Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral High School

Private | 9-12 | 735 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $271,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Cathedral High School is a special place where Brotherhood runs deep. Where respect is expected and excellence is lived. Once a Phantom...Always a Phantom!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 2, 2014

I am currently a sophomore here at cathedral high school and for the first year i have been here I have accomplished so many things that I would have never done at a public school. The teachers have taken good care of me when I am going through rough times and overall, it is an amazing college prep to attend. The school has an amazing college readiness program and I absolutely love it here. The only thing i would change here at cathedral is the football program. We really need to stop recruiting. these kids are ridiculous.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2014

I'm a student at CHS and let me start of by saying that this school is completely over rated. The teachers spoon feed students, athletes get all the special treatment, and there is no discipline. Most of the seniors graduate with no diploma and most of the teachers barley seem to care. If you're planning to come to CHS you might as well just go to a public school. The only perks of this school are the academy (which actually prepares you for college), sports, extracurricular activities, and maybe a few faculty members (Mr.Walsh). Overall this school is undeserving of its 'high' reputation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2011

I am a student going to Cathedral High School. I feel honored, thankful and proud to be part of the student body. There is a lot of financial aid help and a lot of tutoring help. Sports are great and really great. All students are like family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2010

I am satisfied with Cathedral High School. The teachers are excellent and want the best for the students. The teachers are available for discussion with the parent. The students must apply themselves, but the results are great when they do. The school has great Math, Arts and Athletic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

My son and I took several visits to private schools in SoCal starting 2 years prior to him applying. I let my son make the choice of where he wanted to attend high school and he picked Cathedral. He just graduated, and our family is so happy he chose Cathedral. Do your son a favor and visit the campus. I assure you that you will not be mislead by the administration, and you will be impressed with the student body, faculty and education. I guarantee it. Best wishes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

This school is just perfect for students who love to play sports and learn and have agood education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

I am a freshman at Cathedral high school and I love it!!! This school is a great school to sends your sons to. We are all family here and we all care for each other. we are a lucky private school to have 7 thats right 7 Christian Brothers to interact with us the students as our religion and history teachers. We are also very fortunate to have the Christian brothers pay 1,500 dollars of each and every child. Please consider Cathedral High School College Prepatory for your sons next four years of High School
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2009

This is great school.I am so blessed that my son is attending a school who really cares about there students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

over all great techers know what they are doing and students are polite
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

Cat city high is the best school in california. Teachers are cool and the student are nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

the pride and spirit that cathedral students, alumni, parents and teachers show is one i have truly never seen ,its wonderful how united they all are. the academics are very good and the boys graduate with good knowledge ready for college. i highly recommend it to any boy and their parents who is entering high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I would highly recommend Cathedral for anyone considering the school for their son. The administration is wonderful, caring and always willing to listen and help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2005

Very good school! I like the students because they wirk so well together!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2005

Very good school! I really love Cathedral.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 87% 52%
Black 4% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
White 1% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Br. John Montgomery
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1253 Bishops Road
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: (323) 225-2438

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT