Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James Episcopal School

Private | PK-6 | 351 students

We are best known for our exceptional academic program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $355,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2008

The teachers that I my child have are great. They really do a great job. Howerver, the administration is lacking in really caring to support the teachers. This is because I am on the PSF (Parent Support Fellowship). I have personally observed actions where the parents and teachers agree on starting a new program or idea, and the administration does not back it, usually citing that the budget does not allow it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

This is our third year at the school and we couldn't be happier. Our son is thriving and it has been a really good fit for us. The school is more traditional, students wear uniforms, it's religious and is incredibly diverse socially, racially, economically. The diversity is one of top reasons we chose the school. We looked at six private schools and while they all strive for diversity, St. James' was the only school that really delivered. We've had really strong teachers each year and the sense of community in the school is strong. Parent involvement makes it a great school. There are tons of different options for volunteering depending on what you're interests and availability are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

As a faculty member at SJS, I must say that I am a part of a team of gifted educators. I feel supported and encouraged by administration. The community of families promotes an atmosphere of mutual care and respect. I have worked at other independent schools, and SJS exceeded my expectations. I feel Blessed to be a teacher here amongst such gifted colleagues and caring families. I am always telling others about this great educational community that I am a part of.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 13, 2008

I adored this wonderful school. Our daughter came here new in the fifth grade and was instantly welcomed by many new friends, parents, and teachers. She graduated in 6th grade and will always remember this school. They have a great and challenging academic program, and a very good english program as well. The kids go to church once a week, but there are many other religions taught as well in the religious studies program, such as Buddhism, Hinduism, and Islam. The only thing lacking is that they do not have afterschool sports. They do, however, have afterschool sport enrichment classes such as volleyball, fencing, piano, chinese, Paw Prints, (the school newspaper written by students) and even Boy Scouts. They have a wonderful community with wonder diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

St. James provides a well-structured academic program in warm and supportive environment. We love the religious association of the school and feel that it provides insight and inspiration to our child s life. While we re genuinely happy at St. James, we have become increasingly disappointed by their decisions to raise tuition each year. They attempt to justify the increase by claiming that they are several thousand dollars less than other independent schools. However, they seem to forget that they are not perceived as an independent school due to the religious affiliation. With these increases, they are pushing out the mid-level income families that selected the school based on the academic curriculum, religious affiliation, and what was once, an affordable tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

My children love the school. The kids are bright and friendly. The school fosters good citizenship and moral characters. However, there are serious flip sides. The new principal is very tentative, and seems to minimize the importance of a strong academic program. The teachers are a mixed batch of good and bad. During the past several years, tuition has been increasing. Still, the school pushes the parents to increase their annual giving. As much as my children and I will miss our friends at this school, we are looking at other schools. It is sad to see a once-great school to continue losing its edge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2006

Academic standards are high and St. James students are known for getting into some of the most competitive junior highs/high schools in Los Angeles. My child is in 4th grade and has been attending since kindergarten. She has had some excellent, inspirational teachers, and really only one that I would rate as 'fair.' She loves going to school and likes staying after to play. Parents are very involved. The arts programs leans heavily toward the ecclesiastical music that supports St. James' Church, which is great, but there could be a greater emphasis on visual and performing arts. There has been principal turnover in recent years, and the policies of the latest are still being implemented, too early to comment. Overall, it is a warm but not coddling atmosphere. Very ethically diverse, a true mirror of L:A.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

A spirited amazing intercity school. Diversity reigns here as does excellence in academics. Strong placement into the best middle schools in Los Angeles. Strong parent and teacher involvement has created a beautiful environment to learn in. This school develops character. This school has chapel at St. James' parish on the same shared property. First desegragated church in Los Angeles. Check out the organ, kid's choir, handbell choir. Field trips, music and exploration abound in this structured Episcopal progressive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 26%
Black 15% 6%
Hispanic 10% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Sewing/knitting club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Deborah David
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student Leadership Council
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$14000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Marlborough
Campbell Hall
Harvard Westlake
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

625 S St Andrews Pl
Los Angeles, CA 90005
Website: Click here
Phone: (213) 382-2315

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Camino Nuevo Academy #2
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT