Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
199 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
My child have attended this school for the past 4 years. They have constantly low numbers in the classes, so students benefit from lots of teacher attention. Also they split up the kids according to ability levels for math and reading. So kids are always being challenged or getting the added help they need. A hidden gem in the valley!

St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Many of the teacher have been at this school for many years and are committed to the values and standards they teach.


St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Children are given homework every night and projects regularly . they have to learn to mange the load with clubs and sports activities.

St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Children are given the opportunities to develop leadership rolls and are encouraged to help each other daily.

St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
The school has a daily prayer that all children are encouraged to live up to. " We are a family, we work together, play together, pray together, we take care of each other..."


St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
We are blessed to ba a part of this school family. The faculty and staff are wonderfuly dedicated teachers who take the time needed with each student to ensure that they recieve the best education possible.

St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2015
- a community member
Ever since ive been in this school ive been miserable. THE BULLYING NEEDS TO STOP. The faculty allows foul play, and all forms of bullying to commence during school hours alone. Please take into account that ive been with this school since kindergarten, which is a mere 8 years of dedication, donations, generosity, and so much more and for that devotion of my family's time, i get nothing but a little brush whenever i try to confront the faculty about serious matters. This includes student rights, educational matters, and matters based upon the fact that bullying in any form is just sinful and should be prohibeted, especially if such matters are performed in front of an adults eyes. You might tell by the way im writing this review that the school has a generally good educational base. But the fact of the matter is that most of the education that we are taught is literally taught through arts and crafts and not as much books and notes. Serious improvements need to be made at this school!

St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School 4

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
Most of the teacher's appear dedicated and the turn over rate is low. Kids receive the basic reading, writing and math. School is also very safe. On the negative side however, the school needs a major revamping as it looks run down and there is no full or part time janitor to keep the school clean. Not sure what is going on with the school budget or where the money goes. Additionally, school needs a new principal with more energy and fresh ideas. I am certain the school can tap into the archdiocese for help with projects that could improve the school so not sure why administration has not looked into this. Lastly, the school needs to keep up with technology by providing kids with tablets for homework/reading and also by keeping website current. Oh and parents and students being able to log in to check progress/assignments.


St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2014
- a parent
What a fantastic place for children to grow and learn. St. Bridget of Sweden is a small school where everyone feels like family. The students, faculty and staff are all friendly and respectful. They pride themselves in being a place where kids are encouraged to reach a little bit further all the time. The principal is a true gift to the school. He has been there for dozens of years and is always looking out for all of the kids, faculty and parents. There are many, many former students who make it a point to bring their children to this school so they can have the same high quality education that they had. We are so blessed that we have our children at SBS!

St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School 1

Posted March 28, 2014
- a community member
Awful school. AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL. I was beaten and bullied. I was too scared to tell anyone what happened and my mother saw bruises on me and immediately went to the school -- my teacher told my mother I had been crying every day in class and didn't even think to call my mother and tell her what had been going on, The principle couldn't care less. I would NEVER EVER send a child here. It is truly a god-less place with awful people running the school. Do NOT send your child here. Mean kids and mean teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School
7120 Whitaker Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  91406
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (818) 785-4422
Last modified St. Bridget of Sweden Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top