Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
62 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Play Mountain Place
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
There is a high teacher to student ratio, and for good reason with how the teachers facilitate and mediate interactions.

Play Mountain Place
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
These kids work (play) hard all day, by navigating problems and more. Some will pick up workbooks and choose homework for themselves. However the school is very clear that homework is not issued.


Play Mountain Place
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
This school develops critical thinking, creativity, and curiosity. Any person bearing those three traits can and will get through obstacles thrown their way.

Play Mountain Place
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
This school develops a strong sense of respect seeing others as equals. Which also enhances their personal well being by having healthy self esteem. Some adults may find that being seen as an equal a threat to their age status but that is a problem of self esteem that these kids will not suffer from.

Play Mountain Place
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
It certainly does, as that is at the core of the humanistic philosophy. The kids learn how to empathize with peers and be able to work through problems on their own.


Play Mountain Place
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
The kids work though the problems, they have with others, under a teacher who acts as a mediator to make sure kids are kept safe and heard throughout the interaction. This is acted out through empathy, dialogue, and overall a respectful mindfulness so there is no shame nor blame.

Play Mountain Place 5

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
This school is amazing and focuses on experiential or "play based" learning. Kids learn how to problem solve, and enjoy learning by enabling their individual curiosity to flourish, rather than learning in a traditional "one size fits all" dynamic. My daughter has truly grown an incredible knowledge of natural science, biology, physics, and mathematics and she's in the equivalent of first grade. At the annual School Bazar the Mountain Yard (Elementary) kids delve into entrepreneurship by conceptualizing an idea for a booth, developing a product or monetization concept and then they earn actual income with the school taking a percentage as a booth rental fee, that goes towards fundraising for scholarships! This is first hand math skills combined with money management skills and much more. I'm highly impressed and amazed by my daughter's total development. Its no wonder why many of the parents are psychologists, free thinkers, and even traditional and private school teachers themselves!

Play Mountain Place
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
I have never seen any homework from this school. As a result, is behind academically compared to other children her age.


Play Mountain Place 2

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
This school is indeed only suitable for a limited group of families. Though I appreciate the school's diversity and inherent focus on interaction with other children, I have not seen such positive interactions with adults or people outside the school. Furthermore, my child is struggling with basic writing, reading, and math. When asked about her day, she replies that she spends it playing and believes that teachers are there to just watch her and not help her learn new things.

Play Mountain Place 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Daughter is 3 and has been there 2m. I was not sure of the play based nature, wanting a little more academic rigor. Having looked into the philosophy and thought about what I want for my child I have come to love the idea. I want my daughter to love learning and be capable of organizing learning for herself. This way she will be well served her whole life. Many good things to say: -High teacher student ratio. 1:2 to 1:3 -Mostly outside under trees. Kids move around -Autonomy, responsibility and control for the children within boundaries -Academics are problem solving rather than ABC -Navigating relationships and conflict resolution are important -The staff are lovely, caring, highly attentive and always present -Community is great -LOT of diversity I asked a lot of different people how students go after leaving the school. The reports I've been getting satisfy me that the students are not left lacking after they leave the school. In many cases they out perform the existing children at their new schools! The parenting course is awesome. I learned a lot and in fact I apply it more to my adult relationships and business than I do to my child! This school is not for everyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Play Mountain Place
6063 Hargis Street, Los Angeles, CA  90034
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (323) 870-4381
Last modified Play Mountain Place is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Top