Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 178

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 3

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
My child is currently attending, the school standards are high which is great for a Catholic school. My only complaint is that most of the staff and children are African American and it feels as if they get preferential treatment. There is definitely a great pride in race, but it makes it borderline racist. For example, African American month is really a big event for the school and its celebrated the whole month the church is decorated to fit, however nothing else is really celebrated. Do they do this for 4th of July? No. Do they do this for Hispanic Heritage? No. Academically, its great! if you are African American or from Belize you will feel like you are at home.

Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 4

Posted March 14, 2010
- a parent
My first child attend Holy Name of Jesus from Kinder thru 8th Grade and is now a Sr. at St. Bernards High. My second child also started from Kinder and is now in the 5th Grade. Overall I am extremely happy with the school. There academics are great, Teachers really care about the children, and safety is great. This is a school where you will feel very comfortable with your child attending and no issues with other kids, it is definitely a family environment. The principal is also great. This is a school that should definitely be considered if you are looking for a great school that is reasonably priced.


Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 1

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 4

Posted August 19, 2008
- a parent
Since moving from Belize almost three years ago, both our children have attended Holy Name of Jesus School. There is a disturbing trend of lessening enrollment at Catholic schools such as HNOJ as parents' priorities change and as the deepening recession take its toll on family finances. Regardless of the sacrifices it takes though, we are determined to keep them there. The teachers go over and beyond to ensure that the students learn and the Principal remains visionary in her outlook and ensures that every child receives all the attention they need and deserve.


Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 08, 2008
- a parent
My children attend holy name this is our families first year there. Holy name is a good school with good teachers who care about the children. Great communication between my children's teachers and our home. There is room for improvement... more outdoor time for the children. I personally like a little more progressive approach to teaching, but having caring teachers who share your values is really important to me as well.

Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 4

Posted September 06, 2007
- a former student
Holy Name is a very good school. Yes things can be improved but overall it is a great place for your child/children to get there education. Holy name gives your child an opportunity to gain social kills and listening skills. Its a well disciplined school. Overall i believe that you should consider holy name as a school for your child.

Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School 1

Posted July 06, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School
1955 West Jefferson Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90018
(323) 731-2255
Last modified Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Holy Name Of Jesus Catholic Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top