Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James Episcopal School

Private | PK-6 | 351 students

We are best known for our exceptional academic program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $355,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2013

I love this school! It has everything our daughter needs for her elementary school education. The teachers are kind and caring, the curriculum is rigorous and engaging, and the parent community is beyond compare. There are always people out there that find fault, but you'll be hard pressed to find a school that's as warm, nurturing, academically enriching, and well run as St. James'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

Ask any hakwon (only because hakwons are exposed to so many kids attending different schools public and private. I am not endorsing hakwons). St. James while looking bright and pretty is academically weak. Little rigor, hence low ICEE scores, fear under the guise of esteem building replaces grit, and the school is plagued by weird racial tension (they still preach color blindness circa 1986). Though they put on a good show, they are behind in methodology, their focus being money. They see the child as a customer and the customer is always right. As a parent, I want my child to be challenged and guided, not told s/he is right. My advice save your money and send your child to a charter school. It s a good moment for the charter school system; pedagogy, rigor, and differentiation are en vogue.


Posted February 18, 2013

We have a first grader at St. James. St. James is a wonderful, safe, kind, academically challenging (age, individually appropriate there are plenty of children who are challenged in some way and the school fully supports and aids them to the best of their ability). We looked at several schools in Los Angeles and St. James came out number one on our list for many reasons--check out the awesome science, art, computer labs! It has superb leadership, dedicated teachers, active and supportive parents and delightful children. It truly is "the face of LA" as someone said below. It's very special in that it's an inner city private school so to speak so the student body is truly diverse. I have never seen any bullying. Ever. We love it and feel so lucky to have our child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Our daughter has been at St James since Kindergarten and is currently in Third Grade. St James is like an extended family. It is warm, nurturing and academically rigorous. The student population and faculty are also extremely diverse and represent the face of LA. We are a Jewish family and feel totally embraced. The religious aspect of the school is not dogmatic, but teaches a broad humanity which is lived every day. I cannot understand the comment about bullying below as I have found the children at St James to be very kind and caring. The older kids look out for the younger ones and children transferring into later grades are warmly welcomed and fit right in. The Head of School Debbie David is a power house and Angela Arrington the Vice Principal is also dynamic. I highly recommend St James. Our daughter is very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

St James is best school in LA. Let me start by saying my son is a gifted child. He was accepted in Mirman, WNS, John Thomas Dye, and Willow. My wife and I choose St James because of the schools academic rigor, religious/social balance, and real world demographic mix. Based on those three criteria, St James is the only school in LA that checks all the boxes. This is my son s second year at St James and we couldn't be happier. His schoolwork is challenging (as we expected), he is gaining an understanding of religion, and his friends are of all races. Lastly, I have to say the kids at St James are happy. I'm on campus everyday, and all I see are lots of smiling faces. I can t wait till my daughters a little older so she can go to St James too :o)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

St. James' is a small school with a BIG problem - bullying. For years administration has ignored this problem, especially if the bullies are the children of the affluent and big financial donors to the school. For obvious reasons administration has stuck their heads in the sand when it comes to this growing problem in the St. James' community, while the bullies are running a muck. I think that the parents of these children know that their kids have a serious social problem, but they also know that the school needs money, their money. In the meantime bullying is a rampant problem and administration does not want to confront the problem or the parents of the problem. Money talks at St. James . The bullying includes both physical and verbal attacks. This is a problem that seriously needs to be addressed and the school needs to take a stand against the bullies no matter who their parents are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

Thank you Saint James. We have a happy well rounded eager learner. The school is an academic school with a warm heart. The parent community is open and inviting and as diverse as they come. We are so happy we found St. James and can only hope that our child's education in the future can compare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

We are very happy at St. James'. It is a great mix of strong academics and the fun classes like art and music and computer lab. We are a non-religious family and are happy that our daughter is getting exposure to a strong moral education in a liberal and inclusive (not dogmatic) environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

We absolutely love St. James. The staff is so solid and the school itself is quite remarkable. Our daughter is super happy and her friends are all really down to earth normal kids with equally cool parents. We have found St. James to be a jewel of a school in the middle of the city. It has great values, caring teachers and an amazing new head of school, Debbi David. The academics are strong and so are the kids. We love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

