Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Eugene

Private | K-8 | 176 students

We are best known for qualified and warm teachers.

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $210,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

Saint Eugene's has a wonderful nurturing environment with very caring teachers. The teachers work very hard to ensure your child is understanding the material for both standardized testing and for their own knowledge. I have enjoyed my 4 years at the school and will continue my children's enrollment through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

My children were welcomed into the "St. Eugene Family" with open arms by teachers, staff and students from their very first day. The teachers are excellent and are sincerely concerned about each student learning and reaching their greatest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

St. Eugene's faculty is very warm and accepting. I have enjoyed the school activities and their level of academics. My child was behind and they were able to assist him greatly. The school is undergoing capital improvements during the summer and it is looking great. Looking forward to a new school in September!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

I have worked in schools for over 20 years. And I was surprised and overjoyed at the atmosphere of this school. It is warm, friendly and kind. This environment allows for such peace and learning for these children. In a neighborhood like ours, it is a surprise. St. Eugene is nestled in a safe haven of Los Angeles. Come by, you will see what I am experiencing now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

My children attended St. Eugene and it was worth every dime spent. My children were more than prepared for high school and the teachers were very knowledgeable in their disciplines. The school environment was loving and I always received a warm welcome when I visited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

The foundation I work for only supports schools with a strong administration, dedicated faculty and the ability to grow on many fronts. I have worked in several schools in Los Angeles and this is the school that has the best environment for learning. It is surprising how comfortable the children and parents feel here.


Posted September 20, 2009

The school has made some major improvement. There are fun spirit filled activities for the family to participate in as well as a fully educational program for the students. Parents who are involved with their children in and out of the classroom will get their moneys worth. The students really learn and the parents get to know each other by volunteering at the school and at school sponsored events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I dont feel that the school is all that anymore... they took all the school fun away from the kids and they dont go to church like a catholic school should... I just feel that this school has gone down hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

St. Eugene is a great school. They really make you feel like family. The principal has a down home flavor with an up town beat. They also have the best afterschool program in lost Los Angeles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

This is a great school. There is lots of parent envolvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

I love the environment and parent teacher involvement. Teachers have the patience and the knowledge that should be required in all schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 6%
Hispanic 3% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Korean
Spanish
Portuguese & Igbo
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Portuguese & Igbo
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Leona Sorrell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (323) 754-0913

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Portuguese & Igbo
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • 1. For the summer of 2011, we are doing over half a million dollars in capital improvements for both the interior and exterior of the school. Classrooms and bathrooms are getting a fresh makeover. The school will look brand new for the new school year. 2. The Specialty Family Foundation, which supports inner-city schools, aids in the school's long-term strategic planning. 3. A teacher already has published articles in education and is finishing off her PHD. in education.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Serra High School
St. Bernard's High School
Saint Mary's Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9521 Haas Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90047
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 754-9536

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Baby G.O.D.S. Academy
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT