Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Buckley School, The

Private | K-12 | 805 students

We are best known for 4-Fold Plan of Education.

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $561,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, July 6, 2014

Buckley is an excellent school. Lucky to have such a stellar and well-rounded education for our son, Max. The teachers and administration are phenomenal. Parents are very involved and down-to-earth/hard-working people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

My son is in 1st grade and loves it. The community has been nothing but warm and welcoming. We're so glad we choose this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Buckley is promoted as a school that provides higher education and an accepting a close-knit community. The education is truly challenging and rigorous in the best way possible. As for the social environment at Buckley, it's the complete opposite. Most students are very money centered and will judge you if you're not up to date with the latest fashion, technology, etc. Students are very snotty when it comes down to where you live,what car you drive,what technology you own,and it's a very difficult situation for the few kids who receive on financial aid. Even teachers assume everybody comes from wealth. One of the teachers i had made fun of where i live(they did not know i lived there, again because they assumed nobody who can "afford" Buckley would live in that location). The diversity at Buckley is WEAK it's mostly white people and if you're not, then you're singled out. I would not recommend Buckley, the social separation based on ethnicity, socio economic status, and overall-appearance ruins this school of what otherwise could have been an amazing learning environment.


Posted October 3, 2013

This school is better equipped to teach children in a modern world than anything I have ever seen. Stunning facility, makes me jealous I wasn t given such a range of tools and environment to really stimulate my interest. My daughter loves it, even though she has to work very hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

This is one of the best schools in Los Angeles. The negative comments must have been written by helicopter parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

My child will be starting middle school at Buckley in a few weeks and can't wait. Frankly, I am just as excited. Everyone on the staff has been so friendly and helpful, it would be impossible to call them all out by name in the remaining space. The admissions staff is TOP NOTCH! And the Principal of the Middle School couldn't be nicer. We will be meeting other families in our grade soon, because one very lovely parent has invited all the new kids to come 'hang-out' with the returning students. And I heard from another mom, I know through soccer that we are entering a grade full of wonderful families and a really terrific unified grade group. What a wonderful welcome to a new school and a great way to start the year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Buckley used to be a great school, but something has gone very wrong. The faculty and administration think the school exists for them and not for the students. If you have a concern or a complaint regarding a teacher, you dare not voice it, because if you do, the teachers circle the wagons, and suddenly you'll find that your child has "problems." The lower school is especially horrible. They don't honor individuality, and if your child doesn't conform, you're going to get a call. I received a call from one of the pe coaches to tell me that my kindergarten child had taken too long at the water fountain! Then there was the day that I was told there was something wrong with my kid because she got out of line to chase a butterfly! They actually rated my kid's ability to dribble a basketball and graded her on her pitch in music class... in kindergarten! The dance teacher mocked my daughter for spinning in circles during dance class (again in kindergarten). My kid is now an honor student in 10th grade at one of the best high schools in West LA. Run from this place! And the parents are the stuff satire is made of. It's all about show.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

College was a walk in the park for my daughter after her 14 years at Buckley . She attended beginners and pre k all the way through 12 th. Loving and caring teachers she still keeps in touch with and visits when she's in town from college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

I highly recommend this school! The teachers and the curriculum are amazing. My child gets so upset if he's sick and has to miss a day of school. The Singapore math method is so great for the children and the school is constantly training the teachers on new teaching methods. The teachers go above and beyond for each child. I do wish the cost wasn't so high, but I do feel like we are getting what we pay for. The new buildings are incredible! The robotics department is a must see. A great school in every way, involved loving parents and wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

I did extensive research before choosing a school, including tours and interviews with parents and students of all the top rated schools in LA. All the schools preach similar stories, but Buckley actually walks the talk. There is an emphasis on academics, but also personal responsibility and self-reliance. The parents are down to earth and the children are kind with a strong sense of community. The staff is enthusiastic and positive and my children can t wait to get to school each day. The campus is beautiful located off the smog beaten trail in a lovely canyon surrounded by trees. I can t say enough great things about it, but do the research yourself and you will see. Good luck with your decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

This school provides a top notch education and is a feeder to the best universities in the country: Harvard, Yale, Berkeley, Stanford, etc. The small student body size allows each student to be given special attention from their teachers and advisors. Yes, the students tend to come from rich families; however the admin is working on diversifying their student body from different socio economic backgrounds through their financial aid program.


Posted March 15, 2012

The Buckley School is an amazing learning environment for me. Im currently a freshman in high school and i absolutely love it. There is not as much bulllying and social split due to income as many people have reviewed, and as a freshman, there is much less of the "get the freshmen!" as i thought there would be, although i would think that happens in other schools, but idk. ive been lucky enough to have been at buckley since kindergarden and plan to stay there until i graduate. I do not choose to leave because it would be hard to fit in somewhere else but because i really think that buckley is well rounded in terms of arts, education, and athletics. Im no jock, im not stupid, but i fit in just right everywhere at school with a couple honors classes, and a spot on a junior varsity team. I also noticed at a couple of away games, the other kids at schools like campbell hall nd viewpoint r pretty rude. Also, Aside from a few, most of the "rich" people at this school are pretty down to earth in terms of their "showboating",and it doesnt hurt the image of the school to see like 8-10 range rovers in the parking lot :)


Posted February 16, 2012

This school does have rather good academics. Most of the children are nice. However, they do tend to judge you based on how much money you have. Many of the kids brag about being lifers. Good friends are hard to come by there, but there are some.


Posted September 4, 2011

These kids are spoiled brats, and the more rich and celebrity-ized they are, the more popularity and leeway they gain. I was the only kid without a pool (haha) and it added even more to my unpopularity because I was a very quiet kid. Not very quiet anymore, and now I go to Van Nuys Middle School, which is the polar opposite. This place is pretty clique-y, too. Newcomers beware.


Posted November 11, 2010

this school has its flaws, for example, the students arent the nicest (SOME of them.) there are some REALLY nice people there tho. the teachers can get annoying, but thats ok. whats really amzing about this school is the performing arts program. their plays are JUST like broadway's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

You really must see the campus and speak with students and teachers to see how amazing Buckley really is. It's a difficult school to get into, but a little known entry point into the middle school is the sixth grade. The sixth grade program is a wonderful transitional year that blends elements of a lower school and a middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

My oldest graduated two years ago and so far has found college to be a walk in the park compared to buckley.I'm so happy as a parent that it prepared her so well.Lots of her friends that went to public school {great ones like bh and laces} had lots to catch up on once they got to college they just were not prepared.I didnt find the money thing to be a problem we have a small house no pool and my daughter had friends in all social-economic groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

This school is horrible. I have gone here for over 7 years and my experience has been rather awful. There are only a few nice teachers and the rest of them, along with the board, seek to get everybody in trouble for everything they possibly can. For example, giving a student 4 hours of detention for having a pen streak of pink on their shoes. It is absurd and a horrible upbringing for a child. I have to say, the school's downfall really kicked in during my high-school experience. In addition, the students form many cliques and they are all very fake. They really don't take kindly to new-comers. In other words, if you are not a 'lifer' you will have a lot of trouble making friends. Everybody smokes weed and drinks in high school, and I mean everybody.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2010

People bullied my mom and I. The kids made fun of my house because it is small. All of my friends said, after I left, that I was wierd and that Buckley was better without me. Please listen to me, world. I was the only kid without a big house or a pool to swim in. Kids would say that they would invite me to their birthday parties days before, but they would never call. When I splattered paint on my CA mission model to make it look authentic, the kids would laugh and say, 'It looks like a slaughter house.' I was hurt. Buckley is a bad place for nerds like me. You have to be rich and have fancy stuff for kids to like you there...


Posted March 15, 2010

When I went to Buckley, I was bullied so bad that I had to go to therapy. Kids would call me a tattletale, even when they bullied me directly. I don't like Buckley. The Country School on Laurel Canyon Blvd. is much better.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 26%
Two or more races 24% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 11%
Black 5% 6%
Hispanic 2% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation USC
UCLA
NYU
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Elizabeth Turchan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (818) 461-6714

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
USC
UCLA
NYU
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 Stansbury Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 91423
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 783-1610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Francis De Sales
Los Angeles, CA



Wise School
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT