Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Donna Ro School

Private | K-4 | 37 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $263,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, August 20, 2014

My eldest daughter who is now 16 attended this school at the age of 2. Since leaving Donna Ro, she has excelled beyond belief. She is actually a grade AHEAD because their academic structure was (and hopefully is) so GREAT!! I now have a 2 year old (i know, a big gap) whom i also intend to send there. When i went to inquire of price range, the staff was the SAME staff from 14 years ago!!! AND they remembered my eldest daughter, as she was with me that day! LOve, Love, Love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2014

My son has attended this school for 4yrs. I love everyone and all the teacher they don't only teach them but love all the kids. My son has recently finished 1st grade and has tested out as a 5th grader. Yes, wow, right!. They have a great academic approach. I over recommend Donna Ro School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2014

I have both my daughter and son in this school. My son started at 2 and my daughter was 3 and I love this school! My kids were both potty trained completely by the teachers at Donna Ro. My daughter was in two of the age level classes, while my son will be in three and I can't imagine taking them out of this school. They are so far ahead in terms of language and understanding than other children I know who are the same age that it's unbelievable. The school goes up to the 2nd grade and both of my kids will definitely stay there until then.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

DONNA RO IS AN INCREDIBLE AND HIGHLY GIFTED EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION. THE COMMITMENT TO THE CHILDREN AND DEDICATION TOWARD THEIR GROWTH IS UNMATCHABLE ANYWHERE IN THE AREA. I REALLY WISH THEY TAUGHT FROM PRE- 12 BECAUSE IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND A SCHOOL THAT CAN PROVIDE THE QUALITY EDUCATION YOU GET USED TO RECIEVING FOR YOUR CHILDREN IN THE OTHER INSTITUTIONS NEAR BY. THEY WILL BE GREATLY MISSED BY OUR FAMILY INDEED!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

My daughter attended Donna Ro for 3 years, and I was so disappointed when I had to pull her out because of us moving, I would have to like to take the teachers and students with us. Most of the teachers are international and have a very strong outlook on education. Not only are the teachers caring but they work with the parents in raising the child. If your child is struggling in an area, they all strive to help that child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

This is a great school, that attends to all of the students needs. There have great academics, and offer well rounded sources for learning. The students here get an early start towards perfecting the learning tools that will help them in obtaining a successful educational foundation
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 30, 2007

Donna Ro has an excellent academic program for all grade levels. Advance studies and warm teachers. My four year old is advanced at the first grade level. If you want your kids to learn something more than play. Donna Ro is a good alternative. International students and teachers. They offer music, art, field trips and parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

I would like to say that this school has the best education in its area. I like that they accept all kinds of kids. They have great parent/teacher interaction. This is a school that I could refer my friends to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 52%
Black 37% 6%
White 6% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. BETTY DIXON
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • NAEYC
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4946 West 20th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90016
Phone: (323) 938-5995

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Roennes's School Inc.
Los Angeles, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT