Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
41 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Good Shepherd Lutheran 5

Posted June 25, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is entering her second year in Good Shepherd's CDC- Child Development Center and the teachers and staff are extremely caring and involved. They are re-enforcing manners and appreciation in the little ones at such an age where it really takes effect. The kids attend chapel on Wednesdays and learn a new bible verse each month providing a good balance amongst academics and outdoor play/social time. All this at an affordable tuition with before and after day care. I definitely recommend!

Good Shepherd Lutheran 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter is in high school now and thriving. We are convinced that her years at Good Shepherd (4th - 6th grades) are the main reason she turned out so well. There is a night and day difference between this school and the public schools in the Eagle Rock-Pasadena-Highland Park area. Small classes, a loving environment, and great teachers. Isn't this what all parents want for their kids?


Good Shepherd Lutheran
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Thanks to Ms. Frizzell, a 5th and 6th grade teacher. She became a role model, mentor and inspiration to our daughter.

Good Shepherd Lutheran
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Teachers show respect to students, and students are taught to return that respect to teachers and to each other

Good Shepherd Lutheran
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
The staff is handpicked for their caring approach to teaching. They become mentors to their students.


Good Shepherd Lutheran 3

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
OVERALL Speaking to the Pre-K experience, we've found it to be a diverse environment with a mix of play & basic academic learning. Little ones can enroll at 2 years, 9 months, and must be potty trained. We had an OK experience here. It is somewhat bare bones though, so if your child has any special needs, you may want to look elsewhere. SCHEDULE/COSTS The PreK/Child Development Center option offers part-time or full-time days, with care extending 7a-6p. The full-time costs $600/month. Hot lunches are optional at $3.50/meal, with $5 fund-raiser meals for school programs mixed in. OTHER STUFF There are bonus programs offered, such as soccer, Being Davinci, and 4-H at additional cost. Annual events like the Harvest Festival & celebrations around the holidays give families a chance to participate and enrich their kids' experience at the school. The school is associated with Good Shepherd Lutheran Church on the campus. Even if you're not Christian, the monthly family services are a nice chance for building community & for students to gain public speaking/performance experience.

Good Shepherd Lutheran 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter is now in 8th grade at Eagle Rock High. Looking back, she views the elementary school years she spent at Good Shepherd as the most formative of her life. She forged deep bonds with students and teachers which continue to the present time. And Good Shepherd gave our daughter academic and character advantages which keep her on top of her middle school classes. Taking our daughter out of a LAUSD public school and placing her at Good Shepherd was the right decision. For a middle class family like our, $4,000 tuition for a quality private school was a miracle..... Mark S.

Good Shepherd Lutheran 4

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has attended Good Shepherd Lutheran School for 3 years. She has had an exceptional experience. The teachers are top-notch and students thrive in the caring and nuturing environment provided. Parent participation is promoted and encouraged. The tuition and extended care fees are very reasonable. They also offer a summer camp program with a variety of fun activities for the children and the option of being able to attend weekly or on an 'as-needed' basis.


Good Shepherd Lutheran 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in 10th grade honors classes. She graduated from 6th Grade at Good Shepherd. My son is in 4th grade at Good Shepherd. He reads at high school level. I believe students' high achievements come not only from parents but a great school with caring adults around them who teach with God on their side. This school is located in a section of Highland Park and is small enough to be called "a family." Because of its size I love to think my kids have had "private tutoring" throughout their time at Good Shepherd.

Good Shepherd Lutheran 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely LOVE this school. Both my sons attended , and they loved the school. We are signing up our third child to attend starting in the fall. The teachers are incredibly lovely and patient. I love that religion is embedded into their day. They have discussions about being good to one another, learn Bible verses (including the "Our Father" in pre-school... 3 years old and he memorized the verse). Everyone is sweet and loving.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Good Shepherd Lutheran
6338 North Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA  90042
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (323) 255-2786
Last modified Good Shepherd Lutheran is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Top