Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Country School, The
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
In the higher grades, we were able to adjust the amount of homework our son receives that was right for his abilities.

Country School, The
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
They adopt a philosophy of "Emotional IQ"— which teaches kids to be good citizens of the world, and also work hard on conflict resolution techniques with the kids.


Country School, The 5

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
We've been here since Kindergarten and am so glad we made our son's educational journey here. Very small class size enables the teachers to develop a plan that addresses your child's strengths and weaknesses. Loved our teachers throughout, and Principal Holly is a wonderful resource to have on hand--she really knows our son and has helped guide his path through the years. The students are truly a diverse group of kids, and the school fosters a atmosphere of acceptance and individuality. There's not a lot of bells and whistles here, but for individualized academic attention and a nurturing environment, you can't ask for better.

Country School, The 5

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
I am so thankful that we found TCS and only wish we had started our child here earlier. As with any place it is not "perfect", but the academics are very good, my child is allowed to be curious and creative and the heart of TCS is impossible to overlook. The teachers truly love these kids and do everything in their power to help them thrive. There could certainly be some improvements in some of the operational aspects, but I far prefer a happy, well educated, well loved child to a well oiled machine.

Country School, The 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
I would not recommend this school. It is a dysfunctional place, run by an inexperienced head of school, and no principal. Some good teachers, but too much dysfunction, and kids with behavor issues. Do yourself, and your children a favor, and find a professionally run school for them to attend.


Country School, The 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
TCS doesn't get enough credit for its outstanding academics and overall academic rigor. This school has been incredible for my child and is truly more than we ever could have hoped for. My child is absolutely thriving!

Country School, The 4

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
We love TCS! Our child transferred here after attending one of the so-called 'best' public schools in LAUSD for several years. He was miserable there, so we transferred out and our kid is finally THRIVING! Creative, caring, and compassionate teachers who inspire not only academically, but also emotionally. And NO HOMEWORK! This is huge, as anyone who has endured the ridiculous piles of homework week after week from LAUSD schools will tell you. My kid was buried under mountains of busy work at our LAUSD school, yet learning nothing. At TCS he is not only thriving, but getting a top-quality progressive education that challenges him on an individual level, according to his own abilities. For example, he is working 2 grade levels above in math, and right on grade level in language arts. Having teaching teams of 2 in every classroom makes this possible. He is never bored, always inspired, and leaps and bounds ahead of his friends back at his old school. No school is without problems, and some people will search until they find something wrong any where. But we couldn't be more pleased with TCS, including the awesome campus. leadership, community, and, especially, the teachers.

Country School, The 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
We have been at The Country School since 2008. It is by far the best decision that my husband and I have made as a parents. My children are more than just learning they are LOVED and that was extremely important to us. The teachers are the best part of the school. Many of them have been there for over a decade and their children were students there as well. If you want an amazing experience for your children, The Country School is the place for you.


Country School, The 2

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
This is far from the happiest on earth. This school will show your children a delusional view of the world.The staff will 99% of the time make a mountain out of a molehill. The head of school, Holly is nothing more than a bully to her staff who are made to " report every little thing to here in a e-mail instead of just dealing with it them self's. Its diversity is "ONLY" in the kids not the staff. So if you can not relate to the kids how can you teach them?
2 people found this helpful

Country School, The 5

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
Move over Disney, TCS is the happiest place on earth!. This is our fourth year and our daughter is absolutely thriving. With two teachers in each classroom, each one has the time to really get to know each child and the best part is the way the students care for each other. This is an authentic place where children can learn in an environment that is warm and nurturing. There is no other school quite like the Country School. If you're looking for a safe and welcoming place for your child get a fabulous education and make friends that will last a lifetime, this is it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Country School, The
5243 Laurel Canyon Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  91607
(818) 769-2473
Last modified Country School, The is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Country School, The Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top