great. He knows every students and parents. He has a very strong leadership which made the school great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

High quality education, state of the art technology and great teachers are some of the highlights of this school. Smart boards, computers, art program, music program and after school care are some of the great things offered at St. Sebastian. The teachers are great, not only because of their credentials but because they genuinely care about the children and the school. They have a great pre-school program as well. I am an alumni (having attended from K-8) and am happy to have my children attending this school. The principal is awesome... he always gives above and beyond what is expected of a principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

I have put 2 children through this fine school. One has graduated w/ honors and one is still attending. It is a wonderful school with a very nurtured setting. They are up to date with all academics and in technology for learning. All classes are equip with 'Smart boards' and modern computers. The Principal there knows every student by name! Now that's a positive teacher, student rapport! Also provided is religious instruction for those who are Catholic. Which maintains a very pleasant Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

I feel so blessed to have attended St. Sebastian's School. I feel that not only did I receive an excellent, well-rounded education, but also gained a strong spiritual/religious foundation. I learned the importance of character, integrity and kindness. The teachers/administration/staff were very nurturing towards the students and had a genuine love for teaching. The lesson plans were creative and kept the student's interest. I also liked the fact that there weren't too many students in the classroom so I was able to obtain more individualized attention. I highly recommend the school as it prepared me well for high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2005

I love this school. It is the great undiscovered secret on the westside. The teachers are highly qualified and treat the students like individuals. The tuition is reasonable. The student body is diverse. The environment is safe and highly disciplined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

I am very satisfied with this school and the teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

After seaching to what seemed the zero hour, my husband found St. Sebastian and as mentioned in other reviews this school is truly a secret well kept with an impressive staff of educators the principal I am sure will know every childs name by the end of the first week of school. The teachers we have met are amazingly nice,and caring and seem so committed to taking the children through an education journey of excellence that will be challenging nurturing and fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

This is by far the best school in Los Angeles. The specialists and professionalism of the staff and administration combine to form rigorous academic programs with priority given to mind, body and soul. The all-star art, music, and athletics keep parents from all over coming, fulfilling within them the desire to remain involved for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 52%
White 6% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Edward Hermeno
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (310) 473-3178

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • 1) 95% of our students are accepted at their first choice of high school. 100% of our students go to high school. 2) Our graduates matriculate to Loyola High School, Marymount High School, Notre Dame Academy, Harvard-Westlake, Louisville, Bishop-Conaty, and Saint Monica High School. 3) Our dedicated Faculty/Staff have degrees from MIT, Wake Forest, NYU, UCLA, UC Berkeley, UC San Diego, Bryn Mawr, Juliard, LMU and Harvard
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Loyola High School
Marymount High School
St. Monica High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1430 Federal Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90025
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 473-3337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Fusion Academy
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT