Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Westland School, The 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
Westland is amazing. The school has far exceeded our expectations. Our kids are thriving emotionally, socially, and academically. In four years, they've never wanted to stay home from school once. Westland challenges them and nurtures them at the same time. Our only complaint is that we didn't get to receive a Westland education!

Westland School, The 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Westland provides my children with a fantastic education as well as a supportive community where all the teachers and students know them by name. The opportunities the kids have to work as a team with their classmates have been invaluable in terms of their abilities to problem-solve. Westland is a nurturing school and it makes learning so interesting that my children dread the day that they will graduate!


Westland School, The 5

Posted July 16, 2011
- a parent
This school is a haven of sanity in the insane, status driven culture of Los Angeles. It is a place where kids can grow and learn in a safe, nurturing environment. The sense of community is extraordinary and stays with you for a lifetime. Kids go on from here to every great middle school in the city, and then matriculate to colleges like Stanford, Columbia, Bard, NYU, Brown, all the UC schools. It's a special place.

Westland School, The 5

Posted March 21, 2010
- a parent
Our son is not only learning well academically, but also blossoming socially at Westland. Every school day he is excited and happy to go there. The school is a loving community where minds are taught well and little souls can grow.

Westland School, The
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
A very special school - parent participation and caring teachers - a progressive education . . the best!


Westland School, The 5

Posted April 03, 2009
- a parent
Westland is a special community which provides a safe, rich and developmental education. My children have gone on to college prepatory high schools and I believe are more prepared to take on the challenges of their next phase of education because of their experiences at Westland.

Westland School, The 5

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
If you're wondering where to apply next year the Westland School is an exciting choice. The academic program is active and experiential, with a keen awareness for the children's different learning styles. They are encouraged to explore, discover and ask questions which ultimately leads to a great love of learning. Children actively participate in the work of the group, problem solving and sharing ideas, thus becoming aware of their influence and responsibility not only to each other and the school community but to the outside world as well. Children who graduate from this school are articulate, self-motivated thinkers, well prepared to lead and achieve once they leave Westland. An extremely dedicated parent body also means not only will your children feel part of a nurturing community, but you and your whole family will too.

Westland School, The 1

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
Very disappointing! While located amongst a slew of fantastic college preparatory schools, this progressive ed program is more focused on parental socializing and industry connections, then attending to the intellectual needs of young minds. While they will not tell you this on the tour, the majority of families use tutoring on the side to supplement for an empty curriculum. By the time your child is in '4th grade,' they are far below community standards in terms of standardized test scores and a basic age- appropriate fund of knowledge. Oh, but they can sing well! Each and every week the staff spends an inordinate amount of time focusing on learning songs and playing wooden instruments so that each and every Friday the kids can showcase their 'practical' life skill of performing while their parents are schmoozing. Do not send your child here unless they have special needs that you want to disguise.


Westland School, The 5

Posted September 13, 2007
- a parent
Westland is not only a very nurturing environment but it also develops a love of learning. Everyday my daughter would wake up and be excited about another day of school. Academically it is very strong, my daughter went on to an elite middle and high school as do many other Westland graduates. I know that my daughter looks back on Westland as some of the most enjoyable as well as one of the most rewarding experiences of her life. Westland will always have a special place in our hearts.

Westland School, The 5

Posted May 25, 2006
- a parent
This school really does live up to its fantastic reputation. You have to commit to the learn process here and have faith that your child will learn all that s/he needs to know by graduation but it does happen. The real gift here is that your child learns how to learn and enjoys the process. Minimal to no focus is placed on test taking.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westland School, The
16200 Mulholland Drive, Los Angeles, CA  90049
(310) 472-5544
Last modified Westland School, The is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Westland School, The Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top