Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Bernard Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 195 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $339,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

St. Bernard Catholic School is one of the best school located in the North-East Los Angeles. All of the staff are awesome especially the principal who is always working to improve the school academically. As parents of 2 young kids currently attending St Bernard Catholic School, we know that this is a great foundation for them. This school is so good that some parents attended the same school back when they were in grade school. Parents actively gets involve with school activities and fund raising for their kids. Good school with good catholic faith!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Update: There is a new staff, there aren't any combined classes, there are numerous extracurriculars (academically and athletically), and a great majority of the students move on to Catholic High Schools such as Immaculate Heart, Loyola, Villanova Preparatory, La Salle, Cathedral, Sacred Heart, Providence, and Holy Family. This school is truly amazing and I love it so much :)


Posted January 29, 2012

I am a proud teacher at Saint Bernard Catholic School and feel honored to serve the Glassell Park Community. As a member of the staff I can say that St. Bernard's is a great environment to teach in and I am privileged to work for a fantastic principle who puts the students' needs first and has worked hard to make the school great! She has worked to get technology into the classrooms, implemented a new math program, worked to receive new programs to improve literacy, and is constantly looking for the best options available. Our staff is wonderful and we are constantly learning to provide our students with the best education possible. We work well together and that affects student learning for the positive. We have wonderful programs that help mold our students to be empowered, active, and faithful. In addition to wonderful students we have been blessed with fantastic parents who understand the importance of a quality Catholic education and the need for their support. The parents and community are always willing and able to help when and where they are needed. I am truly blessed to be apart of all the great things that are happening at St. Bernard Catholic School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 16, 2011

I am currently attending SBS and about to graduate. I havr experienced both sides of the previous staff and the newest staff. Since it's the time of the new staff, I must say SBS has improved very well. Our teachers are humurous, fun, strict, and determined. The same for the students and entire faculty/staff. We have decathlon, speech, leadership, computer rooms, PE, music(taught by a member of a band, and Shakespeare(aslo taught by the music teacher!) and an art class. We have annual Science fairs, the 6-8 Religion teacher attented WYD for an excellent guidance video and many of the students have won awards nationwide, including writing comps. In LA, Conference to DC offers, and much more. We are taught to be empowered students, active individuals, and faithful disciples. I strongly recommend for you to have your child attend this amazing school. I will never forget the values and teachings I've been taught! GO TROJANS!!!!


Posted January 25, 2011

I have two children at the school and we've been there for at least 7 years. The school has a new principal. She is like a tornado. I've never seen a principal work so hard. On her own, she has actively brought in private funding to help the school. Also because she has both public and private school experience she knows exactly where to find money and what programs we can benefit from. The result: she has put the school on a strong financial footing, she has hired new passionate teachers; implemented lots of new program such as art and music, storytelling, and even Shakespeare. She also found money for laptops for all the teachers and smart boards for all the classrooms. And the teachers find ways to integrate technology with the classroom studies. We also have a new computer lab, academic decathlons, speech tournaments, and sports. We also have a strong parent organization. Overall, I am very happy with St. Bernard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

This school has some excellent teachers and provideds a lot of good religious education along with it's academic curriculum. It is small, and will have a combined K/1 class, which gives kids a lot of individual attention, but also means that there are not a lot of extras. There is no computer lab, no physical education program, and any extras (like hot lunches) are parent provided, not school provided. The good academics combined with less than average extras makes this school average at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

This school provides a great, family feel, and lots of attention. It is lacking in some curriculum areas, with no P.E., no active computer lab, and no educational aides in any classes. Parents need to put in a lot of work, but kids do learn a lot in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

Wonderful School! Each students are given lots of individual attention. I know many who graduated from St. Bernard & they've had nothing but pleasant things to say about their expierences at St. Bernard. The office staff & teachers are great. The kids K-8 treat one another like family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

This school is going through a lot of changes. St. Bernards is run by the parents so many extra programs depend on the volunteers and some programs like computers and tutoring have been cut. The academics are good for but as far as innovative teaching or new ideas this school is lacking. Average at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

St. Bernard has a amazing faculty. The teachers have been dedicated & wonderful in providing a excellent education. It has a family feel to it. My nieces & nephews credit their college & carrer success to St. Bernard School. I highly recommend this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

I'm a graduate from this school and I feel as though I got the best of the years I went there. I learn plenty not only from my teachers but from my peers as well. I always felt at home and bonded with my classmates as if we were family. I will never forget the things I learned there. <3


Posted February 25, 2009

St. Bernard is an excellent school, my son is in 8th grade and i'm proud to say that because of the school he has become a better person and has improve in many ways not just academically, he is well behaved and well disciplined. I highly recommend st. Bernard school and for sure will send my 5 yr.Old daugther in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

St. Bernard is an excellent school. The teachers are great they all care about all the students. This school is great in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

St. bernard school is an advantage for life! to the staff of st. bernard school i would like to thank all of you for being such great teachers and teaching my kids the right things. I will always remember what the 8th grade teacher said 'The journey matters. Not the destination. You made my children the best they can be. thank you so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

A wonderful school with great students and caring teachers.St.Bernards is a school I will neverr forget. As the 8th grade teacher always says 'its not the destination that matters.Its the Journey'
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2004

St. Bernard's Elementary is a shining example of quality education in the middle of a low-income area in California where both public education spending and test scores are low. My experience at St. Bernard's was extremely positive. The principal is a credit to her profession.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 28% 1%
White 2% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Margaret Samaniego
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3254 Verdugo Road
Los Angeles, CA 90065
Phone: (323) 256-4989

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT