Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brentwood School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Starts them out easy in K and ratchets it up slowly so they can handle college with ease. Pleasantly nurturing in the younger grades and a lot of power networking potential for parents. The children get a well rounded education and stand ready to take their place among the Los Angeles elite.

Brentwood School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Brentwood, under the leadership of Dr. Mike Riera, [GREATSCHOOLS.ORG needs to update their profile information!!! Dr. Pratt has not been at the school for several years],is a wonderful, but rigorous academic environment for students. Their mission statement: "Start curious, stay curious, go anywhere" has served to re-focus this already excellent school into something that is even better than it was. The teachers are excellent, almost uniformly, the administrative staff is responsive and nurturing. The school is very active in community service, while maintaining a very rigorous academic program. What is also very compelling is that they are open to parent input and suggestions, as well as input from the student body. This is a great school, but is NOT for kids who aren't prepared to work hard.


Brentwood School 1

Posted September 30, 2013
- a community member
Dishonest, abusive, and mean spirted. Brentwood only cares for its reputation, not the well being of the children.

Brentwood School 5

Posted May 26, 2012
- a community member
Brentwood School is the perfect combination of academics, arts, and athletics. I currently attend the Brentwood Middle Division and love it! The teachers are superb and the community itself is so supportive. I feel like I am part of one big family at Brentwood School. Brentwood School has challenging academic programs, and has an AMAZING head of school. I feel very fortunate to attend a school that has and will keep giving me such a great education and learning experience.

Brentwood School 5

Posted January 23, 2011
- a parent
Although Brentwood socially seems a bit unilateral, there is something here for every type of student. Academically, Brentwood drives students to live up to their full potential. I have seen my child progress from Kindergarten all the way to Senior year and although it has had it's ups and downs, he is more than ready to attend some of the top universities in the country. It has especially good relations with the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Southern California. Brentwood mostly excels in its superior writing department. My son has been learning and developing his skills since the day he entered and even with the same time and dedication to practice on my own, I could never reach the level that he has. Other strong departments are foreign languages and the social sciences, but even lab science courses are fairly strong as well. In the upper division, which I believe is the gem of the entire school, my son has only dealt with 2 poor teachers out of over 30. No school is perfect, but in the context of reality, Brentwood is one of the best at least in the Los Angeles area but in my opinion on a larger scale.


Brentwood School 2

Posted December 19, 2010
- a parent
There's a certain brand of student they like to have here and it's tough if your child is not this type. There's not much tolerance for students that don't sit still and quietly attend to their work. This is difficult for most children, hence many kids wind up in the principal's office for non-sensical offenses. If you have a kid who is agreeable and silent and does what everybody tells them, this school could be great for you.

Brentwood School 5

Posted July 04, 2010
- a community member
I am a student at Brentwood, and this place has showed me what learning is about. I enjoy going to school every day, and I really believe that there is something special about it. The teachers there don't just teach you facts, and problems, but they teach you a way to learn.

Brentwood School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
I have seen progras in my child life acadamically.


Brentwood School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
i love brentwood because it is a place to have fun while learning.

Brentwood School 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a student
This school provides a combination of challenging academics and an amazingly friendly environment, many additional activities like sports, theater and much much more, in my opinion one of the top schools in all America

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brentwood School
100 South Barrington Place, Los Angeles, CA  90049
(310) 476-9633
Last modified Brentwood School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Brentwood School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top