Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Le Lycee Francais De Los Angeles

Private | 2-8 | 441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $497,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2008

My kids are going to this school for 3 years now and I saw the difference from over schools. The School Community Forum allows exchange with the Administration and proposal for new directions, activities, etc... the communication between teachers/admins and parents is straight and is not oriented rich always okay, poor doesn't matter!!! Activities are numerous and always attractive to students often blocked by conflicting schedules...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

All of our children study at this school, the oldest is finishing high school. We'd have to say as parents that this school has been great for our children. Our kids only have between 8 to 15 students per class. That means real one-to-one learning with their teachers who can spend more time becoming intimate with their students needs. With regards to academic rigor, what can we say, it's very good traditional schooling. Students finish high school here thinking the SATs are some sort of joke and that machine-read multiple choice tests are cheating. Not bad for kids learning every major subject in another language! This is an educational and cultural experience. The schools weak areas are the sporting activities/facilities. We can live with that as there's only one thing that really separates man from monkey and that's knowledge and intelligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This school has been great for my son & daughter. My son is fluent in French. My daughter younger is not fluent yet, but can converse in French. I believe she will also be fluent. Education has been great for them. If you are looking for a good bi-lingual education then this school is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My daughter has been at the school for 2 and 1/2 years, education has been great for her both on the english side and the french side and it's great to see her balancing between the two languages easily, it's strong acadamic school and there's room for improvment for arts and open expression..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

Our child has been attending the Lycee for the past 3 1/2 years and we have grown throughly disappointed. The administration is rude and very discouraging of parental involvement. The teachers have no congruent system of discipline or methods of actually helping children that may need extra assistance with their work. Your child would be better off in an extra curricular foreign language program. The education here is sub par in all subjects excluding French.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

My daughter attended this school for many years. This year we pulled her out and she is now attending a good public school. We are finding out that after so much money and efforts from all of us, she is barely at grade level in English, Math and Sciences. Math is taught following the French curriculum which is different from the American curriculum, English is very poor, as for Sciences, it is a disaster. The children in this school are not tought basic skills for success within the American system, this is a major problem . Your child would be much better of in an American school with some language after school program . I would not blame the instructors who do what they can but the total lack of leadership and care from the principle. Be aware,the education at the Lycee is counter productive, a lost of time and money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I'm delighted my child is bilingual due to his participation in the French immersion program for many years, but he had to be tutored in French and do outside work in Math to keep up with American grade levels. Most subjects outside of French are weak, including English, and there isn't enough homework. Over the years, there have been far too many 'free' days when a teacher was absent or it was raining and the kids just watched movies. The academic atmosphere is not rigorous, except for the French, and subjects are taught 'lecture style' without much interaction with the kids - it's a very old-school approach. My biggest disappointment has been science, which is made completely boring with no science lab to speak of or experimentation. American History is a joke, completely expendable. This is a very specialized school focused on the French language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

The staff and students seem miserable, sports activities are minimal. Arrogance and phoniness flow throughout the school. Run, don't walk from the Lycee Francais de Los Angeles. The original philosophy has dissapeared along with any ounce of care for your child's individual development. They use a 25 year old video of Jody Foster promoting their school which is the complete antithesis of the Lycee Francais today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

Lack of care that we have experienced from the principal down to the staff shocked us. The staff and students seem miserable, sports activities are minimal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2006

the teachers pressure students to excell. A rare few teachers ( 2 or 3) are very bright,excellent teachers that actually motivate the children. THe school atmosphere at first is great, but the classes get smaller and smaller every year and the same children have been attending since kindergarten. Discipline is great but at this point it is jsut ridiculous.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2006

Terrible school. I went for 11 years and it never brought me anything but pain and horror. The children are pure evil and the parents aren't too far behind. The staff is a joke, and the programs offered are minimal. Say 'no' to the lycee.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 18, 2006

I have been attending Lycee for the past 10 years,and I can highly say it's almost average. Its Sports and extracurricular activity program is poor. Some Teachers are great and try to work with the students,and most couldn't careless. The administration is unresponsive. One thing postive I can say about the school is: it has a very good atmosphere. Overall, barely average.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 26, 2006

The quality of the school has suffered greatly after the passing of the school's founders. The level of teaching and presence of qualified instructors are questionable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

This school wants little robots. if your child thinks out of the box, this is not the right school. I encourage individuality and creative expression in my child. This school does not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

The school is too concerned with making money off the parents. They favor celebrity kids over regular students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

This school wasn't a good experience.Took my daughter out right away. Yes, it's cute.. they speak French, but there is more to a great school than speaking French. Horrible sports program.You don't get what you pay for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

Academic programs are ok. The system is very elementary, it's the french system. You don't get to go from class to class like most schools. This school is directed mostly towards those who are french or plan on living in france. It's also very safe.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 14, 2006

French, music, and art classes are great. There tends to be limitations on the sciences, math, and English courses, as there is a fixed schedule, and not many options to choose from
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 9, 2006

I have been going to this school for almost 3 years and its great
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2005

My kids are going to this school for 3 years. There is no school that is perfect. This school is far from perfect, but I like it. It has a very secure feeling. The kids know each other. The staff knows you. The teachers are okay/good, and there is not much homework. Don't get me wrong, there is homework, but the kids know what the homework is about, at least they dont expect me to be a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 26%
Two or more races 16% 3%
Black 7% 6%
Hispanic 5% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Josette Cole
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ECIS

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Diving
  • Fencing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3261 Overland Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90034
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 836-3464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Vista
Los Angeles, CA


Palms Elementary School
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT