Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
180 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Country School, The 5

Posted March 19, 2016
- a community member
A wonderful place with a true focus on nurturing creativity and intellectual curiosity. The no homework policy creates a much greater focus on teaching IN the classroom.

Country School, The 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
This school is our second home. I have seen my children blossom into caring, thoughtful and confident individuals. We feel lucky that we get to go home and enjoy our children with the no homework policy. There is nothing missing in their education and they get to come home and be children.


Country School, The
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
In the higher grades, we were able to adjust the amount of homework our son receives that was right for his abilities.

Country School, The
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
They adopt a philosophy of "Emotional IQ"— which teaches kids to be good citizens of the world, and also work hard on conflict resolution techniques with the kids.

Country School, The 5

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
We've been here since Kindergarten and am so glad we made our son's educational journey here. Very small class size enables the teachers to develop a plan that addresses your child's strengths and weaknesses. Loved our teachers throughout, and Principal Holly is a wonderful resource to have on hand--she really knows our son and has helped guide his path through the years. The students are truly a diverse group of kids, and the school fosters a atmosphere of acceptance and individuality. There's not a lot of bells and whistles here, but for individualized academic attention and a nurturing environment, you can't ask for better.


Country School, The 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
I am so thankful that we found TCS and only wish we had started our child here earlier. As with any place it is not "perfect", but the academics are very good, my child is allowed to be curious and creative and the heart of TCS is impossible to overlook. The teachers truly love these kids and do everything in their power to help them thrive. There could certainly be some improvements in some of the operational aspects, but I far prefer a happy, well educated, well loved child to a well oiled machine.

Country School, The 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
I would not recommend this school. It is a dysfunctional place, run by an inexperienced head of school, and no principal. Some good teachers, but too much dysfunction, and kids with behavor issues. Do yourself, and your children a favor, and find a professionally run school for them to attend.

Country School, The 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
TCS doesn't get enough credit for its outstanding academics and overall academic rigor. This school has been incredible for my child and is truly more than we ever could have hoped for. My child is absolutely thriving!


Country School, The 4

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
We love TCS! Our child transferred here after attending one of the so-called 'best' public schools in LAUSD for several years. He was miserable there, so we transferred out and our kid is finally THRIVING! Creative, caring, and compassionate teachers who inspire not only academically, but also emotionally. And NO HOMEWORK! This is huge, as anyone who has endured the ridiculous piles of homework week after week from LAUSD schools will tell you. My kid was buried under mountains of busy work at our LAUSD school, yet learning nothing. At TCS he is not only thriving, but getting a top-quality progressive education that challenges him on an individual level, according to his own abilities. For example, he is working 2 grade levels above in math, and right on grade level in language arts. Having teaching teams of 2 in every classroom makes this possible. He is never bored, always inspired, and leaps and bounds ahead of his friends back at his old school. No school is without problems, and some people will search until they find something wrong any where. But we couldn't be more pleased with TCS, including the awesome campus. leadership, community, and, especially, the teachers.

Country School, The 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
We have been at The Country School since 2008. It is by far the best decision that my husband and I have made as a parents. My children are more than just learning they are LOVED and that was extremely important to us. The teachers are the best part of the school. Many of them have been there for over a decade and their children were students there as well. If you want an amazing experience for your children, The Country School is the place for you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Country School, The
5243 Laurel Canyon Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  91607
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (818) 769-2473
Last modified Country School, The is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top