Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pilgrim School

Private | K-12 | 313 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $378,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, July 22, 2014

My children just love going to school! They have fun and learn so much every single day. The teachers are very caring and nurturing. A very elite school in the heart of Los Angeles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

Best school ever. I go there and it is amazing. I would recommend it to your children


Posted June 19, 2012

Having a business person manage a school has put Pilgrim on the map as this national trend continues. Pilgrim has very well qualified educators who have continued the tradition of a 100% college admission to some of the finest colleges and universities in our country . One of the main tasks of a head of a private school is to raise money as tuition does not cover the cost. In addition, facilities have improved, computer and smart boards and a new fine arts facility. To that end, we have been extremely grateful for the vision of the board and head of school. We have especially appreciated the parent community which has been accepting to all the diversity of families .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

Weak administration focused solely on fundraising and less about the issues affecting the school, parents, kids that could be fixed with just a bit of care. Look closely and beyond the gorgeous trappings of the playground and art studio. Zero transparency on credentials or educational background of teachers. I don't know how I'll feel when my child graduates from class this year, but I expect it will be lots of pride and ! relief ! Almost there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2011

Great community atmosphere! Children are happy, work hard and get into great colleges! What else can you ask for as a parent? The school needs to do what it needs to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2011

Because I give the school 2 stars not none I will start with what is good about Pilgrim. Playground is great for elementary kids, art teacher is amazing, music program okay, better than public school for extras, gym class fun and old fashioned and kids love it. But why not 5 stars? Well, we did not really know what the fundraising comments meant until we became a Pilgrim family. It seems to be the primary focus of a Head of School its not really a good one considering how little operating capital is brings in based on annual report which you can find online. What you won't find online are the qualifications and experience of the top administrators. When considering this school look close. It may or may not be right for you. Its a very privatey school where people can have a one on one with teachers etc, but small also means cliquish and this is a culture that comes from the top down. Also, the remarks about bullying policy are spot on. If your child is in a tiny class (not a lot of friend choices) and does not fit in, where can they turn for new friends? Question retention and test scores if considering Pilgrim as well the experience and qualifications of those in charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

Child has gone there for 2 years. Verdict still out. He had a great teacher this year, and excelled. She was amazing. I mean truly amazing. Last year not so great. Moderate price, and they are always asking for more. Before the first day of school, they held a fundraiser the night before, and pretty much guilt you into giving more before it even starts. I think that fundraising is 1st concern. Not to impressed with how they handle bullying. Next year will decide for us if we continue on. 50/50
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Yes, the education our son has received is superb combined with the atmosphere of small classes with individual attention. Fundraising has given Pilgrim new science labs, smart boards, computers for the students and a recently new fine arts center. Students are trained in the arts at no additional costs. Tracking where these students are accepted to college is unparalleled in the private LA school sector.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

I thank God every day that we left when our year was up. There are major problems at this school. I agree with the parents that state all the principal is interested in is fundraising. My previous review entitled 'Save your money' was removed from the Great Schools website and this concerns me if parents are supposed to write their true feelings?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

I went to this school for most of middle school and for a year of junior high. In terms of academics, I would rate this school above average, for the most part. I felt that the math and science programs were lacking. The teachers were fantastic; they were truly all around good people. The students however, lacked morals. I have never been in such a callous environment, and because of that I had to leave and go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2010

Pilgrim is a wonderful school. In our 3 years here we have found it to be an academically rigorous and challenging school where all children are essentially pushed to work at least one year above grade level. Best of all about Pilgrim is the overall diverse environment that fosters a love of learning-- This is created by the faculty and fantastic head of school, the mostly sane but very committed and parental community, and a focus on the students that eschews much of the social parental b.s. that comes along with many independent schools in Los Angeles. Like many elite but small schools, involvement and fundraising are important, but as a school with one of the more reasonable tuition in the city, this is a small price to pay. Furthermore, the school's 30 hours per family per school year volunteer requirement helps to insure that parents stay
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

I was a Pilgrim student for one year and can honestly say that at least 70% of the time I spent there was a real nightmare. I was made to feel like I was just another number or just another face in the crowd and this school's 'get in where you fit in' mentality is the antithesis of what a Christian school's educational aims should be. I can only say that my experience at Pilgrim was a very unpleasant one and I honestly can not recommend this school at all.


Posted August 25, 2009

We're new to the school. Our daughter is entering the seventh grade. an ordinary non ordinary school. They walk their talk. They have all types of students-from Burbank, Beverly HIlls, 120th street, and downtown. They get their kids into decent colleges. I did my due diligence talking to everyone I could find. I found the teachers involved and excellent. The only rap on it is that the classes are small but that can cut both ways. We didn't want to go to Marlborough or Harvard Westlake. I tried to fit the child to the school. We're very happy so far. I felt people direct, friendly and involved. Once more into the breach, dear friends-Henry V.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

I was a former student at Pilgrim School from Preschool - 10th grade. I have quite fond memories of the school throughout my time there. Now, I look back at it and find some things foundational and others lacking. As a Christian parochial school - I now find it hard to believe that this school emphasized so much 'evolution' and so little emphasis on 'creationism.' There was biblical teaching in chapel and that's exactly where it stopped. The only teacher I ever remember instilling true joy in me was Ms. Mesa. Many of the parents out there are looking for a school that will instill good 'morals' well that's not going to happen if biblical teaching is not in the classroom and the curriculum. I see Pilgrim's promotion of 'diversity' not only going along the lines of diverse ethnicities, but also a tote for pluralism.


Posted October 18, 2008

Pilgrim is a phenomenal school. It is our son's second year at Pilgrim, and he is thriving. There is no other private school in Los Angeles that can provide a child with so much at such a reasonable tuition. The West side schools in Los Angeles are trying to emulate Pilgrim - to no avail as they do not have the rich diversity that exists within Pilgrim community. Pilgrim is the perfect school if you are looking for a community of like-minded parents who want a first-class education for their children while exposing them to the rich ethnic diversity of Los Angeles. Great faculty. Great staff. Great parent community. Great school. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Our son is entering Kindergarten after two years of preschool there and I can't describe how happy we are with the school, his teacher, and the other families. The sense of community is real and our original plan was for public school but now have decided to stay at Pilgrim. Its the BEST private school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

Our child is going on his 3rd year at Pilgrim. After the parent orientation last week, I am confident that our child is in the proper school which will have him prepared for college. I just was informed that 6 graduates of the 2007 class were accepted into Ivy League schools. The program is challenging to the students and parents as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

It is really sad when the focus of a school becomes money as opposed to educating children. Many real issues that should not be present in an independent school are simply overlooked while the Head of School schmoozes various foundations and parents. I have found Pilgrim to be a shiny box that is empty. Many 'assurances' went unfulfilled and the policies stated in the handbook are not followed. Although we had hoped for this to be our home for many years, in the best interest of our child, our relationship with Pilgrim is over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

We agree this school is unacceptable. Pilgrim needs a head of school, not a CFO. The student body resembles a public school. The cost of tuition far exceeds the quality of the education given. If you can pay, you can stay, regardless of behavior issues, i.e. bullying. We had hope to make Pilgrim our home for many years to come, but due to safety issues, low academic standards and the constant begging for money, we took our child out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

We are a new addition to the Pilgrim family and we love it! The academic curriculum and faculty are excellent. The focuses on literature, foreign language, science, music, technology and sports are all very impressive. This is a school that truly understands the importance of both a fine-tuned mind and body. The physical campus is terrific and provides well for the needs of all grade levels. The student body is more diverse than any of the MANY private schools we considered. We are especially pleased with the future-oriented administration that has a clear vision and plan for the school. The administration and staff are friendly,follow through on their promises and actually listen and respond to the feedback and suggestions of parents. A testament to the fabulousness of the school is the fact that our daughter never felt like a new student because she was embraced so warmly from the very beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 11%
Black 19% 6%
Two or more races 16% 3%
Hispanic 8% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Teresa McDugald
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Other
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (213) 386-7264

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

540 South Commonwealth Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90020
Website: Click here
Phone: (213) 385-7351

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Equitas Academy Charter
Los Angeles, CA



New Covenant Academy
Los Angeles, CA


New Covenant Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Precious Blood
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT