Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Normandie Christian Of Los Angeles

Private | K-6 | 51 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $190,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

Normandie Christian School has an exceptional staff and curriculum. The students learn in a safe and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Normandie staff have helped my 3 adopted children by understanding their different needs according to their several abilities. At times my children had difficult times in adjusting and getting along with thie peers and teachers but have a principal Mrs. Willson who was willing and able to work with them and not ignore them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

As a 'young' 26 year old parent, I was scared to death when it came time to enroll my daughter into kindergarten. I didnt know if I could trust anyone other than my mother to take complete care of my daughter until I met the wonderful staff and my daughter's exceptional teacher. My daughter has excelled beyond my expectation and I have definetly recommended NCS to anyone I come in contact with :-)! Marisha, JaSonae's mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

As a former student of Normandie Christian School, I can attest that the academics are top notch. But the greatest benefit to me, was the spiritual growth and development. To this day, I love going back to my elementary school to visit the teachers that had such a profound effect on my development. I highly recommend NCS to any child that wants to excel academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

Being an alumni and parent I can say with confidence that the schools cirriculum gives the children evrything they need to know at their grade level and more. ALso, in my 10 years of being at Normandie Christian School the prinicpal has never shown anything but professionalism. It is an excellent school and I highly recomend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

Initially, I thought that Normandie Christian School was a great place; however I have since discovered otherwise. The curriculum is not comparable to other schools, and the principal lacks professionalism. I would think twice before putting my child in Normandie Christian School, especially if you want them to be able to perform at other schools and at the level of their peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

Normandie has a great teaching staff. The principal and staff completly care about your children. There are also quite a bit of extracurricular activities for the children. It keeps them well rounded and very spiritual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2004

The teachers are dedicated professionals who believe that all children can learn. Small class sizes enhance the teaching and learning environment. The school emphasizes positive character development traits. Extracurricular activities include music, dance, and sports. Traditional calendar allow for consisitent instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

I have been a Normandie Christian School (NCS) parent for seven years. I am always telling others of the school and its excellence. The curriculum is challenging, and the children are encouraged to excel beyond what they think they are capable of. The Principal, Mrs. Wilson is very accessible and professional. Mrs. Quick is the best. Overall the staff is very professional and caring. I love that the classes are small, and the teachers love to teach and are not above discipline and correction. This is a very parent involved school, and it shows in the behavior of the children. I highly recommend NCS. It is truly a best kept secret that needs to be told.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

I have had two children, a grandson,a nephew and a host of friends to graduate from Normandie Christian School. My daughter was one of the first graduates 1973. I like the school because not only does it address the education needs but also the spiritual needs. I like the way the school staff is so caring for the children. I like everything about the school. The staff know all the children by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

Let me start by saying choosing a school for your child can be extremely difficult, just finding a school that can provide most of your child needs can be challenging. But I was able to find Normandie Christian School and it has provided my child with a quality education, structured discipline for the past 5 years. I am a extremely proud parent to have a child attending Normandie and just being apart of such a great Christian atompshere. Cynthia D.Simington
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

Normandie Christian School has provided my children with a quality education by caring teachers. The class sizes are small and each student receives individual attention. All the teachers help each other out with discipline problems, as well as educational materials and teaching techniques. I am proud to have one graduate of NCS and another soon to be a graduate. Evelyn Long
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 6%
Hispanic 3% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Teresa Wilson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NCSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6306 South Normandie Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90044
Phone: (323) 752-3122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

God's Hand Academy
Los Angeles, CA





Citizen Learning Academy
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT