Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
266 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Notre Dame Academy Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
NDA encourages the development of the whole student. Even in TK, my child is learning about being responsible for his own actions.

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Our child has been at Notre Dame Academy since the Fall as a new TK student. I spent hours reading all the reviews about the Catholic schools on the West side. I've visited several and each has their own strengths. We were looking for a school that was nurturing but also offered a strong academic background, which NDA seemed to provide. Now, I cannot believe what Notre Dame Academy has done with our quiet and shy little boy. He has become strong, confident and articulate in ways that I could have never imagined. He loves going to school and loves his classmates. I really feel like we won the lottery with this school (and even had second thoughts about posting about this gem in the heart of a big city). All the teachers and most students know his name (thanks to school family and 8th grade buddies) and there is a perfect balance of religion for us (my husband is not Catholic). Good luck with your school search...and if you choose NDA, I hope to see you soon at the school activities!


Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 1

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
The administrator at this school is great with marketing and hype. However, the school's cirriculum is very average (with the exception of kinder which is fabulous!). Additionally, there is bullying that puts the empahsis on placing the blame on the victim (not the bully.) Most of the class sizes are large, with some intervention, but no enrichment opportunities. The administrator partners with parents as long as they are doing what she wants. It's an O.k. school; many families are there because they feel like they do not have better options available to them. However, for the money, parents should keep looking.

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2014
- a parent
We have been at this school for the past 9 years. We have seen many changes in the school including changes in school leadership, acceptance of technology and variety of programs. This is a great academic prepartory school where the emphasis is on academics. While traditional teaching methods are used, the school has not been shy to embrace technology and introducing it, first in the middle school and now into elementary. One can always find faults and imperfections when scrutinizing something as important and fundamental as educating our children however, when considered in the big picture and looking at the end results i.e. the 8th grade graduating classes, these are minuscule and often apply to individual situations that may not have been a good fit for the school. This school has shown courage in exploring new techniques while retaining it's 60+ year traditions. This is an ongoing journey that is producing happy, well rounded and prepared kids.

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
We transferred our three children to NDAE last year from American Martyrs because of the rapid decline of AMS. We definitely made the right choice! The difference is like night and day! NDAE truly cares about its students. The Principal knows each child by name, and knows how each one is doing. The teachers are communicative and highly effective. While not as demanding on the parents as far as involvement, it still fosters a very close knit atmosphere. This is a very traditional-style Catholic school, with an excellent balance of discipline, academic standards, compassion, and love.


Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
The true Christian feel of the school is vanishing. There is much hypocrisy with the Administration and very little parent involvement. Only those parents available in the mornings, get involved. Working parents can't do this. There is too much experimentation with the children with some families leaving due to the negative changes. The emphasis is to make the school elite with little compassion.

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
You should interview several parents that attend the school then make judgement. But great public school education!

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
As an alumni and parent, NDA is doing amazing things all of the time. The campus has been revamped with students and families responding well to it. New programs have been great. Keep up the good work!


Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
11 of 13 8th grade boys attending Loyola in fall of 2012. Stats speak for themselves. Don't believe sour grape postings!

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School 2

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
After being at Notre Dame for years, first as a student myself, and then as a parent, I have noticed a sad trend in the last couple of years. They are so interested in being a flashy school that they have lost sight of the true meaning of Catholic Education. The iPad technology while fantastic in its idea, is not being used a a supplement to the teaching, but as a replacement for the teacher. A general lack of concern for the student also seems to be prevalent now.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Notre Dame Academy Elementary School
2911 Overland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90064
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (310) 287-3895
Last modified Notre Dame Academy Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top