I have been a parent at St. James' since 2002. I have seen the ups and downs over the years and am thrilled by the energy, direction and vision that the new head of school brings to this community. The teachers are a dedicated, talented and passionate group. The students are taught not only academics (which prepared my eldest daughter for her current school, Marlborough), but the importance of being caring citizens. It is a truly diverse community where friendships cross ethnic, economic and cultural lines. Many of the parents are active volunteers and have become good friends with one another. In sum, St. James' is a vital, alive, institution that is positioned to bring out the very best in your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

We love St James' My daughter just graduated and in now going to Marlborough. The new Head of school is amazing! She is working hard to know all of the graduation sixth graders. All of the kids love her. I am writing the review because we have gone through change and SJS DOES NOT deserve bad press, it is a wonderful, small, loving and joyful place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

I sent my son to this school in first grade. He was the new kid. In the first week, he came home with a problem in the playground I called the head of the grounds that night to tell him about it. He knew who my son was after only a week. He knew the issue, and had a plan to fix it. Since then, my son has integrated wonderfully into the school, thanks to the efforts of the teachers and staff. I appreciate the individual care he gets and wouldn't send him to another school for love or money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

This school is a gem in Hancock Park, amazing community, wonderful values, and a stellar education, my two kids are so happy here, it's been a wonderful beginning for our whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

St. James' is a small, academically rigorous school that emphasizes community, diversity and creative thinking.


Posted June 8, 2010

I have one child who graduated from St. James and one who is currently enrolled. The school is academically rigourous and yet, the environment is nurturing and loving. Both the teaching staff and the administration are excellent. My children love the school. It is a top notch private school for an incredibly good value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Our son will graduate from Saint James' next month and we are so grateful for everything he has learned. He is well prepared for middle school academically. He scored very well on the middle school entrance examinations without having to spend his summer and weekends in tutoring, and is moving on to one of the most highly rated schools in the area. He has learned the importance of community and character. The curriculum is traditional but incorporates current research into how the brain learns and I can say for sure that it works. The current Head of School will retire but the administration and faculty overall are solid and we know our younger children will also graduate from Saint James' ready to take on the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

The current Head of School of St. James has announced his retirement as of the end of next school year. Our family is so grateful for his time at the school. Under his guidance, academic standards have remained high, but he has brought 21st century teaching methods that are based on solid research to the school. More importantly, no one can doubt his commitment to the spiritual values and mission of the school. Compassion, respect, tolerance and service have all been held up by Mr. Bowers as daily guidling principles. The community has been fortunate to have had an educator of his experience, and he will be missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

We have been sending our oldest child here for the last two years, and have been extremely happy with his progress and all the wonderful teachers and atmosphere. We love the school and can't wait until our next children get in... it is the perfect place that we had hoped to find!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

We relocated to Los Angeles almost four years ago from the east coast with our now 7-year-old daughter. After raising two boys, now both college graduates from top universities, we knew what we wanted in a school for our daughter- one that is academically challenging, including the arts, culturally diverse and is a true community that offers spiritual guidance as well. Our search for the right school was extremely challenging in Los Angeles; however we were committed and are so pleased we found St James School!!! SJS meets and often exceeds our expectations! Our daughter is very happy at SJS and so are we! Way to go SJS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

St. James' School is a most remarkable place. The diversity--racial, ethnic and socio-economic--is absolutely real. The academics are first rate. Their graduates matriculate to the finest schools in Los Angeles including Marlborough, Harvard Westlake, Pasadena Poly and more. But St. James' eduates the children in so many other ways. They truly do nurture the mind and the spirit. The religious component is totally appropriate--not too heavy handed. The emphasis is on respect for one another and an appreciation for the many differences that make each person unique. There has not been turnover among the teachers. Instead, the school has added several assistant teachers to helpout in the classrooms. This school is a real gem!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 28% 11%
Black 15% 6%
Hispanic 10% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Sewing/knitting club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Deborah David
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student Leadership Council
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$14000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Marlborough
Campbell Hall
Harvard Westlake
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

625 S St Andrews Pl
Los Angeles, CA 90005
Website: Click here
Phone: (213) 382-2315

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Camino Nuevo Academy #2
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT