Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 306
 

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
We removed our child from this school for several reasons. The teachers, students, and parents are not warm to newcomers. It may be different for families that have been there since preschool or kindergarten. We found that not only do the children have cliques, and ostracize other children, but the parents do as well. They have very large class sizes and so much homework in the older grades, it s difficult to participate in extracurricular activities. In the short time we were there, 5 teachers left the school, which is a very high turnover for such a small school. In addition, the administration is ineffective when handling bullying situations, and special treatment was given to families with more than one child. It s money over morals here. This was our personal experience, and I hope it helps anyone considering this school.

St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
In response to parent and student evaluations/recommendations major changes have occurred in the past couple of years -- all very positive. Separation of elementary from junior high has led to environments more focused on the children. Art instruction has been enhanced, with music and dance being emphasized as never before. Student performances during the 2014 Christmas program was testament to that, as is the on-going pride of the children who are learning to read and perform music even if that involves rather simple instruments. Most of the grades are using laptops or tablets with each student involved in a collaborative learning environment. On top of all that... significant improvements in student safety have been implemented to address issues associated with a school that is an integral part of an active parish. Despite bitterness from some parents and faculty over recent changes, St B continues to perform well above average in academic performance and continues to effectively develop devout Catholic Christian children.


St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
Two of my children went to this school. It was ONCE a great school with a community where you knew everyone. Under the new administration the community has dissolved as the principal has made parent involvement less than inviting. The staff turnover has been horrendous since the new principal started and the staff that remains are not happy. I have since pulled my one remaining child out and my third child will go elsewhere.

St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
Great school with a caring, involved principal. Change is important and necessary in schools today. Keep going! Bravo!

St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My School is great! My child is a straight A student and has great teachers. Class size a little large, but they split the kids up in groups so they get the one on one they deserve!


St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 2

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
st. bernardine of siena very large class size very high student to teacher ratio Principal discourages parent involvement

St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a parent
The St B school as it is called is an outstanding supportive environment for learning. The teachers are caring and work hard to educate the students academically as well as morally and religiously. The feel is one of being in a family and everyone has an interest in the childrens' learning and excelling. The academic excellence is evidenced by their outstanding standardized test scores and by the fact that almost all of the children excell into high school.

St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
Two of my children have graduated from St.B's and I have one currently in the school so needless to say, we have been in the school for a long time. It is a wonderful school, with a wonderful staff of caring teachers. I would highly recommend this school to anyone. The comment about the junk food is a joke. I pack my child's lunch everyday, with healthy foods that i choose. The school does not promote unhealthy eating.


St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
It is my third year at St. Bernardine with two sons attending .. It is a fabulous school and for the third year in a row, St. B rated #1 out of 209 schools in the area on the Iowa State testing program. If you want strong academics and kind and caring teachers, St. B is the perfect school for your child.

St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School 3

Posted July 12, 2010
- a parent
If a "junk food culture" is the worse thing you can say about a school, then I'd say it must be a pretty good school. My four children all attended St. Bernardine, and I certainly don't think it is perfect, but no school is. To worry about birthday treats is ridiculous. Kids learn how to eat at home. A treat now and then is not going to ruin a child who has been taught well. And, I have worked in an LAUSD middle school and have eaten the cafeteria food. It is NOT healthy. And the kids ALL eat junk.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School
6061 Valley Circle Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  91367
(818) 340-2130
Last modified St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Bernardine Of Siena Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top