Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Country School, The

Private | K-8 | 130 students

Igniting Minds and Inspiring Lives
 
 

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $445,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,430.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, July 23, 2014

This is a fantastic school both socially and academically. We couldn't have made a better choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

This is far from the happiest on earth. This school will show your children a delusional view of the world.The staff will 99% of the time make a mountain out of a molehill. The head of school, Holly is nothing more than a bully to her staff who are made to " report every little thing to here in a e-mail instead of just dealing with it them self's. Its diversity is "ONLY" in the kids not the staff. So if you can not relate to the kids how can you teach them?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

Move over Disney, TCS is the happiest place on earth!. This is our fourth year and our daughter is absolutely thriving. With two teachers in each classroom, each one has the time to really get to know each child and the best part is the way the students care for each other. This is an authentic place where children can learn in an environment that is warm and nurturing. There is no other school quite like the Country School. If you're looking for a safe and welcoming place for your child get a fabulous education and make friends that will last a lifetime, this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

TCS is such an amazing place. This is our 9th year at the school. They have taken my children from pre-school to middle. The academics are cutting edge. Subjects are taught in such a way that my kids retain the knowledge - they don't just memorize facts for a test. The school is very nurturing. They have a zero tolerance for bullying of any kind. On the playground you will see a 3rd grader playing with a 5th grader or a 1st grader playing with a 4th grader. It's like one big family. I wish the world was all like TCS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

From what I have witnessed so far I would never send my child there.Kids are not treated equally and fayrly.


Posted August 1, 2013

Wow! I love it! My daughter has been asking ALL SUMMER when she gets to go back to school! I love her teachers, the sweet small campus and close knit parent community. Happy after 5 years here - I wish it went through High School! I just read that parent comment and all I want to say is that every school does its very best to raise money. Oh well, I am sure they will find a school that suits THE PARENT'S needs rather than evaluate a school on the CHILD'S needs. I have not experienced arrogance - ever. The Country School has always felt like a haven in the middle of a huge city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

I was not impressed by this school. The staff were not welcoming and I wasn't sold on the curriculum. I did not get the impression that the students were pushed enough and the environment, as a whole, was way too 'lax. I recommend that the staff care less about the $ and not behave in an arrogant manner as they have no reason for feeling entitled or special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

TCS is the best kept secret in the Valley. Low student-teacher ratios thanks to two teachers in each classroom means children get the individual attention they need and get extra attention when needed and are challenged to exceed beyond their grade level if they are advanced. This school completely understands each student and ensures they get a tailored education as well as a solid foundation to be kind and compassionate. We wish they went through high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

Incredible, sweet, nurturing, high academic standards but with the structure and support for my child to succeed. We just transitioned into the middle school and WOW! We have been guided every step of the way! Our child has been treated with kindness and respect and LOVES the teachers!!! The Country School is a HAVEN for kids to hold onto their childhood just a little longer in a diverse, caring, compassionate environment where their voices are HEARD! As a parent, I have learned so much, my questions have been answered thoroughly and the teachers and staff all have been like family. Our family couldn't be happier. Our only wish is that The Country School went through High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

I have be at The Country School for 3 years now and it has been God sent. I have two children that are doing very well academically and socially. The teachers and staff are amazing. The new head of school is taking the school to another level of excellence. I have never seen so many parents involved in a private school. Highly recommend The Country School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

I don't recommend this school!!!! Teachers are unqualified and are not interested in the well being of the students!! their interest lies in the parents money!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

We are in love with The Country School. Our children joined last year and the are each so happy and thriving. They never want to leave the campus and bemoan holidays and days off! This is a very special place where students get a well-rounded education and learn to be truly good human beings who care about others and the world we live in. We're blessed to have our children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

We're entering our 4th year at TCS and overall, the experience has been phenomenal. Diversity that's unparalleled at any other independent school aside, my children are getting a solid education and they are learning about life and how to grow into thoughtful, compassionate and kind human beings. I almost always hear that my children and their peers at TCS are so kind, well-behaved and sweet compared to other kids their age -- typically from other parents who are used to interactions with elementary-aged children from other schools. I think the characters that are being nurtured at TCS are a testament to the staff and community. Academically, I've also been thrilled. My children are flourishing at TCS. My 1st grader was challenged (thanks to small classes and individualized attention) and was reading at a 4th grade level and accomplishing division in math by the end of the last school year. My 3rd grader received some of the highest scores (7s, 8s and a couple of 9s) on the standardized ERB tests. Incredible. TCS combines values with solid academics. I'm thrilled to be a part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

We began out first year at TCS after taking out child from LAUSD. The Kinder program is awesome. I love Letty and Reggie. They give your child an sense of independence, they embrace each child with a parenting spirit, but also while teaching them the right choices to make on a daily. The other teachers are also kind and ready to take your child to the next level. I am blessed to have the opportunity to be a part of the TCS experience. And no your kids never want to leave. There is just a style and a way that they do it. And they do it well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

I have three children at TCS. We ve been there since 2004, and feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to experience the preschool, the elementary, and the middle school. TCS has a big heart. TCS provides strong academics, following the California State Standards, yet also offers progressive, experiential learning, with individual attention to each student. Preschool and elementary school have 2 very supportive, credentialed teachers per classroom. Fantastic middle school teachers keep students engaged. If I had any doubts in my mind at all about the academics, they were completely alleviated when my children scored in the top percentiles on their ERB tests. TCS is green, teaches ethical behavior, integrity, tolerance, & community service. TCS s anti-bullying program is used as a model at other schools. TCS prides itself on ethnic, economic, social, and religious diversity. We have a fabulous principal, great art, music, theater, and tech teachers, 2 great coaches, & a new blacktop with exciting home games. My children love TCS. In fact, it s hard to get them to leave after school s dismissed. What does it mean when you can t get your kid s to leave school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

Our family has been at The Country School for three years now -- and when I say our family, I mean that in addition to the well-rounded education my sons are getting, the school provides a strong support-system and community for parents. Parent involvement and 'giving' isn't pushed at The Country School. Parents are involved because we love the environment that is solidly guiding our children through their young years. Between the fantastic team teaching approach -- the teachers are second to none -- and the teacher to student ratio is phenomenal. The only thing I'd like to see improve is the sports area; other than that, TCS is an incredible school. I'm glad we've found it among all the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The Country School is a gem in our big city. If you're looking for an educational environment that nurtures while teaching, then TCS is for you. The teachers, coaches, administration -- everyone -- truly operates on what is best for each individual student. They bring a personalization that I doubt can be found elsewhere while also maintaining a wonderful overall environment. Sure, the school isn't lush with rolling meadows and fountains. The value is in the teachers and the staff. I'll take that any day over an Olympic-sized pool and lavish foliage...as would the other families at TCS which makes it a unique school that combines education, strong values and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Because the kids are happy, feel loved and are learning so much they don't even realize it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

I've been a parent at The Country School for 13 years and I can honestly say we do not have any drugs on our campus. The school has been a fantastic transition for my older kids and my youngest is delighted and thrives academically. The community as a whole is wonderful and I can't say enough about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

I have two children at The Country School, and I have a spent a lot of time on its campus talking to teachers, other parents, and students. The contention that there is a lot of drug use at TCS is laughable. If anything, the students are refreshingly innocent about such matters. And TCS does regular anti-drug education for grades 5-8. I also disagree with the claim that the school is lacking in academic terms. I have found the learning to be especially stimulating for my children, with more hands on activities, writing instruction and emphasis on critical thinking skills than I could hope for. They put two fully qualified teachers in every elementary classroom with groups of 20 or so students. I don't know of any other school, public or private, that devotes so much of its resources to classroom instruction. TCS is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 26%
Black 15% 6%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Holly Novick
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (818) 752-1554

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The Country School helps children develop a strong sense of self through creative self-expressions, social interaction and learning experiences appropriate to each individual child. An emphasis is placed upon the strong interpersonal relationships between teachers and students. Our school is a community in which the participation of students, teachers, administrators and parents is supported and acknowledged as a vital dimension of the learning process.
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5243 Laurel Canyon Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 91607
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 769-2473

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Beth Hillel Day School
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT