Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Welcome! So, you find yourself looking for schools in Los Angeles. We know how hard this can be. Los Angeles is a thriving place where there are many wonderful options for your children. Checking web sites, listening to other parents and trusted friends, can offer great insight. But the best way to pick the right school for your needs is to see the school, meet the teachers and the people who run it. At the Schoolhouse we offer families an opportunity to become part of our family. We have been in the business of educating children since 1945. We have grown up in the diverse community of Hollywood and we cherish it. We are not like other schools. We are a community based school that provides challenging academics in a non-traditional format. But also, we believe in the Hidden Curriculum, the stuff that children learn beyond the books. This is as important to us as the academics. When the children end their journey at the Schoolhouse, they are educated not only in the academic standards but about life and how to be a active member and a contributor to the world at large. Come visit our web site and check us out. We welcome you!
May 05, 2011

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hollywood Schoolhouse
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 20, 2015
- a community member
There is a lack of consistency amongst classrooms/grades and classes that makes this number irrelevant.

Hollywood Schoolhouse
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 20, 2015
- a community member
There is no metric in place for this measurement at Hollywood Schoolhouse. This is not valued or measured.


Hollywood Schoolhouse
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 20, 2015
- a community member
This is part and parcel of the lack of leadership from the Head of School and lack of respect for families as a collective-only for those who serve favors.

Hollywood Schoolhouse
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 20, 2015
- a community member
No. This is particular to the families, and not indicative of the school. The families who are service-minded contribute significantly but are not representative of the school or student body.

Hollywood Schoolhouse
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 20, 2015
- a community member
This only applies to non-working parents who are able to spend significant periods of time on campus.


Hollywood Schoolhouse 2

Posted July 20, 2015
- a community member
This school has let more than one student leave the campus without authorization, including mine, and has been fortunate enough to escape serious consequences.

Hollywood Schoolhouse
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 20, 2015
- a community member
The early childhood teachers are very warm and welcoming, and embody the nurturing nature of the school.

Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
We LOVE Hollywood Schoolhouse! The early childhood program is wonderful, and the teachers and staff are really great. Very nurturing, which was really important to us for our son's first step out of the nest. The facility is really cute (and expanding!) and because the school extends up into elementary, they have more resources for the kids than most place with just preschool. We were very happy to send our beloved child to this school and we felt that he was truly loved and valued and he is so happy and looks forward to school every day. Can't ask for much more than that.


Hollywood Schoolhouse 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
What a nightmare. What they don't tell you is that there's a mass exodus from this school after preschool. And if your child stays, he/she will end up so far behind their peers academically they may never catch up. After reading the writing on the wall, we pulled up stakes and couldn't be happier, our son is finally loving school and actually learning something for a change!

Hollywood Schoolhouse 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
We are in our second year at Hollywood Schoolhouse (Jr. K and now K) and love it. One of the things you'll read on the website is that each child is known and valued and it's true. It's a small, loving community that puts kids first. The teachers are true educators who are passionate and compassionate. Our child has had some challenges and his teachers and the administration have been proactive, supportive and most importantly optimistic about setting up our child for success. It's an independent, urban school and it seems some of the complaints are from families who expected something different. At HSH your child will be rewarded with an outstanding academic, social and emotional education that will help launch them to success. Each year HSH graduates go on the top high schools, including Buckley, Campbell Hall, Crossroads, Harvard-Westlake, Marlborough and more.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hollywood Schoolhouse
1233 North McCadden Place, Los Angeles, CA  90038
(323) 465-1320
Last modified Hollywood Schoolhouse is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Hollywood Schoolhouse Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top