Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 530

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marlborough 5

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
Marlborough is arguably the best all-girl school in the country. There is a reason it has the 6th highest average SAT score in the nation, and so many of it's graduates continue on to the finest universities in the world. This school is challenging, and those girls that aren't self-motivated to do well won't; nor do they belong at the school. Marlborough's teachers and administration, led by Barbara Wagner, are incredibly supportive of their girls. They want the girls to succeed, whatever a girl's interests may be, and they will do everything in their power to help them do so. This school is NOT for students who do not take their own education seriously. Those that are unhappy because they didn't get in or felt it was too hard were not Marlborough material to begin with, and need to get over themselves. There are plenty of fine, yet academically lighter weight schools in LA to choose from.

Marlborough 3

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter made it through this experience, but as a former parent told us at the beginning "there will be many tears". If your daughter is extremely motivated and competitive this may be a great place for her. But I have spoken to more parents about this feeling from the girls that were not in the top 25% that they felt stupid. Which is a shame. They were bright enough to get in, they are not stupid! The teacher quality was not as high as I expected. Some were great and some were down right mean and under qualified. For that much money I expected the best of the best. My daughter is well qualified for college and doing well, but what a road to get there. The head of school is a bit of a robot. Wonderful to listen to but she has created a culture where the faculty can do no wrong and parents are judged by their bank accounts. Which clearly led to their current problems. Any issue we experienced were our child's fault/problem and the school had no interest in changing things to provide a unique crafted expereince. The school is a machine. Maybe now they will see the light and change for the better.
3 people found this helpful


Marlborough 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
There are four words to describe this amazing school - you cannot do better. To send a daughter to Marlborough is to give them a life long gift. And the school has the 6th highest SAT scores in the country which says it all.
2 people found this helpful

Marlborough 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a community member
One of these reviewers is targeting the head of administrations directly. I happen to know her and she is amazing her daughter was selected to go there, but not because of her moms position. I also know her daughter. She is a brilliant girl and does more community service then humanly possible. It is disgusting that some one would be so mean to either of them.
1 person found this helpful

Marlborough 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
I too have a daughter at Marlborough and, like the previous posters, and so thankful she attends this fine school. She too began in 9th grade but had an awkward transition coming from a public institution. The administration went out of its way not only to keep her on track academically but help her get her social footing. 3 years later, she is a poised, self confident young woman who is ready to save the world! Dr. Wagner is amazing as is everyone who works there. We could not have asked for a better educational experience. And to those young women who did not get in, take this lesson from Marlborough; challenge yourself academically, be civic minded, treat others with respect, and, most of all, believe in yourself - you will succeed.
2 people found this helpful


Marlborough 5

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
My daughter just entered Marlborough at the 7th Grade after attending a less academic West LA private school since kindergarten. Our daughter is very academic and is very self motivated. She made the decison to attend Marborough (as she was accepted to all four private schools she applied to). Marlborough is very challenging (there is a big difference from her prior school). However, our daughter thrives on the challenge. The fellow students, teachers and administrators have been nothing but very warm and friendly. The extracurricular opportunities are amazing. Our daughter is having the time of her life and enjoys every moment. I take her to the school bus everyday early in the morning. Despite the early start, our daughter is always excited and looks forward to go to school every day. From a parent's perspective, Marlborough is all you could hope for in a school for your daughter. Barbara and her staff should be commended for leading an incredible academic environment for teenage girls. As parents, we have found the parents to be friendly and welsoming as well.

Marlborough 5

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school for girls. Barbara Wagner provides strong, intelligent and compassionate leadership. The teachers are very engaging and encouraging. The community nurtures the academic, social, and emotional development of the girls. We couldn't wish for more for our daughter.

Marlborough 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
I love that the heady, snobby, and bitter reviews are written by mothers that didn't even have a daughter attending Marlborough. My daughter just graduated from Marlborough. She began in 9th grade and was given quite a bit of financial aide so she could attend. I am a school teacher and we have a very modest income. The teachers, faculty, and staff go out of their way to make every girl feel welcome. My daughter blossomed academically and creatively at Marlborough because of the opportunity to work so closely with her teachers. Marlborough has great diversity both racially and socioeconomically. My daughter earned every grade and award she received. She made lifelong friendships and learned amazing lessons. They can't take every girl. It doesn't mean that each girl that applies is not a great kid. Mothers need to stop taking it so personally. It is one of the best schools in the country, and it was a wonderful blessing to be a part of it.
2 people found this helpful


Marlborough 5

Posted August 10, 2012
- a community member
My sister was the one 8th grader to be accepted into marlborough. she went to all the events and immediatly made friends. everyone who says that its not a good school or rated it a 2 is a jealous prson whos never been to such a wonderful school before. plz ppl, dont get jelly cuz sum1 else got accepted nd ur daughter dint.

Marlborough 5

Posted December 20, 2011
- a community member
Best High School in Los Angeles. Girls get accepted to the best colleges and universities in the nation.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marlborough
250 South Rossmore Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90004
(323) 935-1147
Last modified Marlborough is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Marlborough Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top