Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Highland Hall Waldorf School

Private | K-12 | 216 students

We are best known for blending the arts into a rigorous academic curriculum.
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $335,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 22 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2010

Waldorf education can be an amazing thing, but Highland Hall is a very poor example of a Waldorf school. There are very real reasons this school is under-enrolled, has no waiting lists, and often turns over 20% of its children a year. There is no functioning leadership. Teacher quality is uneven. Most crucially, Highland Hall lacks integrity, their mission statement a hollow promise gutted by fear and money. Look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

My 3 children did not feel they learned any basic curriculum. Knitting, art and woodworking are great, but math, science, english, history are weak. Many of their high school students don't get into college. We left because our children were bored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

I want to say that 'Waldorf isn't for everyone,' but truly it is, if they want it. So I guess what I should said is 'not everyone truly wants a Waldorf education for their child,' and if that is the case than this is not the school for you. We've found it to be a wonderful nuturing environment with a true community feel. As our eldest child entered the grades they became excited for every new lesson, adoring school and all it has to offer. I have to peel my child away in the afternoons to come home. My biggest hope is to see our children graduate from the 12th grade with that beautiful little bell tinkling from around their necks. A Wonderful School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

Outstanding!!! If you are into comparing your child to the status quo (is your child reading at the same level as everyone elses child) you should stay in the public system or find another school that teaches to the same. Highland Hall is not for everyone but it is for those who have the forsight to see the benefits of stepping out of the box and into a wonderful world. The students prosper in knowlege, self and worldly, have experiences we only dreamed about as children ourselves. To have a successful experience at Highland you must have stepped out of the box yourself and pass on the wonders of education to teachers who really know what counts in this world and what the kids really need. By the time you get to High School I would match up any student from Highland Hall to any Freshman or Sophomore college student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

My daughter attended HH for a year and enjoyed what they had to offer at the preschool age. However, she would come home and need to run and jump all over the place. Some kids just need to run. I like the Waldorf philosophy but I also feel times are changing and in order to keep a realistic perspective on our world, the media is a huge part of it. And being a psych major, I have learned that children feel safe when they can understand parts of their environment. Not keeping them in a bubble right smack in the middle of a thriving city. Plus parents have an imperialistic attitude at HH. The love and respect for nature and life should be given to all, not just those who can afford it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

My son was there for a year and didn't learn a thing. We changed schools the following year to an more challenging academic setting. He had a lot of remedial work that he had to do the following year just to catch up to his peers. The teachers at Highland Hall are very nurturing and loving, however, the kids need more mental stimulation. I don't agree with their philosophy (actually Rudolf Steiner's) of delaying academics till the late elementary/jr. high years. My feeling is that either you're a Waldorf person or you're not, there's no middle ground. It turned out that my son had dyslexia, which had gone undetected as his class was not performing at grade level in reading or writing. He did benefit however, from having such a caring, wonderful teacher. The campus has an expansive park-like feel to it and is beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

My child loved her kindergarten teachers but by 2nd grade became frustrated with the repetition of form drawing and the weirdness of the eurythmy class. She is now in a charter school that is equally relaxed (no grades, no tests, no homework) but is more academically stimulating and inspiring. At Waldorf, every child works at the same pace, which is usually dictated by the children who struggle the most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

More of a note than a review, addressed to perspective parents and also those who pulled their children out early (before high school). As with anything as important as your child's education, you should really do your homework before you commit to it. A very important thing to know about this and all Waldorf schools is that the Waldorf method of education is designed as a preschool to high school graduation process. If you take part in any less, you will not get the entire intended effect. Also, children don't just get an academic education there, they get guided development as as a person too. They do start 'slow' academically, but things pick up over the years and eventually, especially in high school, move beyond the vast majority of high schools academically. If you send a child to a Waldorf school K-12, the advantage in college and life is substantial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

If your child has any learning difficulties, this school is ideal for allowing them to work without enormous pressure. If your child is academically gifted, this school will not be a good fit. There is a strong anti-intellectualism from First thru 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

The H. Hall kindergarten is terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

Adjusting to a traditional school revealed that my child was performing in every area below grade level. It took her a year to catch up, and we regret having not pulled her out before First grade. Although the campus appears serene and attractive, the lack of transparency in the curriculum is a serious problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

I have two children at the school for over ten years and found it to be nurturing, challenging, enriching, . The children learn two languages as well as stringed and woodwind instruments, and through the curriculum gain an impressive knowledge of other cultures and histories. It is an education that prepares your child to step confidently into the world and find success
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2006

Excellent kindergarten with our particular teacher; however, we had the very opposite experience in middle school; and we were so unimpressed by the time our child reached 8th grade that our child begged us to allow her to switch to a more traditional high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

Three children attended; the oldest had a great experience from k-8; our second child had a series of terrible teachers. The youngest child had a great kindergarten experience. The school has no ability to constructively address parents concerns
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

In spite of the beautifuyl appearance, it feels like a cult. There are no academics standards.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 10, 2006

This is the best school I have researched. The teacher, community and atmosphere of this loving school help my son and daughter grow as whole and healthy human beings. Their philosophy is focused on teaching children from their whole being not just their brains. It makes such a difference for us as parents as well. Our family is in such unison since we have brought our children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

Yes, this is a Waldorf school! This means that it is a brilliant and meaningful education. My son was a high-achieving student in an excellent public charter school from K-5th grade and transferred to Waldorf Education in 6th grade. While it took some adjusting in terms of relaxing into the curriculum, and overcoming my fears of not immediately being able to 'quantify' the quality of education as had been our custom in public school [standardized testing], I've seen a highly intelligent boy nurtured in ways I've not seen before in his prior education. This is an education that truly nurtures the whole person--academically, spiritually, physically and emotionally. These kids are learning who they truly are through this education and graduate with a confidence, passion and vision that I have rarely seen in other students. The teachers and administrators are excellent, available and know every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

As the name states, this is a Waldorf school, which is a very definite thing. For some, it is perfect, for some not such a good fit. That is the first thing a prospective parent needs to research. One distinctive aspect of Waldorf schools is there is not a 'principal'. In the event of a problem, this can be an issue. We often felt we had no one to turn to for action on our concerns. Academically, we found Highland Hall on a very different page than other private schools in the area. Our children left with way above average vocabularies, and below level skills in concrete areas such as spelling and basic math facts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

This is a great home away from home
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

Waldorf school is extraordinary on developing higher level thinking skills They graduate socially, environmentally and academically sound students. The music program is second to none. Parent involvment is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation UC Berkley
Pitzer College
Bennington College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Arabic languages
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Japanese
Spanish
Tagalog
Hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Honor Society (2013)
  • National Honor Society (2012)
  • National Honor Society (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • PSAT to 9-11th grade
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lynn Kern
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • lvs@highlandhall.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Waldorf
  • Waldorf Developmental ECC
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • PSAT to 9-11th grade
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Parent organized car pools.
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Pentathalon
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Pentathalon
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • HOBY
  • Pepperdine Youth Citizen Leade
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Very involved parent community!
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Located on a beautiful, secludedl 11-acre campus in Northridge, California, Highland Hall offers a balanced, comprehensive curriculum weaving academics with the arts to inspire our students to become passionate learners. 42% of Waldorf graduates move on to math and/or science based higher education. We enjoy a vibrant community life: active PA, generous donors, community volunteers, well attended social gatherings and seasonal fairs, adult enrichment classes in arts, gardening, and parenting.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UC Berkley
Pitzer College
Bennington College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
PSAT to 9-11th grade
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 90%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17100 Superior Street
Los Angeles, CA 91325
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 349-1394

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Nicholas School
Northridge, CA


Art Of Learning Academy
Los Angeles, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT