Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood School

Private | K-12 | 996 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,077,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Starts them out easy in K and ratchets it up slowly so they can handle college with ease. Pleasantly nurturing in the younger grades and a lot of power networking potential for parents. The children get a well rounded education and stand ready to take their place among the Los Angeles elite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Brentwood, under the leadership of Dr. Mike Riera, [GREATSCHOOLS.ORG needs to update their profile information!!! Dr. Pratt has not been at the school for several years],is a wonderful, but rigorous academic environment for students. Their mission statement: "Start curious, stay curious, go anywhere" has served to re-focus this already excellent school into something that is even better than it was. The teachers are excellent, almost uniformly, the administrative staff is responsive and nurturing. The school is very active in community service, while maintaining a very rigorous academic program. What is also very compelling is that they are open to parent input and suggestions, as well as input from the student body. This is a great school, but is NOT for kids who aren't prepared to work hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Dishonest, abusive, and mean spirted. Brentwood only cares for its reputation, not the well being of the children.


Posted May 26, 2012

Brentwood School is the perfect combination of academics, arts, and athletics. I currently attend the Brentwood Middle Division and love it! The teachers are superb and the community itself is so supportive. I feel like I am part of one big family at Brentwood School. Brentwood School has challenging academic programs, and has an AMAZING head of school. I feel very fortunate to attend a school that has and will keep giving me such a great education and learning experience.


Posted January 23, 2011

Although Brentwood socially seems a bit unilateral, there is something here for every type of student. Academically, Brentwood drives students to live up to their full potential. I have seen my child progress from Kindergarten all the way to Senior year and although it has had it's ups and downs, he is more than ready to attend some of the top universities in the country. It has especially good relations with the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Southern California. Brentwood mostly excels in its superior writing department. My son has been learning and developing his skills since the day he entered and even with the same time and dedication to practice on my own, I could never reach the level that he has. Other strong departments are foreign languages and the social sciences, but even lab science courses are fairly strong as well. In the upper division, which I believe is the gem of the entire school, my son has only dealt with 2 poor teachers out of over 30. No school is perfect, but in the context of reality, Brentwood is one of the best at least in the Los Angeles area but in my opinion on a larger scale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2010

There's a certain brand of student they like to have here and it's tough if your child is not this type. There's not much tolerance for students that don't sit still and quietly attend to their work. This is difficult for most children, hence many kids wind up in the principal's office for non-sensical offenses. If you have a kid who is agreeable and silent and does what everybody tells them, this school could be great for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2010

I am a student at Brentwood, and this place has showed me what learning is about. I enjoy going to school every day, and I really believe that there is something special about it. The teachers there don't just teach you facts, and problems, but they teach you a way to learn.


Posted May 3, 2010

I have seen progras in my child life acadamically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

i love brentwood because it is a place to have fun while learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This school provides a combination of challenging academics and an amazingly friendly environment, many additional activities like sports, theater and much much more, in my opinion one of the top schools in all America
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2010

I currently attend the Brentwood Middle Division. My first year at Brentwood has been absolutely spectacular. Brentwood provides a blend or challenging academics and entertaining/fun/enjoyable extra curricular activities, such as sports and theater, and much more. Brentwood School is not only a school, it is a rather close community something i cannot say for many other schools. I see Brentwood as a big family which welcomes you with open arms every morning. It would be an excellent choice of school for anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2009

Perfect blend of top level, challenging academics in a warm and nurturing environment. They pull it off at all divisions (lower, middle, and upper).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Best attention and preparation of students. Committed, engaging and demonstrates vision
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

I am currently a junior at Brentwood. I have been at Brentwood since kindergarten and I am so grateful to have had such an amazing school experience. The teachers at the lower are fun, energetic, and enthusiastic about teaching. The middle school is just as wonderful as the lower school. The teachers once again are wonderful and supportive. Entering high school is a big step. Freshman and sophomore year are not bad if you work hard and stay on top of assignments, but junior year is a completely different story. I am always working very late and constantly stressed. But don't let that scare you. Eventually it will be all worth it! Brentwood is an extraordinary place and I'm very lucky to be a part of the close-knit community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2007

Brentwood was everything we were looking for in a school. Our daughter started in seventh grade and received close attention and support from teachers and classmates. Actually, it was beyond 'support,' it was inspiration. Brentwood was the polar opposite of the typical large public high school. Academics were valued over athletics (although the school has a fine athletic program). There were no abusive cliques tormenting other students. You would never have a 'Columbine' at Brentwood. The capstone was the outstanding college counseling program. Kudos to Brentwood! Two caveats. 1. This would be a difficult school for an average or sub-average student. The curriculum is very challenging and better than most colleges in the upper grades. 2. If you are counting on high level involvement in parent support activities, you should have a large checkbook available. If you don't have one, there are still lots of supporting roles available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2006

My child entered the lower school 3 years ago. The curriculum is challenging. The kids, teachers and staff are awesome. We feel blessed as a family to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

Lower school is excellent. Good teachers, small class sizes, and innovative learning techniques. The music teacher is an absolute gem and lots of choice when it comes to sports. I highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

High level academics. Great exposure to the arts, community responsibility and involvement. Although they desire diversity it is not a highly diverse student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

The Upper Level (9-12) is very academic and demanding. Brentwood prepares the child for graduating from college, not just getting accepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

Great Summer program. Highly recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 8% 11%
Hispanic 8% 52%
Black 7% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Rick Torkelson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 South Barrington Place
Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone: (310) 476-9633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Martin Of Tours
Los Angeles, CA




Brentwood Science School
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT