Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 266
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 1

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
The administrator at this school is great with marketing and hype. However, the school's cirriculum is very average (with the exception of kinder which is fabulous!). Additionally, there is bullying that puts the empahsis on placing the blame on the victim (not the bully.) Most of the class sizes are large, with some intervention, but no enrichment opportunities. The administrator partners with parents as long as they are doing what she wants. It's an O.k. school; many families are there because they feel like they do not have better options available to them. However, for the money, parents should keep looking.

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2014
- a parent
We have been at this school for the past 9 years. We have seen many changes in the school including changes in school leadership, acceptance of technology and variety of programs. This is a great academic prepartory school where the emphasis is on academics. While traditional teaching methods are used, the school has not been shy to embrace technology and introducing it, first in the middle school and now into elementary. One can always find faults and imperfections when scrutinizing something as important and fundamental as educating our children however, when considered in the big picture and looking at the end results i.e. the 8th grade graduating classes, these are minuscule and often apply to individual situations that may not have been a good fit for the school. This school has shown courage in exploring new techniques while retaining it's 60+ year traditions. This is an ongoing journey that is producing happy, well rounded and prepared kids.


Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
We transferred our three children to NDAE last year from American Martyrs because of the rapid decline of AMS. We definitely made the right choice! The difference is like night and day! NDAE truly cares about its students. The Principal knows each child by name, and knows how each one is doing. The teachers are communicative and highly effective. While not as demanding on the parents as far as involvement, it still fosters a very close knit atmosphere. This is a very traditional-style Catholic school, with an excellent balance of discipline, academic standards, compassion, and love.

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
The true Christian feel of the school is vanishing. There is much hypocrisy with the Administration and very little parent involvement. Only those parents available in the mornings, get involved. Working parents can't do this. There is too much experimentation with the children with some families leaving due to the negative changes. The emphasis is to make the school elite with little compassion.

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
You should interview several parents that attend the school then make judgement. But great public school education!


Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
As an alumni and parent, NDA is doing amazing things all of the time. The campus has been revamped with students and families responding well to it. New programs have been great. Keep up the good work!

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
11 of 13 8th grade boys attending Loyola in fall of 2012. Stats speak for themselves. Don't believe sour grape postings!

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 2

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
After being at Notre Dame for years, first as a student myself, and then as a parent, I have noticed a sad trend in the last couple of years. They are so interested in being a flashy school that they have lost sight of the true meaning of Catholic Education. The iPad technology while fantastic in its idea, is not being used a a supplement to the teaching, but as a replacement for the teacher. A general lack of concern for the student also seems to be prevalent now.


Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
NDAE was a good school when we our son started 8 years ago. We chose NDAE because of the safe campus, good teachers and diverse community. What I could not have predicted was how GREAT NDAE would become. Our new principal started 2 yrs ago & committed to making NDAE "a catholic school for the 21st century". She & her team work to reach this goal every day! Progressive teaching methods, ongoing teacher development & best practices from a career in catholic education are helping drive the transformation. 4 boys basketball teams, after school arts (theater) and academic programs (#1 Decathlon team). Most programs did not exist 2 years ago & are a blessing at a small school. Technology is fully embraced by the entire community. All Jr. High students have iPads. My son is more engaged with Math & Science than ever before! The skills taught at NDAE will get our sons ready for HS & beyond. Instruction is focused on critical thinking, project based learning & teaching to the whole child. Our boys will be life long learners! Their future success will be due (in part) to the dedication of the NDAE administration and faculty. Our experience at NDAE has always been good but now it is GREAT!

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
NDAES offers a balanced curriculum and since the new administration took over, emphasis on building character and spirituality has taken the forefront even more. The administration made some much needed changes and the school is now a better institution. The new principal identified which curriculums needed an overhaul and took appropriate action. The new teachers this year have brought life to their subjects. For example, the JH students produced full Spanish dialogue imovies which illustrated their technological advancements and recently learned Spanish communication skills. The new principal has also catapulted the school into The Nation's spotlight by becoming a successful pioneer in the use of ipads at the K-8 grade levels. She remodeled and updated classrooms to keep up with modern-day technological needs and even surpass them. The new Junior High Villa houses a full Broadcast Media Center. The principal is humble about the school's accomplishments. Every newsletter we receive gives credit to where credit is due and the letters thank parents for their hard work and contributions. NDAES is giving our child a superior well-rounded education in an incredibly caring community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School
2911 Overland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90064
(310) 287-3895
Last modified Notre Dame Academy Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Notre Dame Academy Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top