Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 90

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
A Great place for kids to grow and learn. I am very blessed that I am able to provide my Son not only with a private education, but a Catholic education as well. There are excellent families and teachers that make up a community of respect towards one another. Academics are excellent, with highly qualified, enthusiastic teachers who WANT to be there Academic curriculum is GREAT! The discipline is great and is reflected in the children more so the older ones because of course smaller ones are learning. The older kids set a good example to the smaller grade students. Our child is challenged academically and is learning. The teachers are amazing and show how much they care about the students on a daily basis I highly recommend it to other parents. This is a GREAT SCHOOL!!!

St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
This is a GREAT school my children are very happy here. They feel at home. This school is great because the parents and teachers are very involved. The school also has a new Principal who is making changes and he's doing a great job!


St. Alphonsus School 0
no rating

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
Attended school and it started off good, but I must agree that the moral for the school to do better is for the parent to be more involved but there is also a problem when the principal does not accept ideas or enforces other parents to participate whether to encourage them or to make the fees high enough to make the parents get involved. The success of the students' future has to be hand in hand with the school and teachers, but the principal conforms to the results because school is situated in the middle/poor level community. School needs lots of improvements in education and lots of work to the classrooms as well. Also, many students get into high school but need to take summer classes to catch up, thats not good either.

St. Alphonsus School 4

Posted January 19, 2010
- a student
i somtimes wish thhat i could enter into a public school, but then ST.ak=lphonsus makes me change my mind beacause i was taught the religeous education that i won't get anywhere else in east los angeles

St. Alphonsus School 4

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
This is school is a good school. The only flaw is that there are some parents who don't cooperate to improve it. Coolaboration is essential. The principal and teachers can't do it all by themselves.


St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted February 15, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school. My child has learned a lot more that at other schools. I highly recommend it to other parents. The teachers encourage the parents to get involved.

St. Alphonsus School 4

Posted January 24, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Alphonsus School 5

Posted March 13, 2006
- a former student
The school challenges each student to be successful and achieve their goals. As an alumni St. Alphonsus has taught me to follow my dreams and never stop giving up on my self.


St. Alphonsus School 1

Posted July 19, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

St. Alphonsus School 2

Posted October 10, 2004
- a parent
The school is ok at best, but must make certain that teachers have teaching credentials and have earned a B.A., as some have none of the above. Must make certain that ALL teachers are following teaching standards correctly as to assure students are learning at grade level.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Alphonsus School
552 Amalia Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90022
(323) 268-5165
Last modified St. Alphonsus School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Alphonsus School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top