Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School

Private | K-8 | 386 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $335,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

I have had 3 children attend this school. You will not find a more caring, nurturing environment. The quality of education they receive is directly related to the effort they expend. I know for a fact that those who have left this school complaining are the same parents who have been to several schools and are never satisfied or their children had disciplinary issues that they are not addressing at home. If you are an involved parent in your child's life than this school is guaranteed to instill the values and morals that will make you proud. Kids from this school are consistently accepted to top secular private schools and transition with no problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

Our experience is that this school is not caring. The funny thing is they do everything to convince you they care about your children. We have not seen caring teachers who do everything to promote your child - as you would expect... after all, we pay a lot of money. But it's never enough for this school. The only thing they care about is that you give them more and more money. The principal is a distant man. There is too much "politics" and people are afraid to talk. Teachers are afraid to talk with parents. They treat parents as a professional hazard, not as partners. We expected warmth and loving community, and were very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

worst school ever. i sent my child here and he got an awful education untill we took him out in third grade and moved him to Vally Beth Shalom, where he graduated and went to Oakwood, both phenomenal places. at heschel they put him in the lowest math and reading groups, now hes in the highest in much harder schools. now at oakwood hes planning to go to brown college and is taking calculus and number theory and AP english
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

Besides the great and creative education my son receives, he is also being raised to be part of a community -- in the school, in his town, and in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

I am very impressed with the level of education the children are receiving. It's a very nurturing environment as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Heschel has an amazing and supportive community. Kids LOVE to go to school every day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Abraham Joshua Heschel Day School is an exceptional school community. It has enthusiastic students, dedicated parents, and passionate, caring teachers. It offers a strong academic program along with a comprehensive program in the arts, music, technology, science and sports. Every child is known for their individual strengths at Heschel and parents and teachers work in partnership for the well being of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

An excellent Jewish school, proud to represent Israel and America. Some of the best teachers I've ever met with upmost experiance along with the respectfulness of others.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2009

I have two children at Heschel Day School and they both love going to school. The teachers are very engaged and supportive and the atmosphere is truly nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

This school has a great community feel. It is a developmental school, so each student is treated as an individual and teaching philosophy is geared toward this concept. The focus is NOT on standardized testing. I would disagree that the secular education is not strong. I have experience with some of the 'top' schools in the Valley (Harvard-Westlake and Buckley) and the secular academics are just as good, if not better. My son is doing such an advanced level of math, way beyond what I was doing at his age and I was in the advanced math group. The campus is very nice and the school has recently invested in a new science lab, advanced security doors and smart boards for the classrooms. There are also plenty of after school enrichment programs. One final comment, I have met some recent alumni and they seem like really great kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

Our daughters had a wonderful 1st grade experience. One daughter was struggling a little and the teachers were able to identify her needs ASAP. They pulled her out to provide her the tutoring she needed to bring her up to her classmates level. She did not feel that she was any different or less then her classmates which was extremely important. The Teachers were able to provide the structure and still nuture and our daughters. They continue to grow and excell in this environment. THey have a great summer program too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

My son attended this school for 10 years and received an excellent education. I was involved in the parent organization. Since my son left there have been some changes in administration and staff which may account for some of the dissatisfaction today. My experience as a parent was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

Tuition too high for what you get. Kids do not get what they should. Principal is not involved with parents or students. Teachers are mature but have not patient for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

This school has a strong Judaic education, but is extremely lacking in general studies. Watch out for bullying, even as young as first grade. Administration not very available and do little regarding this. Same goes for their supposed school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

My daughter attended this school for four years. There were many extracurricular activities where she could participate. There are also field trip for the children to get hands on learning experiences. The Jewish education is very strong, and the kids can take it to ther own level. My daughter did need some additional help in some of her subjects, but it seemed that the school could not provide it. We had to get at our expense a tutor. This was very costly on top of the tuition we were paying the school. I felt that some of the help she needed should have been given by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2003

We had a very positive experience here. Great communication from school. Very loving and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Great School! the teachers care and take time to make sure each student comprehends something before moveing on. The small class size helps in forming bonds between students and falculty.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Katrina Wolfe
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • JCDSA
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17701 Devonshire Street
Los Angeles, CA 91325
Phone: (818) 368-5781

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Casa Montessori
Northridge, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT