Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Welcome! So, you find yourself looking for schools in Los Angeles. We know how hard this can be. Los Angeles is a thriving place where there are many wonderful options for your children. Checking web sites, listening to other parents and trusted friends, can offer great insight. But the best way to pick the right school for your needs is to see the school, meet the teachers and the people who run it. At the Schoolhouse we offer families an opportunity to become part of our family. We have been in the business of educating children since 1945. We have grown up in the diverse community of Hollywood and we cherish it. We are not like other schools. We are a community based school that provides challenging academics in a non-traditional format. But also, we believe in the Hidden Curriculum, the stuff that children learn beyond the books. This is as important to us as the academics. When the children end their journey at the Schoolhouse, they are educated not only in the academic standards but about life and how to be a active member and a contributor to the world at large. Come visit our web site and check us out. We welcome you!
May 05, 2011

4 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

42 reviews of this school


Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
We LOVE Hollywood Schoolhouse! The early childhood program is wonderful, and the teachers and staff are really great. Very nurturing, which was really important to us for our son's first step out of the nest. The facility is really cute (and expanding!) and because the school extends up into elementary, they have more resources for the kids than most place with just preschool. We were very happy to send our beloved child to this school and we felt that he was truly loved and valued and he is so happy and looks forward to school every day. Can't ask for much more than that.

Hollywood Schoolhouse 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
What a nightmare. What they don't tell you is that there's a mass exodus from this school after preschool. And if your child stays, he/she will end up so far behind their peers academically they may never catch up. After reading the writing on the wall, we pulled up stakes and couldn't be happier, our son is finally loving school and actually learning something for a change!


Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
We are in our second year at Hollywood Schoolhouse (Jr. K and now K) and love it. One of the things you'll read on the website is that each child is known and valued and it's true. It's a small, loving community that puts kids first. The teachers are true educators who are passionate and compassionate. Our child has had some challenges and his teachers and the administration have been proactive, supportive and most importantly optimistic about setting up our child for success. It's an independent, urban school and it seems some of the complaints are from families who expected something different. At HSH your child will be rewarded with an outstanding academic, social and emotional education that will help launch them to success. Each year HSH graduates go on the top high schools, including Buckley, Campbell Hall, Crossroads, Harvard-Westlake, Marlborough and more.

Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
We love this school. Our son is currently in 4th grade and has been here since preschool for a total 8 years. He has had an incredible experience. He is challenged intellectually, and that is important to us, but even more important was that we wanted him to learn to love school and love learning, He does. The teachers are very committed and build strong relationships with their students that span many years. That commitment to him motivates him to try hard and excel. Our only worry is that we will not be able to find a similar situation in middle school and high school.

Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
Recent renovations have put this school over the top! There is an incredible community, fantastic teachers, and now a beautiful campus. Love that there is a pool for swim classes, and just a friendly supportive campus.


Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
The elementary program is thriving, and the new, modernized classrooms truly show a school of the future, and give the teachers the room to teach. We have loved each year, and each teacher and love the individual attention to our children. They feel safe and loved and are really challenged academically!

Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted February 14, 2012
- a parent
Our son has been in pre-school and JK here for two years and LOVED IT! And so have we! The administration is caring and engaged and the students are likewise. They also invite involvement from the parents, all of which combines to form a great community in which to raise curious, intelligent, perspicacious (learned that word from his JK teacher!), outgoing kids! We recommend it HIGHLY!

Hollywood Schoolhouse 1

Posted December 19, 2011
- a parent
Look elsewhere unless you are only considering pre-k and k. And be prepared to give give give if you do go there. They ask for donations on a weekly basis.


Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted May 09, 2011
- a parent
Hollywood Schoolhouse has been a wonderful school for our entire family for our first child, and we look forward to the fall when our youngest is there as well. There are so many opportunities for parents to get involved as a volunteer, my child is always engaged and excited about learning. The community is strong, warm, diverse, and full of families with the same mission--to raise confident, challenged, thoughtful, and compassionate members of society.

Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
The Hollywood Schoolhouse if fantastic. I am shocked to hear that anyone would have something negative to say about their experience there. I have two children that went from preschool through 8th grade. They are both thriving in their High Schools. They had many options to choose from for high school and HSH helped us transition to the right school for our child. I know that HSH is thriving in the elementary and due to lack of physical space, they have decided to phase out their middle school. Many families were sad to leave earlier than they planned. I highly recommend this school if you want a inspiring place where your child is nurtured and educated under the same roof.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hollywood Schoolhouse
1233 North McCadden Place, Los Angeles, CA  90038
(323) 465-1320
Last modified Hollywood Schoolhouse is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Hollywood Schoolhouse Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top