Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Green Gables

Private | PK-5 | 75 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $282,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2013

Our preschooler loved this school until he graduated. We feel so lucky to have found Greene Gables, it is truly a special school. The teachers really devote themselves to each student, and care about their progress academically and emotionally. We recommend GG to all our friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

My son went to Greene Gables from preschool until he graduated and we feel blessed. I'm writing this so that others can experience the amazing personalized, family environment that the Director, Sandy Smith and the teachers provide. Other school's managment continually changes, but not Greene Gables...Ms. Smith has been with the school for over 30 years and brings years of experience in the educational curriculum as well as a loving and caring atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

My daughter came here for preschool and comes every summer for camp. Her little sister now comes for preschool and loves it. The teachers and staff are wonderful. one of the best schools in the valley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

The Teachers are great. There is a lower amount of enrolled children at the school. I really like the school shows that they have the children participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

School has had a decrease in enrollment and as such the academics and after school activities have suffered this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Acedemics are real behind compared to public schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2004

This school is fantastic! My daughter started going to this school at the age of three and she has learned so much. The class room environment is very friendly and the ratio is wonderful. The classes are small and your child or children get the chance to learn at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

Great school! Very strong curriculum. Parents involved in homework to reinforce the learning (uhlike other schools that I was visiting). Affordable tuition, nice and friendly teachers. School has 'open basis' policy (to appointment is necessary to visit). Good playground, large classes (size of class). 12 student/teacher ratio. School has dance, art, music classes. They control learning process by tests (even for Pre-k). Parent also involved in some other school activities (easter party, cristmass party, graduation party, etc.) Hot meal program available. Friendly policy. I like this school. Really!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

This is an exceptional school. The teachers give a lot of attention to each student and the yard supervisors are attentive and dedicated to the safety and welfare of each child. The teachers make it a point to know each student personally and try to know each parent the same. This is a small school with a big heart for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 26%
Hispanic 21% 52%
Black 9% 6%
Two or more races 9% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Sandy Smith
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8217 Winnetka Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 91306
Phone: (818) 341-6821

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Kidsville Usa
Los Angeles, CA


East Valley Academy
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT