Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Euphrasia School

Private | K-8 | 207 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $359,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2012

This school is the little jewel of the valley! The children are like family to each other. Every effort is made to keep them safe, give them a well balanced academic program, offer extra curricular activities, provide community service opportunities, and teach them positive values. Students grow spiritually and academically stronger each year. I have been blessed to have my children attend this school. Obviously each person has their own right fit and not everyone may chose this school but keep in mind that some of the negative comments here were probably written by disgruntled parents and do not reflect the general consensus of the parent population. No one school can be perfect 24 hrs a day but St Euphrasia has been the best thing to happen in the academic life of my children. The best decision ever made was sending my children to this school. I know the education, community spirit, and religious teachings they get here will be with them for a life time. Tour the school and see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

This school is well rounded, nurturing the students to be independent and academic learners in a secure environment, offering challenging courses which prepare them for the future, be it in leadership roles or with solid work ethics and spiritual growth that will carry them successfully through high school and beyond. Spanish is taught in middle school, and there is a computer lab for all ages. All the faculty are highly skilled, professional and well credentialed, with most holding several degrees. Beyond academic life, there is a strong social atmosphere among the school and parish families which is supported by both the principal and pastor with family fun events throughout the year that strengthen friendships and community spirit. How many schools can boast that their pastor dresses up as the Phantom of the Opera at Trunk or Treat, does singalongs with the children on his guitar, and blades with the principal and students at Skateland? The only misgiving we have had is not having attended it sooner coming from another local private school. In any case, we were warmly welcomed and are proud to be part of this school and parish. There is more goodness here than any negativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

A school that could and should be awesome but is below average. The children get amazing supervision and will be kept safe and sheltered. The principal does not know how to delegate and does to much. As a result most of the things she does are not done properly. Physical education is lacking, the department does not have a person running it with a college degree or background in sports or fitness. The computer or technology department also needs a more experienced person with computers running the classroom. The parents are very involved. The religious eduction the kids receive is above and beyond. Math department is lacking. If I had to do it over again my kids would not go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2011

We have been a part of this school for 9 years now. As a parent of an older child I will have to say that the ability to have your child in a Christ center environment during middle school is a blessing. The middle school children are given the opportunity to mentor to the younger children, they are giving a lot of opportunities for leadership and service projects - to get them to provide service to those that are less fortunate. The teachers are what really makes the school - they are highly qualified, caring, warm, but yet tough with high expectations. The environment has allowed my child to grow both spiritually and academically. The children are asked to due both group projects and presentations - these allow the children to grow in their communications skills, collaboration and gives them the confidence to present in front of groups of people. Every school you will attend will have something that you wish were different but I would have to say that this school has 98% of everything right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

Wonderful school with excellent, well-qualified teachers. My children were more than ready for high school when they graduated from St. Euphrasia. It is a nurturing, family-oriented community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

St. Euphrasia is not for everyone! However, if you have a child that, as a parent, you want to grow both spiritually and educationally, you would be remiss if you did not consider this small but yet excellent Catholic school. St. Euphrasia School became a part of my life in 1976. By the grace of God my children attended and graduated from St. Euphrasia and now my grandchildren are fortunate enough to be a part of a very spiritual community of students with a dedicated staff of teachers. The education is excellent, all the teachers and staff are caring, and the majority of parents are active, participating and involved. What more could a parent/grandparent ask for? If you are looking for a school that you can trust that your child will grow both educationally and spiritually in a safe environment, then this is the school. I love what this school has to offer and have for over 30 years, and I speak from experience when I say I love this school! I have three grown St. Euphrasia Alumni, and will in the future have an additional four more! Go St. Euphrasia Knights! I am proud to be able to attach my name to this email, Loretta Florez


Posted May 24, 2011

The principal at this school is the weakness. She does not care about the well being of the children. Her only concern is her reputation. In fact, she has put teachers down and blamed them for her wrong doings. This principal is impossible to speak with because she does not listen or care what the parents have to say. This school has poor supervision and many unfortunate things have happened on campus where children have been hurt due to a lack of supervision. The pastor is ineffective as well. The lack of support at this school is also a negative. When families are in need there is no emotional or physical support. This school would be better off with a new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

I love the sense of community, commitment to our children and love of God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

St. Euphrasia is a great school. Class sizes are small, teachers are dedicated and competent and the whole school community are supportive and involved. I'm a new parent to this school and so far I like what I see. My child learned how to read just a few months into kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

St. Euphrasia is an excellent school with a superior staff. I feel very lucky that my child can grow and learn in such a positive environment. They really work on teaching the whole child and not just focusing on only one part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

This is a wonderful place to send a child. They really focus on the whole child and not just one part. Excellent teachers, great pricipal. I am glad my child attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

The school is great, the teachers are great. The children are kept young and innocent, sheltered from the sins of the world. The Principal (Mary Blair) is the schools weakness. She is unorganized and mentally absent. As long as she is in charge of the school it will not progress and continue to fall behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 33% 52%
White 33% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 29% 1%
Black 3% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rev. James Gehl
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17637 Mayerling Street
Los Angeles, CA 91344
Phone: (818) 363-5515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Iqra Elementary School
Los Angeles, CA


Phillips Academy
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT