Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
209 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valley School-Individual Train 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Very strong academics without an overload of homework. There are only 13 kids in my daughters class so her teacher can provide individual attention as needed. I believe this school is one of the best secrets in the valley given the reasonable price, community atmosphere and accessible administration.

Valley School-Individual Train
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
This school encourages fairness and equality to different races. Teaches children to excel. Teachers are very good in enforcing respect to other people at a very young age.


Valley School-Individual Train 5

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are great they really put a lot of effort in teaching kids. The class is small enough to have the teacher focus on the academic development of each child. I noticed that kids who studied here are academically excellent. They are also very helpful and flexible to parents/parents wihen there is conflict with the schedule.

Valley School-Individual Train 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
We have been very happy at Valley School. Our son needed a structured environment like this one, and so far he is thriving here (he is in TK). His teacher, Mrs. Popowich, is outstanding. She is firm, but also warm, and really looks out for the kids individually. She's been working with us on our son's issues, and he is doing things academically that we thought he was many months away from accomplishing. We have also loved the Principal, Mr. Haddad, and his summer camp preschool teacher, Miss Kathy -- really everyone we've encountered there has been lovely. And while they take schoolwork and behavior seriously, there's a nice non-alarmist vibe that has been very refreshing and welcome to us.

Valley School-Individual Train 2

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
This is a very mediocre private school. Save your money, it is not worth the tuition.


Valley School-Individual Train 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful place! The academics are superb, the principal amazing and the families are wonderful! I know my child is surrounded by wonderful teachers who care and other children who come from good families and this matters a lot. There are many after school enrichment classes and many events and activities to take part in. This is our oasis in Van Nuys!

Valley School-Individual Train 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
We are so happy at Valley once again! Our children are flourishing as usual. There is no better feeling when your children run out of your car every morning, looking forward to their day. My daughter and son are challenged daily. There are even more enrichment classes this year including a new drama program which makes us so happy! The school keeps getting better and better!

Valley School-Individual Train 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
Amazing school. The curriculum by far surpasses other schools. The level of education this school provides is off the charts. The kids are a grade level ahead of everyone else. I couldn't imagine going to another school. Best choice made to move schools. VERY family oriented. Everyone is so down to earth, and friendly. All schools should be like this. Small classes, P.E. everyday, Art, Music, Computers, Spanish, Drama, etc.. The parent involvement is wonderful. A+++++


Valley School-Individual Train 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
Hidden gem in the valley. Excellent academics, great teachers, nice kids. Offer spanish already at the elementary school level, art,PE and computers. Lots of afterschool enrichment options. Small class size. Warm and nurturing environment. Newly renovated gymnasium and pool. Graduates get accepted to prestigious high schools. The principal (Mr. Haddad) is extremely involved and caring. Wonderful school. We are excited to be part of the Valley school community!

Valley School-Individual Train 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at Valley. One going into TK and one going into 3rd. I am thrilled with the education they are both receiving. My daughter was in a summer program at another private school in the area where she was moved to 4th/5th grade math and science because she was so far ahead of the others in her 3rd grade class. My 4 year old son was barely speaking in Sept. and is now able to speak complete sentences, do very simple math, write letters, numbers and his name. The school is a very close community with really wonderful people who care a lot about their children's education. There are tons of opportunities to get involved and while there are many fundraisers, there is no pressure to take part. People give what they can. I am very active in the PTA and all the parents involved are amazing and really make a difference with their efforts. Mr. Haddad is truly an amazing principal & person who is warm and welcoming. He cares about each and every child and you feel that immediately. The gym floor was redone and the pool resurfaced this year and I know that there are plans to redo the library and computer center. It is truly a wonderful place to have your children!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley School-Individual Train
15700 Sherman Way, Los Angeles, CA  91406
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (818) 786-4720
Last modified Valley School-Individual Train is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top