Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 316
 

3 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Heritage Christian School 1

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
Although better than most public schools, Heritage Christian School is garbage academic wise. Academics is all that matters in school yet HCS does not take academics seriously. Instead, they put their efforts into sports and religion. There is a reason this school has not sent a student to the Ivy League in over 5 years. Oaks Christian, which only costs 5k more in tuition, sent 15 students to the Ivy League last year. Take note Heritage, why not look at Oaks and see what they are doing right? They are now bringing middle school over to the high school campus to make more money. The high school campus is already over crowded but they only care about money. The faculty is mediocre, yes there are some great teachers ( Mr. Crawford, Mrs. Leon, Mrs. Hild) but the majority belong in public school.This school has potential but it is tarnished by bad decisions by the administration.Kids curse in front of teachers and nothing is done.This is the joke of all private schools as many people say. Unless your only focus is religion and sports, look for another school. There is a reason our average SAT score is 1575, but no one seems to give a damn.

Heritage Christian School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely LOVE Heritage Christian School! My son came to Heritage at the second semester of his 2nd grade year. We had found out that he had an auditory processing deficit and needed some accommodations. Heritage has been wonderful to work with! The teachers believe in my son and have enabled him to thrive! His grades, work habits and behavior are all excellent and I believe that it's a result of the teachers and administration taking the time to get to know my child and encouraging him to be successful in everything he does. I am forever grateful and thankful for Heritage Christian School.


Heritage Christian School 1

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
This School is very well designed for adults, not children!! Children are being controlled by fear.They are not allowed to run in the playground, and in class they have this peculiar system of marking for all students to see.(My child has perfect behavior but everyday she came home with a red mark).When I confronted the teacher abut it she said that my child gets red marks not because she misbehaves(even though the letter clearly states that the markings are used only for behavioral issues),but because she is not following orders quickly enough.Some examples :She took out wrong book,she began writing on the 2nd line instead of the first, and so on absolute nonsense.Well, I tried talking to a teacher about this problem, big mistake.They are so closed minded; they only think one way, and they expect your child to be this obedient robot by rubbing in this respect for authority (teachers) without questioning reason and logic.I do agree that our children needs to be taught respect others,but teachers and staff should set the example and respect kids,parents and their co-workers, which I did not see happening at this school.Likely enough I found CONCORDIA SCHOOL IN GRANADA HILLS,

Heritage Christian School 3

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
The teachers at the school are truly wonderful. However, it would appear that the school is not a good fit for all students. I enrolled my child here from public school to repeat the 5th grade (although he had graduated 5th grade in public school) to provide him a better opportunity with Christian values. While he never had any problems with other students in pucblic school, students here continually complained about my child to teachers. My child picked things up here from apparently long time students at the school that he had never learned in public school. When he repeated what he learned, complaints were made. Even when he was the person against whom a wrong was committed, when a student mentioned that "in the past" my child had made an inappropriate comment, it was my child who was suspended. I truly felt he was treated by other students as an "outsider", eventually forcing me to withdraw him from the school. My child is not perfect and, unfortunately, models other kids behavior. However, it was other behavior I had envisioned him modeling. Sadly, I have seen more grace extended in the world than I did at this Christian school.

Heritage Christian School 1

Posted January 27, 2012
- a community member
I am surprised by the reviews. I had a much different experience. I was a student here. My experience at this school lowered my self-confidence. Now that I am in college, my confidence is starting to come back. Do not go to this school.


Heritage Christian School 5

Posted December 28, 2011
- a parent
I love everything about this school. My children are academically challenged and motivated to learn! They love being at school. The teachers care and support the students. They maintain excellent communication with the parents. I look forward to all the changes coming up in the next years. Most importantly my children are learning to love the Lord.

Heritage Christian School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
High School is great. The course offerings are balanced from AP Calculus to Drama. There are so many opportunities for students to pursue interests whether sports, music, academics...The staff are warm and caring.

Heritage Christian School 5

Posted October 30, 2011
- a parent
As a mother of two elementary aged girls, I have been amazed with the development I have seen in them, both academically and spiritually. Thos school does an amazing job of caring for each individual student. There are many opportunities for parents and students to get involved. It has become our second family and we couldn't be happier with the decision to send our daughters to Hillcrest!


Heritage Christian School 5

Posted May 19, 2011
- a community member
This school is amazing! They respect the Lord and love each other! The teachers are so sweet and they love their students! I totally reccomend this school for you!

Heritage Christian School 5

Posted March 23, 2011
- a parent
My child has attended this school and we adore it here! After sending her here we Immediately saw an improvement in her grades! She came home happy every night telling us how good school was today. She always has a smile on her face when she comes home! We love it there! I truly recommend this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Heritage Christian School
17531 Rinaldi Street, Los Angeles, CA  91344
(818) 368-7071
Last modified Heritage Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Heritage Christian School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top