Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Teresa of Avila Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $460,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

This is the worst school ever. Math teacher was fired, principal hired the custodian to take over as math teacher. Insane
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

Just happened to stumble upon these reviews on St. Teresa School - glad to know that things are much better compared to the days when my boys attended this school. With the same principal (Mrs. Fernandez), the school was so mismanaged that I decided to move my boys out. I don't know what made her change but she sure was rude (very) & after school care was terrible. Anyway, good luck to all the students - I hope things continue to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

We are new to this school. We found the teachers involved and caring. The principal is on top of everything. The after school care is great, helping the kids with their homework. Teachers are very accessible. The class sizes are very small, maybe 15-18 per class. But best of all there is a real family feel to the school. Academically it is what you'd expect in a Catholic School. A world class education for a very low tuition. A hidden treasure in Silver Lake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

hi. i am currently an 8th grader here at st. teresa of avila school. i have been attending sta since i was in kinder. i have enjoyed all my years. all the teachers are willing to take their own time to help student with anything. i am sad that i will be graduating this june. i have many great memories in many activities. i have been on the decathlon, softball, volleyball teams her at sta. our school is like a family. i might be leaving this year but i will always be back to visit as do many of the graduates. this school is great for any children. i will miss you all when i leave. class of 2010! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2009

There a lot of wonderful things about St. Teresa of Avila school. The school has had the same principal for more than 20 years and she cares very much about the students and parents. She was even a student there herself! The same teachers have been working there for long time, too. The class sizes are small and there is a great afterschool enrichment program which was organized by one of the parents. She is truly amazing. St. Teresa of Avila is truly the treasure of Silver Lake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

St. Teresa of Avila School is truly a 'hidden treasure in Silver Lake'. Our school is dedicated to teaching the students to live in their world today while preparing them for the world of tomorrow. ALL OF THE TEACHERS ARE DEVOTED TO THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE WHOLE CHILD AND RESPECT THE DIVERSITY THAT EACH INDIVIDUAL BRINGS TO THE CLASSROOM. The parents make many sacrifices so that their children can be part of our Panther family and many are alumni themselves. Once a Panther always a Panther - Panther Pride is alive and well in this little corner of Silver Lake.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 3, 2009

hi, i attend at st teresa of avila and i am currently a 7th grader going on to 8th. this school has taught me well ever since kinder what i really think is funny is that another 7th grader wrote a review about this hahahaha. anyways i reccomend this to any kid i was in the acedemic decatholon and it was a fun learning experience. I know that any kid who comes here will gain excellent learning skills and will gain many friendships with anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2009

My kids attend this school for several years now. I love this school since the teachers and staff are great and caring. This school build the intellect and character of children. By the beginning of 8th grade, the students at this school have a total grade equivalency of 9.2- one full year above their grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

hi,im a student in t teressa of avila im a 7th grader,ive been there since kinder and so far it has been a really great school they provide everything child needs,sports,acadeic decahalon ,school choir ,and more. St teresa of avila is a good choice
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2007

i'm a class of 2004 graduate. i attended this school since k to 8th and it was a school that provided me with a small intimate commiunity that showed love and care like a family. it is the school that helped me become a successful scholar now going into college.


Posted November 24, 2007

I have two kindergarten girls and one first grade boy. Here are a few thing that make this school the best place to send your kids. The Outstanding Teachers who are dedicated, caring , passionate, and devoted to our children. The teacher ratio is as low . They offer a wide variety of programs like, Spanish , Music,Gardening, Arts and Craft. Best of all the have a love and safe after school daycare till 6:00pm. We know are children are safe, and are growing to be happy intelligent criticalthinkers, socially responsibility's, loving and respectfully to everyone. In my opinion this is an excellent school where the teaches and the principal are 110% dedicated to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I respect the decision of the parents in where to send their children to be educated. I thanks God that gave me the opportunity to send my children to a private school. My wife and I think we choose the right school, with good quality teachers, as well safe and discipline. It's a sacrifice but the best investment.My kids are in 6th. and 8th. grades, never applied for a scholarship.I hope somebody can give me a hint how to, looking forward to send them to a Private High School. MD
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 80%
White 11%
Asian 5%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2215 Fargo Street
Los Angeles, CA 90039
Phone: (323) 662-3777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Baxter Montessori School
Los Angeles, CA





Gabriella Charter School
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT