Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Granada Hills Baptist School

Private | K-6 | 103 students

We are best known for family atmosphere.

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $359,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2011

We have found Granada Hills Baptist School to be like a second family for our children. The teachers truly care about and know each child. The academics are challenging and we feel our kids are getting a great education. We love the diversity and the welcoming feeling we get on campus. The families are friendly and helpful and many are involved and volunteer. Just the fact that you are able to volunteer on campus is a big plus in our book. We find the Principal to be a devoted, hands-on leader who is approachable and in touch with everything that goes on. If you want a great school, Granada Hills Baptist is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

Love the teachers. Obvisously Christian, but questioning why they would have an angry woman as principal. No love there. I put my kids in a Christian school because I want Jesus to be their main focus, but the principal doesn't seem to get that. Academics are so-so. I would highly recomment Hillcrest. Not as much parent involvement but that can also be a good thing. No parents standing around gossipping about how mean the principal is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

I am a proud father of 3 wonderfully grounded children that attend Granada Hills Baptist School. My wife and I have been involed with the school for 5 complete years and we could not be more pleased with the academic, spiritual, and social skills our children have achieved while attending classes. Because of the small class size and individual attention given to the children my kids confidence levels have soared. The staff from the principal, teachers, volunteers, and active parents demontates to me a true unity that would be hard to duplicate in a larger school. I highly recommend GHB.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

Being a single father with the responsibility of choosing the right school for my child is very difficult; Not until I found this GREAT school!!! I find the teachers to be very well qualified along with the staff that make up this wonderful school a great place for my child. The principle of this school is one of a kind, she manages the school very well in safety, academics, Bible and extracurricular activities. This school also has programs for the family too; for example they have a Men's prayer program along with others that parents are always welcome to join...and because of that this school will continue to SHINE and not fall off the rock the Christ has founded this school on!! This is my child's 3rd year and will continue and finish elementary school years with the Wolves of GHBS!! -Sincerely Proud Parent=)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

All of my three kids attend; we are going on our sixth year. It has the major qualities my family looks for in a Chritian school, challenging academics, extracurricular activities, top-notch Bible teachings, well qualified teachers, and high parental involvement. We feel that it's a well-balanced school. A great and safe place for children to grow. My kids are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

My experience has been completely different from the previous post. We just finished another great year and have had many excellent teachers in the 5 years we've been here. I find the parents to be friendly and the staff to be genuinely devoted to their students' development. Any concerns I've had along the way have been dealt with promptly and with positive results from both staff and administration. I see Christian values being demonstrated as well as taught. I would take such extreme reviews, such as the previous post, with a grain of salt. N. Wright
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

Terribly dissatisfied with staff and administration. Principal DOES NOT practice Christian values no matter what she may spout. Staff morale down in the dumps. School and church have issues ( because school board consists mainly of church members) that have spilled over into programs at school causing widespread confusion and discomfort. Only came across one good teacher - the rest need to go back to school AND church. School not accredited. Looks good from the outside but absolutely no evidence of Christian values on the inside. Very sad. Won't last long. Find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

My daughter attended GHBS for kindergarten and we absolutely LOVED it! She will be entering 1st grade this year and we are looking forward to it. The academics are top-notch, especially the A Beka reading program. The teachers and principal really care about the children and make every effort to assist them in their growth and development. I would highly recommend this school if you are interested in a solid academic education within a caring Christian environment. Character development is also a priority at GHBS and for that, I'm thankful. C.R.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Both my kids attended this school they do have some great teacher's but the principal can be very rude at times and she should think befor speaking, also if you need a bootcamp type of school I totally recommend this school very very strict to strict but the education is good and I liked the christian teaching, also all parents here are very snobish sorry but you dont even get a good mourning out of them as you walk bye sad!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I have 2 children at GHBS and they love their school. It feels like a small-town family; the teachers know all of the students and the parents can be as involved as they choose to be. The academics, character, and Bible teaching are top-notch. There may not be a 'perfect' school, but this one comes pretty close, in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

My 3rd grade son has done very well since Kindergarten, as a result of some great teachersso far. The Academic and Christian teaching has been excellent. I hope 4th grade and up can live up to the previous year's teachers. Principal and School leadership is a little bit stuffy and old fashioned, could use some modern flavor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

I found this school to have some great teachers and some not so great.The principal was very nice. I found the parents to be a little standoff ish and very hard to get to know.Most of the children had been together since kindergarden and it was difficult for my child to fit in, we stayed for a year and then left feeling mildly uncomfortable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

A fantastic school. They go so far beyond education and into the development of the child and family it is phenominal.They truly care about the child over and beyond what is paid for or expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

safety and discipline not a priority here. some great ones, but many unprofessional staff members. not able to meet need for challenge of gifted children. we are much happier in nearby public school sas program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

My son has attended for 2 years now, i am extremely pleased with this school! the right combination of academics, character education, and arts/music. Many after school programs to choose from. My son says he loves school, and he is appropriately challenged so he doesn't lose interest. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 26%
Hispanic 16% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 11%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Elayne Vanasse
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (818) 360-0175

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Little Shepherd Learning Center

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Los Angeles Baptist Middle School/High School
Nobel Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10949 Zelzah Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 91344
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 360-2104

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Iqra Elementary School
Los Angeles, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT