Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 75
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Venice Lutheran School 3

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
Favoritism was not hidden from the non-glory children (parents who worked there/were very involved), those kids never were touched and got away with murder. While I made a couple of amazing friends here, I do regret staying through graduation. VLS changed math programs so it is "go at your own pace" which left me (as well as others who did not shine brightly in math) beginning high school without even completing pre-algebra. Luckily my current math teachers have caught me up and I am now a straight-A math student. Cell phone policies were ridiculous. Mine fell out of my pocket AFTER school and was kept overnight. Very irritating and inconvenient. The plays/performances put on were a joke, so don't listen to their spiel about how they have all different activities, because they don't. I enjoyed meeting 2 of my best friends here; however, if you want your child to be in a closed-minded very sheltered environment, this is it. I wish things would've been more diverse for the 8 years I spent there

Venice Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
teachers teach all the subjects; not different teachers for each one. I'm not sure what each teacher had their degree in but I don't think it was for the subjects they taught


Venice Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
too much in a sense it was busywork every night. Didn't take much away going into HS

Venice Lutheran School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
Nothing but amazing things to say about our experience at VLS. The teachers and staff make the school. Its a caring enviroment that allows children to prosper.

Venice Lutheran School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Best school my kid has attended - and we've tried a few from Santa Monica to Manhattan beach! Thank you VLS for a great first class education!!!


Venice Lutheran School 5

Posted June 01, 2014
- a parent
My 2 kids have been going to First Lutheran since Kindergarten. They are now in 5th and 6th grades. As a parent you always wonder if you are doing the right thing with the kids. As a Yale Graduate and product of the Manhattan Beach school district I will say that this is the best thing I have ever done for my little guys. The other schools in town are okay but quite frankly way overpopulated and most of the the teachers who can never be fired at the public schools are just there for the paycheck...total b team. There are about ten kids a grade a FLV and have an incredible soccer culture. If you are not in the school band you are in the school play...etc etc...think going to school in a very small town in America. If you freak out about religion or homework then dont send your kid there as they teach religion and you will have homework every night. Funny thing is that one of my kids is a believer and the other is on the fence...ha. Bottom line...great school ...amazing families...and the kids are always doing something fun and learning values instead of rap.

Venice Lutheran School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
Change is hard for many people. Our principle is retiring after 30 years of dedicated service to this wonderful school and our board of Education has decided not to renew our 5th/6th grade teacher contract for next year. Naturally, some people are upset about these changes. Though the 5th/6th grade teacher was loved by many, there have also been complaints about her teaching methods. My child has been at this school since Kindergarten, is currently in 7th grade and we are very happy here. We personally love that teacher and are not happy that she isn't coming back but that's not our decision to make and I trust our board of Ed to find a good replacement. I've also met the new principle and I believe she will be a perfect fit. This is an excellent school with top notch curriculum, a caring, loving staff, and very involved parents. Take the time to visit and talk to parents and staff members and you'll see for yourself. Gossip is not the best way to find a school for your child.

Venice Lutheran School 1

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
Before considering this school ask the following questions: How many families have left in the past few years and why? Why is the principal leaving? Was this his choice? Are the teachers accredited? Is the school accredited? With the dramatic declining enrollment what is the likelihood the school will be able to remain open. Ask to speak to members of this school's board of education to get the real answers.


Venice Lutheran School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Our child, who was one of those "leg holding / I don't want to go to school kids at first", loves Venice Lutheran, and is growing intellectually, emotionally and spiritually each day. I can't recommend a better school for anyone looking for a christian / family centered school for their child.

Venice Lutheran School 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
Moving from Europe to the US was a big step. But deciding for a school for our daughter was maybe even more difficult. We visited a couple of scholls but no school felt so friendly, safe and in a way familiar than Venice Lutheran. The way they teach and guide at VLS is with a real personal approach . the small sizes of the classes helps with that ofcourse but the teachers at VLS are super involved and take so much care in teaching the kids. Our daughter is currently in 8th grade and it will be an emotional farewell....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Venice Lutheran School
815 Venice Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90291
(310) 823-9367
Last modified Venice Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Venice Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top