Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Mora Salesian High School

Private | 9-12 | 508 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $197,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2013

Sending my son to Salesian has been by far the best decision my husband and I have made. Great school, great staff and most impotant great boys! I'm proud to say I'm a Salesian parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

My son graduated from Salesian High. It is true that there is a strong family atmosphere, boys build a strong bond from freshman year that last a life time. Academically speaking I give Salesian a 5 out 10. My son was successful and went on to college, but he had a very strong support system outside of high school, and he is just naturally a good student. If your son struggles or needs the extra help with academics that will get him accepted and through college I do not suggest Salesian. Unfortunately the students are not challenged to their full potential and I feel the school needs to implement more college prep classes, and the academic bar needs to be raised significantly. It's tough out in the real world. Parent involvement is great, this school has so much potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

Single gender -all boys- is the way do to go. The learning environment, the friendships and the bonding is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

This school has been a spiritual and educational support for our son
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

My boys attend this school and have taught them to be good young men
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

I feel confident to say we made a great choice in selecting Salesian to be the pefect fit school for our son. Salesian offers a wide variety and range of athletic programs + has in place established a wide range of educational courses each student has the opportunity to be a part of. The staff and parents are tremendously dedicated + devoted to make each students educational and athletic experience a success in preparing them for college and for the real world. Hats off to all the staff and devoted parent involvement for their unconditional and continued dedication + support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Salesian is a great school because there is a family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

As an alumni, Salesian helped to develop into the person I am now. Salesian gave me the spiitually and intellectual drive to better my self and to excel. Because of its small numbers in students Salesian gives the opurtunity for all students to interact with each no matter what clas grade they are in. Salesian gives the young men a sense home in a lerning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

Salesian has served as a catalyst in my son's life. Because of the dedication of the faculty and staff that work tirelessly for the boys at Salesian High School, my son has been able to develop spiritually, mentally, and physically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

This school is very interactive with both student and parents. The students are very well tooken care of and the teachers are of the highest degree. I recommend this school to all the parents. They are good also at financial support.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2004

I am extemely satisfied with the experiences that my son has had at Salesian. Since he has started attending this school I have noticed the growth that he has experienced spiritually, mentally, and physically. Although the school is over 35 minutes from home it has allowed me be physically closer to him as it is only 10 from my downtown L.A. office.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 94% 52%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Samuel Robles
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

960 South Soto Street
Los Angeles, CA 90023
Phone: (323) 261-7124

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT